SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Dart Chart

Viewed 5281 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/05 8:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo


I ran across this chart in my sewing room, and thought others might like to have it as a reference too. I saw this on a tv sewing show I had taped [not sure which one], and wrote it down.

If you've ever had to add a dart to a pattern and wondered about proportion, this chart will help.

Examples of a place you might need to add a dart:

[1] Rounded upper back...add darts in back shoulder or back neckline.

[2] Larger hips, yet small waist...add darts in back waist, or back and front waist.

[3] Drafting your own patterns



~~~~~The Dart Chart~~~~~

Width..............................Length

3/4" ............................... 3 1/2"

1" .................................. 4 1/2"

1 1/4" ............................. 5 1/2"

1 1/2" ............................. 6"

2" ................................... 6 1/2"


If you're not sure about how to measure a dart width or length, click web link above for directions.





<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
erdmute said...
thank you, just what I was looking for today.
11/23/08 5:26 PM
mClones said...
Thank you for this--and all the great tips you've shared!
12/14/07 5:15 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
For measurements in cm the relationship is L = -0.7746w^2 + 7.8292w - 3.2732
4/5/06 9:34 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
For other dart widths (or to use cm instead of inches) the Dart Chart suggests the following relationship: L = -1.9676w^2 + 7.8292w -1.2887 (R^2 = 0.9978)
4/4/06 2:18 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome. VitaWhat a sweet thing to say! I really appreciate your wonderful comment :)
12/23/05 4:58 AM
vita said...
Thank You so much for ALL your tips. They are some of the reasons I love opening up my PR Digest each day. The time you spend is like giving little (and some big!) gifts to us. I, for one, really appreciate what you and others give. At this time of year, the spirit of giving is high, but yours is seasonless(word?). Thank you!
12/19/05 2:37 PM
Jayme girl said...
Thanks again I save all your tips Keep them coming
12/19/05 7:10 AM
Josephine said...
Very cool- Thank you :-)
12/18/05 11:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm also saving this for future use. Thanks.
12/18/05 12:35 PM
Mirza said...
Printing this up to save for future reference. Thanks!
12/18/05 10:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.