SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Alternate option to chalk

Viewed 5269 times
Posted by: France
photo

 
 
About France
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/25/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/05 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I once had buttonholes professionnaly done on a winter wool coat I made. I was surprised to see the man using an old bar of soap instead of the usual chalk to mark the button holes. I went home and tried it and have been using soap since then to mark fabrics.
The idea is to use a bar of soap that has gotten very thin let it dry and just use it as is. I must say it stays more sharp than the chalk , it does not break, does not stain fabric, lasts fortever and brushes of well (although I recommend to do some tests).
It works great for me I have been using that on medium to dark color fabrics.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
My grandmother used to do this. In this day of Bath and BodyWorks, I don't think we can find a bar of soap in the house, lol.
11/10/05 10:25 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Love it! Thanks for this nice tip.
11/11/05 0:23 AM
KJill said...
Golly, I'd forgotten that one. Years and years ago when I was a kid learning to sew from my mother she did the same thing. I can only say I never realized at the time how clever an idea that was and didn't think to do so myself. Thanks for writing this up!
11/11/05 6:06 AM
J_J said...
I've never heard of this but I've got lots of soap remains that are just the right size to try this. Thanks.
11/11/05 6:19 AM
flginny said...
This really works. When the sliver of soap gets dull edges, just wash your hands with it once, and they edges are sharp again.
11/11/05 6:51 AM
Vonnevo said...
I have been using the soap markers for a while too. Cussons Imperial Leather soap is my favourite. To make it really thin on the edges or to "sharpen", I run it over the wet shower screen, then leave to dry.
11/16/05 7:32 AM
belle said...
Hi this is a good one .You can trim it to a point and it will make a fine line.
12/31/05 8:08 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gosh, France! Can you use a ruler with the soap and mark darts? Merci!!
11/13/07 9:18 PM
Linda Faye said...
Excellent tip!
8/31/08 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.