SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > threading wooly nylon in needles

Viewed 5155 times
Posted by: Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity. starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/8/05 4:05 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Alot of people may already know this, but some others may find it helpful. When threading wooly nylon through loopers or needles, I use beeswax to coat the end of the thread.

Hold the thread TIGHTLY between your thumb and a small block of beeswax about three inches from the end of the thread. Pull on the spool end of the thread so that the end gets rubbed along the wax and gets coated. Sometimes you have to do that more than once. Now you can twirl, flatten, or otherwise shape the thread.

We learned this trick in the factory where I sewed longjohns and had to thread four needles and a looper on a big industrial machine with wooly nylon.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
What a great tip, thank you. I'll be able to use this in my serger now. I just used to give up when trying to use it there.
12/9/05 5:51 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great tip, thanks. I've never used wooly nylon but want to give it a try in my serger, thanks.
12/9/05 1:04 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thank you! I had relegated wooly nylon to my loopers and SM bobbin for lack of needle know-how.
12/26/05 0:12 AM
inkyannie said...
Thanks for this tip. I have never used it and don't know what it is used for but now when I find out and use it, I will know how to thread the needle.
1/13/06 10:50 PM
Maliboo_Barbie said...
Finally! Next time, I think I can thread the needle in under an hour. LOL I only had success after putting a needle threader backwards through the needle eye, then pulling the woolly nylon through. It was worth the effort, though. Don't have a serger & this thread makes the SOFTEST raw edge treatment...like for sleepwear. Thanks for the tip, xenophea, you ROCK!
5/9/06 7:13 PM
j222b said...
Amazing! Thanks so much.
10/31/07 12:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.