SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sewing on buttons quickly

Viewed 5319 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/11/03 3:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
In case anyone missed this tip from Threads (and various other places), to sew buttons quickly, thread your needle with more than one strand of thread (up to four or so), double and knot, and sew your button with one or two stitches. For really closely spaced buttons, don't even cut the thread, just move on to the next button, stitch, knot, and move on.

In the book Shirtmaking, David Coffin recommends using unwaxed dental floss for sewing on white buttons, using one or two stitches, and melting the knot in place to really secure the button. (Because the floss is nylon, it melts when heat is applied.)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
I saw this tip, and it changed my life - thank you for sharing so now other people can halve their button sewing time!
1/12/03 6:28 AM
Bettina said...
Thanks Debbie for a wonderful tip.
1/12/03 1:46 PM
mudcat said...
This made me laugh. I have been doing the quadrupled thread since I was in high school as I detest hand sewing and always look for short cuts. I also use the sewing machine to attach the two-hole buttons (don't buy four-hole). I use a lot of vintage buttons that have shanks so the sewing machine won't work for that.
1/12/03 4:17 PM
Dale C said...
Since I've started doing those band shirts, this is the technique I've been using. One pass'll do it and it's so much quicker!
1/12/03 5:20 PM
SouthernStitch said...
WOW. I have avoided shank buttonholes at times because I HATE sewing them on by hand. What a tip!
1/17/03 3:00 PM
littlebobeep said...
aai hate sewing buttons specially ones with a "shank" I have a top that needs 10 little buttons. Using this method this job will be ddone very quickly. Thank you for a nifty idea.
5/11/03 4:18 PM
MissTrey said...
I hope that this works for my daughter's dress...the buttons keep falling off
4/12/05 10:44 AM
ravisrigiri said...
good
7/12/12 12:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.