SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Tips & Techniques > Block of Wood to press unusual seams open

Viewed 5520 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews: 161 (tips: 68)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/23/05 8:29 PM
Last Updated: 1/31/07 1:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
1-31-07 photo link updated for the new yahoo

I have a little block of wood that I slip inside purses or other unusual items to press the seams open. I just hold the wood and the item midair, then press the iron against it.

It's also great for that final press of purse corners, from the right side of the fabric.

I mentioned this block of wood in my camera accessory case review, but I know that everyone can't read every review, so thought I'd post it as a tip.

The web link at the top of this page shows my block, and the other 5 photos in that album are of the camera accessory case.



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said... (7/6/08 5:26 AM) Reply
selvage...sorry I didn't see your question sooner...my pine block is approximately 5" x 1 1/2" x 1". Any size that's small enough to fit inside your project will work.
selvage said... (2/26/08 4:13 PM) Reply
Great tip--I'd like to know the dimensions of the block you use.
Jayme girl said... (12/27/05 5:44 AM) Reply
AGAIN ....THANKS always look forward to your tips Keep them coming
MaryLynn in Long Beach said... (12/25/05 4:07 PM) Reply
:::slapping forehead::: well, duh! GREAT TIP, Ardis.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.