SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Getting the pattern back in the envelope

Viewed 5227 times
Posted by: SexiSadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SexiSadi starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 5/10/05
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/06 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Featured in the PR book!
For those of us that just don't have the ambition to manage a complicated way of storing patterns... :)

After I use a pattern, I normally want it to go neatly back into the envelope. So, what I do, as I am folding the pattern back to go in the envelope, I just iron as I go. (fold in half, press, fold in half again, press) When i'm finished, the pattern goes right back into the envelope, just like new!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
xela said...
Excellent idea. Thanks. Happy New Year
1/2/06 11:24 AM
tree-cee said...
thank you so much i alway end up tearing my patterns trying to get them back into the envelope. -tree-cee
1/7/06 3:49 PM
Bejo said...
I have a great tip for patterns. I bought large 8x10 manila envelopes, cut the pattern envelope open, trimmed the sides then glued these to the envelope. (Front to front back to back. Works great for large or numerous pieces patterns.
1/17/06 3:24 PM
Roxie5166 said...
I also do that. I have a pattern cabinet, purchase from a fabric store and it's important that the patterns go back into their orignal envelope.
5/6/10 7:51 AM
RitaGoldivas said...
I use clear plastic page protectors, that way I can put the pattern envelope in front & put the pattern pieces in with room to spare.
5/6/10 11:58 AM
Grandma Shirley said...
Thanks for the great tip.
5/6/10 12:46 PM
no7262 said...
I sometimes do that too! Nora :)
5/6/10 1:17 PM
Dee in FL said...
I also iron my pattern pieces, but I do it after I've re-folded them to make sure that the pattern piece's number is prominently displayed. Then I place the pieces back into the envelope in numeric order (or alpha order if that's the designator shown on the pattern pieces).
5/6/10 5:47 PM
MAD14kt said...
Thanks for sharing ;D
5/6/10 9:40 PM
slipperfoot said...
good idea
5/6/10 10:53 PM
lnwmelon said...
Good idea! Thanks
5/9/10 10:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.