SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > How to get crayon stains out.

Viewed 5172 times
Posted by: chick3y
photo

 
 
About chick3y star
TX USA
Member since: 11/13/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/9/06 0:04 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
My daughter drew a lovely crayon masterpiece today. The only problem was that she chose the couch as her 'canvas'. When I saw what she had done I logged onto Crayola.com. Under "helpful information" I found a whole section on stain removal. This site tells you how to remove any of their products from almost any surface, thankfully including upholstery. My couch now smells a bit like WD-40, but is crayon free. Hopefully the smell will dissapate after a few days and/or a bottle of Febreeze!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Glyniss said...
Good tips about crayon removal are always welcome. I had not thought to check the Crayola website.
1/31/06 9:47 PM
France said...
Great tip, by the way this reminds me that one way to remove pen ink is to apply hairspray on the stain, it disolves the ink. I have tried it a couple of times and it worked. Depending of the stain more than one application may be needed. The key is not to wash the stain before applying the hairspray otherwise the ink is set for good.
1/18/06 11:05 PM
Judy Williment said...
Thank you! My darling daughter just wrote on her bedroom wall with crayon, and I've been too scared to try and clean it off! I'd be in prison with Karla if it hadn't been an obscure corner of the room!
1/12/06 11:30 PM
zoezmommy said...
Wow! thanks for the tip. I use the web a lot but going to the crayola website for stain removal information never occurred to me...hmm I wonder if they have anything about cleaning up messes from there 'washable' markers....
1/10/06 4:02 PM
beangirl said...
thank you thank you thank you! I hadn't thought of going to the source on this either. I have two toddlers and they apparently are under the impression they are master artists. Now, if Crayola would only tell us how to keep toddlers from hoarding crayons so that they can leap up at a moment's notice to "express" themselves on, say, every blind in the house.
1/10/06 7:38 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Logging onto the crayola website was really smart. I wouldn't have thought of that, and would probably be serving a lengthy sentence for child abuse...
1/9/06 11:25 AM
Cornelia said...
What a helpful site. Thanks!
1/9/06 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.