SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Dart Chart

Viewed 5225 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/05 8:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo


I ran across this chart in my sewing room, and thought others might like to have it as a reference too. I saw this on a tv sewing show I had taped [not sure which one], and wrote it down.

If you've ever had to add a dart to a pattern and wondered about proportion, this chart will help.

Examples of a place you might need to add a dart:

[1] Rounded upper back...add darts in back shoulder or back neckline.

[2] Larger hips, yet small waist...add darts in back waist, or back and front waist.

[3] Drafting your own patterns



~~~~~The Dart Chart~~~~~

Width..............................Length

3/4" ............................... 3 1/2"

1" .................................. 4 1/2"

1 1/4" ............................. 5 1/2"

1 1/2" ............................. 6"

2" ................................... 6 1/2"


If you're not sure about how to measure a dart width or length, click web link above for directions.





<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Printing this up to save for future reference. Thanks!
12/18/05 10:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm also saving this for future use. Thanks.
12/18/05 12:35 PM
Josephine said...
Very cool- Thank you :-)
12/18/05 11:33 PM
Jayme girl said...
Thanks again I save all your tips Keep them coming
12/19/05 7:10 AM
vita said...
Thank You so much for ALL your tips. They are some of the reasons I love opening up my PR Digest each day. The time you spend is like giving little (and some big!) gifts to us. I, for one, really appreciate what you and others give. At this time of year, the spirit of giving is high, but yours is seasonless(word?). Thank you!
12/19/05 2:37 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome. VitaWhat a sweet thing to say! I really appreciate your wonderful comment :)
12/23/05 4:58 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
For other dart widths (or to use cm instead of inches) the Dart Chart suggests the following relationship: L = -1.9676w^2 + 7.8292w -1.2887 (R^2 = 0.9978)
4/4/06 2:18 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
For measurements in cm the relationship is L = -0.7746w^2 + 7.8292w - 3.2732
4/5/06 9:34 AM
mClones said...
Thank you for this--and all the great tips you've shared!
12/14/07 5:15 PM
erdmute said...
thank you, just what I was looking for today.
11/23/08 5:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.