SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing on buttons quickly

Viewed 5272 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/11/03 3:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
In case anyone missed this tip from Threads (and various other places), to sew buttons quickly, thread your needle with more than one strand of thread (up to four or so), double and knot, and sew your button with one or two stitches. For really closely spaced buttons, don't even cut the thread, just move on to the next button, stitch, knot, and move on.

In the book Shirtmaking, David Coffin recommends using unwaxed dental floss for sewing on white buttons, using one or two stitches, and melting the knot in place to really secure the button. (Because the floss is nylon, it melts when heat is applied.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
I saw this tip, and it changed my life - thank you for sharing so now other people can halve their button sewing time!
1/12/03 6:28 AM
Bettina said...
Thanks Debbie for a wonderful tip.
1/12/03 1:46 PM
mudcat said...
This made me laugh. I have been doing the quadrupled thread since I was in high school as I detest hand sewing and always look for short cuts. I also use the sewing machine to attach the two-hole buttons (don't buy four-hole). I use a lot of vintage buttons that have shanks so the sewing machine won't work for that.
1/12/03 4:17 PM
Dale C said...
Since I've started doing those band shirts, this is the technique I've been using. One pass'll do it and it's so much quicker!
1/12/03 5:20 PM
SouthernStitch said...
WOW. I have avoided shank buttonholes at times because I HATE sewing them on by hand. What a tip!
1/17/03 3:00 PM
littlebobeep said...
aai hate sewing buttons specially ones with a "shank" I have a top that needs 10 little buttons. Using this method this job will be ddone very quickly. Thank you for a nifty idea.
5/11/03 4:18 PM
MissTrey said...
I hope that this works for my daughter's dress...the buttons keep falling off
4/12/05 10:44 AM
ravisrigiri said...
good
7/12/12 12:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.