SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Tips & Techniques > Block of Wood to press unusual seams open

Viewed 5551 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall

About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews: 161 (tips: 68)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/23/05 8:29 PM
Last Updated: 1/31/07 1:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
1-31-07 photo link updated for the new yahoo

I have a little block of wood that I slip inside purses or other unusual items to press the seams open. I just hold the wood and the item midair, then press the iron against it.

It's also great for that final press of purse corners, from the right side of the fabric.

I mentioned this block of wood in my camera accessory case review, but I know that everyone can't read every review, so thought I'd post it as a tip.

The web link at the top of this page shows my block, and the other 5 photos in that album are of the camera accessory case.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques

Login to Add a Comment    
SewVeryTall said... (7/6/08 5:26 AM) Reply
selvage...sorry I didn't see your question pine block is approximately 5" x 1 1/2" x 1". Any size that's small enough to fit inside your project will work.
selvage said... (2/26/08 4:13 PM) Reply
Great tip--I'd like to know the dimensions of the block you use.
Jayme girl said... (12/27/05 5:44 AM) Reply
AGAIN ....THANKS always look forward to your tips Keep them coming
MaryLynn in Long Beach said... (12/25/05 4:07 PM) Reply
:::slapping forehead::: well, duh! GREAT TIP, Ardis.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.