SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > The Hot Patterns Fly Front

Viewed 5119 times
Posted by: sewlily
photo

 
 
About sewlily star
IA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/8/06 9:30 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
To help myself, I took pictures of my fly front construction based on the hot patterns instructions. Once you get the hang of it, it's a simple and nice way to install your zipper.

pics and instructions here

Debbie Cook looked at my pics and noted that perhaps I had done the last few steps wrong. I had originally emailed the page to Trudy to get her take and she didn't notice the "wrongness" so thanks Debbie for the sharp eyes.

The rectangular fly piece should actually lay over the shaped fly piece and be held in place by an extended part of the waistband.

Here is Trudy's further explanation to me:

Hi Jennifer, thanks for your mail.

Re the pants fly & waistband...yes, they have a similar construction to a RTW menswear pant, with the waistband extended to seal in the top edge of the fly shield.

Imagine that you are wearing the pants...the shaped fly stitching is visible on the front of the pants, and the finished edge of the front waistband aligns with the finished edge of the fly. If you were to un-do the pants, you would see the fly shield inside the opening, joined to the under wrap of the waistband. it has to be siad though, that there are many different ways to do a front fly, and a lot of it is down to personal preference...

When I have a moment, I will redo the pics.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Anne Frances said...
That is wonderfully clear and helpful. Thanks
1/9/06 4:34 AM
Jayme girl said...
all I can say awesome,and the child is beautiful
1/9/06 7:35 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thank you, Thank you! I was so enamored by your cord slouchy pants that I ordered the pattern. I'm still a beginner, so this will be a tremendous help.
1/9/06 12:02 PM
priscilla said...
Thank you for the great pics and taking the time to send them to PR. I know when I have to do this application I will refer to your review.
1/9/06 3:11 PM
candyo said...
Wow, very thorough! I will refer to this!
1/9/06 4:56 PM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks! this looks like it's going to be really helpful when I tackle their bootcut trousers...
1/13/06 10:31 AM
Alice said...
Hello all, I don't want to step on the toes of anybody who gave instructions on how to do a fly-front but.....Sandra Betzina does it best. Try to see if HGTV still has it in their files to download. www.ghtv.com. She had a program there at one time and I tapes her doing the fly-front zipper., it's so easy.
1/25/06 12:09 PM
vasallese said...
When I did my fly fronts, I used the Singer sewing book method & Sandra Betzina's method. The parts Sandra was not clear on, Singer was, & vice-versa. The fly fronts are very nice. I love them so much better than putting the zipper in the back or on the side as I was originally taught.
1/28/06 3:57 PM
Lou05 said...
Are your fly front sewing instructions still online. I get some funny message about looking at pictures of your girl?
6/6/10 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.