SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Getting the pattern back in the envelope

Viewed 5309 times
Posted by: SexiSadi
photo

 
 
About SexiSadi starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 5/10/05
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/06 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For those of us that just don't have the ambition to manage a complicated way of storing patterns... :)

After I use a pattern, I normally want it to go neatly back into the envelope. So, what I do, as I am folding the pattern back to go in the envelope, I just iron as I go. (fold in half, press, fold in half again, press) When i'm finished, the pattern goes right back into the envelope, just like new!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lnwmelon said...
Good idea! Thanks
5/9/10 10:43 AM
slipperfoot said...
good idea
5/6/10 10:53 PM
MAD14kt said...
Thanks for sharing ;D
5/6/10 9:40 PM
Dee in FL said...
I also iron my pattern pieces, but I do it after I've re-folded them to make sure that the pattern piece's number is prominently displayed. Then I place the pieces back into the envelope in numeric order (or alpha order if that's the designator shown on the pattern pieces).
5/6/10 5:47 PM
no7262 said...
I sometimes do that too! Nora :)
5/6/10 1:17 PM
Grandma Shirley said...
Thanks for the great tip.
5/6/10 12:46 PM
RitaGoldivas said...
I use clear plastic page protectors, that way I can put the pattern envelope in front & put the pattern pieces in with room to spare.
5/6/10 11:58 AM
Roxie5166 said...
I also do that. I have a pattern cabinet, purchase from a fabric store and it's important that the patterns go back into their orignal envelope.
5/6/10 7:51 AM
Bejo said...
I have a great tip for patterns. I bought large 8x10 manila envelopes, cut the pattern envelope open, trimmed the sides then glued these to the envelope. (Front to front back to back. Works great for large or numerous pieces patterns.
1/17/06 3:24 PM
tree-cee said...
thank you so much i alway end up tearing my patterns trying to get them back into the envelope. -tree-cee
1/7/06 3:49 PM
xela said...
Excellent idea. Thanks. Happy New Year
1/2/06 11:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

More Info
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.