SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Block of Wood to press unusual seams open

Viewed 5283 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/23/05 8:29 PM
Last Updated: 1/31/07 1:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
1-31-07 photo link updated for the new yahoo

I have a little block of wood that I slip inside purses or other unusual items to press the seams open. I just hold the wood and the item midair, then press the iron against it.

It's also great for that final press of purse corners, from the right side of the fabric.

I mentioned this block of wood in my camera accessory case review, but I know that everyone can't read every review, so thought I'd post it as a tip.

The web link at the top of this page shows my block, and the other 5 photos in that album are of the camera accessory case.



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
:::slapping forehead::: well, duh! GREAT TIP, Ardis.
12/25/05 4:07 PM
Jayme girl said...
AGAIN ....THANKS always look forward to your tips Keep them coming
12/27/05 5:44 AM
selvage said...
Great tip--I'd like to know the dimensions of the block you use.
2/26/08 4:13 PM
SewVeryTall said...
selvage...sorry I didn't see your question sooner...my pine block is approximately 5" x 1 1/2" x 1". Any size that's small enough to fit inside your project will work.
7/6/08 5:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.