SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > More pattern weight tips

Viewed 5232 times
Posted by: Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale C starstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/12/03 5:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Hi Gigi, I saw your tip on pattern weights and thought I'd add mine too.
I use nice rocks for pattern weights. They're decorative touches to my sewing room and are free... unless you like special rocks. My mother collects nice chunks of quartz for me when she travels and I keep these in a basket near my cutting area.

Look for smooth, flat stones along the riverbank or shoreline. Get a variety of sizes and shapes. Being that I love natural objects and fabrics in my home, they fit right in with the decor (HUH? What decor? Does eclectic mismatch count? :))

Dale

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Amanda L said...
I love this idea! Makes me think we could also put paperweights, currently gathering dust, to good use.
1/12/03 8:58 PM
katharin said...
Amanda, I use paperweights! I gathered all the unused one in our house. They are functional and look cute as pattern weight.
1/12/03 10:10 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What an unusual idea! Hmmm, from rocks to cat food I guess anything goes. :-)
1/13/03 9:18 AM
Ann B. said...
Hehe, I have 4 "real" pattern weights, and use tuna cans and washers to fill in.
1/13/03 1:14 PM
cindyann said...
Oh my, I was heading to the hardware store this weekend for washers (great idea, btw) when I read this tip. Just happen to have an enormous jar of stones that would be perfect. Thanks
1/16/03 7:54 PM
said...
Love it as I love natural things in my home too. Thanks for the tip/ Sandy
7/7/10 3:23 PM
Nanna Vicki said...
Dale, Great idea!! I have used the usual: straight pins, pattern weights, cat food cans, etc.; however, I never thought about using rocks or stones as weights. My granddaughter is coming in for the weekend to visit, so I am now planning to offer her a new craft project: taking some nice stones and painting them or drawing faces, etc. It will give her a creative outlet for something she loves to do and will leave Nanna with a reminder of her crafty little granddaughter's summer visit . Thanks!!!
7/19/13 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.