SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Alternate option to chalk

Viewed 5371 times
Posted by: France
photo

 
 
About France
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/25/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/05 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I once had buttonholes professionnaly done on a winter wool coat I made. I was surprised to see the man using an old bar of soap instead of the usual chalk to mark the button holes. I went home and tried it and have been using soap since then to mark fabrics.
The idea is to use a bar of soap that has gotten very thin let it dry and just use it as is. I must say it stays more sharp than the chalk , it does not break, does not stain fabric, lasts fortever and brushes of well (although I recommend to do some tests).
It works great for me I have been using that on medium to dark color fabrics.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Linda Faye said...
Excellent tip!
8/31/08 11:23 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gosh, France! Can you use a ruler with the soap and mark darts? Merci!!
11/13/07 9:18 PM
belle said...
Hi this is a good one .You can trim it to a point and it will make a fine line.
12/31/05 8:08 AM
Vonnevo said...
I have been using the soap markers for a while too. Cussons Imperial Leather soap is my favourite. To make it really thin on the edges or to "sharpen", I run it over the wet shower screen, then leave to dry.
11/16/05 7:32 AM
flginny said...
This really works. When the sliver of soap gets dull edges, just wash your hands with it once, and they edges are sharp again.
11/11/05 6:51 AM
J_J said...
I've never heard of this but I've got lots of soap remains that are just the right size to try this. Thanks.
11/11/05 6:19 AM
KJill said...
Golly, I'd forgotten that one. Years and years ago when I was a kid learning to sew from my mother she did the same thing. I can only say I never realized at the time how clever an idea that was and didn't think to do so myself. Thanks for writing this up!
11/11/05 6:06 AM
Astrostitcher said...
Love it! Thanks for this nice tip.
11/11/05 0:23 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
My grandmother used to do this. In this day of Bath and BodyWorks, I don't think we can find a bar of soap in the house, lol.
11/10/05 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.