SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Recycled purse bottom

Viewed 5200 times
Posted by: Stitchology
photo

 
 
About Stitchology
MD USA
Member since: 1/26/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/25/05 1:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Always looking for ways to recycle things and save on materials, I cut out a purse bottom from a Swiffer wet cloth container. I've been using it for a while now and loading up this bag with heavy things like library books or my lunch and it is sturdy and durable.

I used another of these boxes to store sewing supplies. It makes a great place to keep a bunch of scissors that tend to scatter around and poke holes in fabric or people, especially when encouraged by cats.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lesliejhill said...
*GG* and here I've been throwing all these things away. D'uh I need to start re-thinking / re-lifeing things :-)
8/24/06 11:01 PM
sewandserge said...
A good idea and amusing! I enjoyed it.
2/7/06 10:24 AM
Stitchology said...
Let's say we all swarm the supermarkets with measuring tapes and check out dimensions of disposable packaging before buying different brands. It could heighten public awareness of sewing.
12/31/05 7:20 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the reply! Yes yes, the Swiffer container is much much bigger, and better size. I just used a wet grab-it, and it's no wonder the container is smaller, they have the cloths folded in half lengthwise. I'm sure the swiffer cloths would fit my grab-it handle [I bought the grab-it cuz the handle was longer]. Thanks for the great tip :)
12/30/05 2:43 PM
Stitchology said...
The new box I just bought is different than the one I used. It has a clear lid that is 6x11 when you trim off the outer lip. The base is 5x10 with raised rectangular sections that probably add some strength but make for a lumpy bottom. It does have nicely shaped corners if you use the whole bottom. I also have some clear produce packaging that would work well, with contoured edges. The base is 3x7 and the upper edge is 4x8. I'm now designing in my head to fit these.
12/30/05 9:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I really like ideas like this. I wonder what size the Swiffer wet container is? [I bought the Grab-It instead, and its wet container seems a bit small for a purse bottom]
12/28/05 4:37 AM
Nickle said...
Great idea.
12/28/05 3:31 AM
violinit said...
Great ided! Thanks for sharing.
12/26/05 9:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Neat idea and very recyclable!!
12/26/05 6:53 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Good idea! Didn't you know all those things that scatter are meant to be cat toys! Ha!
12/25/05 9:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I love this idea. Thanks for the info. I'll be using this for the bottom of tote bags. How cool!!
12/25/05 1:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.