SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Marking dots and notches on fabric

Viewed 5297 times
Posted by: LeAnn
photo

 
 
About LeAnn
NE USA
Member since: 1/10/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/10/03 1:11 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I posted this on another forum and it seemed to help some folks. I use sticky arrows and dots from the office supply store to mark center seam dots, darts, anything that I used to use tailor tacks for. They stick to the fabric while you sew, don't hurt your needle, and you don't have to worry about ink markings coming out. There are such a variety of colored dots and arrows that you can pick one for each kind of mark.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
DeeDee said...
I think it is such a wonderful jesture to share tips that help people do their job. Thank you so much. The office supply stores have so much that we can use. I am going to get dots and arrows as soon as I can get out of the house. I want to also state that I read that we can buy heavy, round washers (rings) at the hardware store to use for weights. (I like weights, but they are expensive.) Thanks again!
1/10/03 2:50 PM
eleda said...
I have been using plain colored dots/rectangles from Wal Mart. I didn't know that one could get them with printed dots & arrows. That would simplify things even more. Thanks for the info. I'll be checking out the office suppy stores.
1/10/03 11:11 PM
Amanda L said...
LeAnn, I also use the stationery dots, and with complicated patterns like those from the Sewing Workshop, I write on the dots. The only problem I've had is sometimes forgetting to remove the dots and sewing them inside my garment!
1/10/03 11:12 PM
Gloria Allender said...
This sounds so liberating for someone like me who tailor tacks everything. I will give it a try.
1/11/03 1:39 PM
Geena_Vee said...
This is a great idea. I use masking tape all the time to mark my patterns, but it somehow never occurred to me to make things easier with ready-made dots and arrows. I'm thinking that the "please sign here" arrows would work especially well. One should be careful sticking things to the edges of fabrics that ravel easily - when you remove your tape/stickers, the fabric's edge may ravel even more. Geena
1/14/03 7:27 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Yes, Avery makes some very small dots in multiple colors that are perfect, not too small not too big. The number is AVE5795. They are quarter inch, round labels.
1/17/03 2:29 PM
ANNELORRIE said...
leann thanks fro the tip.. i'll use it ..but i have a ?.. i am just starting with sewing and i brought a pattern and in cutting it out i have come to a single downward notch not to sure how to cut it..can any one help????/
10/20/03 11:29 PM
CarrieA said...
Hi Anna, don't cut the triangle shape of the notch out...just make a little clip in the fabric to mark the center of the notch. This only works for notches at the edge of your fabric. If it's a mark (like a triangle or circle) inside the pattern, you'll need to mark that with dots, chalk, or tailor tacks. Hope this helps!
10/21/03 11:08 AM
regine said...
very good idea
9/28/05 2:09 AM
mlbrow said...
That's a good tip! Another option could be to use drafting dots or strips - precut masking tape pieces for hand drafting. They come in a self-dispensing box, a popular brand is Alvin. Available at any art supply store, or even Michael's.
8/16/10 7:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.