Canadian Jane
Advanced Beginner AB CANADA Member since 10/30/10 Posts: 1159 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 12:41 PM I got an email from someone in DH's family with just a link to a weight loss web site. The address is below. This is a reverse edit to remove the link in case it contains a virus as some posters requested.
http://raspberryketonesblogreview.com/GreenCoffeDiet/index.html
No explanation, no nothing. Have never discused my weight issues with this person. Have only told her that I swim 3 times a week.
I think maybe she thought she was being helpful. Still.... it is hard enough hating how I look without any help in that department.
I am kind of hurt. I don't intend to respond to it. Just wondered what your reaction would be. 
________________________________________________
ETA to add: DH has since arrived home and says we get a lot of these. Most are sent directly to a folder he has set up and deleted. I did not check this but he says if I had looked at the e-mail address I would have seen it was not her real e-mail address.
-- Edited on 10/24/12 10:10 PM --
-- Edited on 10/25/12 10:41 AM -- |
ConnieBJ

 Advanced ON CANADA Member since 12/31/03 Posts: 1855 Contest Committee |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 10/24/12 12:43 PM I bet it's spam mail, and she didn't mean to send it at all. Things like that have been going around here lately. Give her the benefit of the doubt... ------ Connie Bontje
http://www.couturesmith.com
Twitter: Couturesmith
Facebook: Connie Bontje
Desperately trying to keep ahead of my pattern, fabric and dressform collection! |
tlmck3
Advanced Beginner IL USA Member since 7/11/05 Posts: 3615 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this. Date: 10/24/12 1:20 PM I would run a virus scan ASAP.
I never, ever open links in emails that come with no explanation, no matter who they are from. Such emails often contain viruses.
Or as said above, her email has been hacked.
Weight loss emails are apparently common in such cases:
Naked Security website -- Edited on 10/24/12 1:24 PM -- ------ I am going for a level of perfection that is only mine... Most of the pleasure is in getting that last little piece perfect...Inspiration is for amateurs. The rest of us just keep showing up and doing the work.
Chuck Close, painter, printmaker, photographer
Hope has two lovely daughters: Anger and Courage
St. Augustine
|
sewme47
 Intermediate IL USA Member since 8/28/08 Posts: 546

|
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 1:28 PM This kind of spam is the worst. Our missionary friends once had their email hacked and an ad for "male enhancement" pills was sent to all their contacts. Some people have nothing better to do. ------ A balanced diet is a cupcake in each hand. |
PetitePear
Advanced Beginner Member since 6/10/10 Posts: 217 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 1:40 PM It's spam. My email acct. got hacked into once and someone in Turkey sent advertising for "cheap prescription drugs' to all my contacts. I was mortified but can only be glad it wasn't worse like the one you received or the case sewme47 mentioned! |
sewsally
 Intermediate WA USA Member since 8/18/02 Posts: 1200 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 1:42 PM Don't open the link. Its a virus. Your friend has been hacked. |
GlButterfly
Intermediate CA USA Member since 8/28/08 Posts: 2391 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 2:06 PM Yup---agree with the others in that it's probably spam. Never click on a link if that's all that's in a message. Be sure to run scans. ------ I have not yet begun to procrastinate |
Canadian Jane
Advanced Beginner AB CANADA Member since 10/30/10 Posts: 1159 |
Login to reply to this post
Date: 10/24/12 2:44 PM How do I run a virus scan and check?
I thought it might be her because the message says only "Hey Jane" and that it totally how she talks. |
PattiAnnJ
 Advanced OH USA Member since 12/3/06 Posts: 5000 |
Login to reply to this post
In reply to Canadian Jane <<
Date: 10/24/12 2:54 PM Quote: Canadian Jane How do I run a virus scan and check?
I thought it might be her because the message says only "Hey Jane" and that it totally how she talks.
That is "totally" how a lot of people talk. Send it to the spam folder and don't open mail when you are unsure of the sender.
Your email address could have been sold by another site you visited regarding health, weight loss or something completely non-related.
I use Norton security. When I clicked onto your link I got an immediate warning that it was unsafe.
A family feud could have started over nothing.
|
marec
  
 Intermediate OR USA Member since 5/11/08 Posts: 3552 |
Login to reply to this post
 1 member likes this.
Date: 10/24/12 3:25 PM PattiAnn, I use Norton also and did not get a warning. I clicked on the link, looked at the page, didn't click any further. I closed it and ran a scan and the security system found 0 threats.
Interesting....???? ------ my blog: http://kf-biblioblog.blogspot.com/
Sewing through my pattern stash-125
completed. |