Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Janome:Magnolia 7330 (Sewing Machine)
Viewed 1446 time(s)
5 more reviews for this machine
Review rated Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ksaunm
photo
About Ksaunm
Member since: 10/19/12
Reviews written: 15
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/13 7:32 PM
Approx price paid:$500
Had this machine for:1 year
Recommended? Maybe
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Janome Magnolia 7330Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
1. Extra spindle so you can wind a bobbin without unthreading.
2. The choices of buttonhole shapes and that the buttonholer is automatic.
3. The stretch stitches. (I don't really use the embroidery stitches.)
4. The automatic stop in up position.
5. The option to tie a knot instead of back stitching to finish a seam.
6. Fairly large surface area to sew on.
7. Clear bobbin case so you can see if you're about to run out.
8. Speed control-good for my daughter who is just learning to sew.

Troubleshooting:
1. You can't adjust the tension on the presser foot. Very frustrating. My old cheap-o machine did this. To compensate I had to buy a $60 walking foot.
2. The reverse button goes an extra stitch before changing direction, both ways.
3. The thread cutter, while a nice touch, broke after 9 months.
4. The free arm is too thick for a sleeve. (OK for a pants leg, though.)
5. No ruler on it like my old machine.
6. This is just me, but I don't like electronic controls because they take so long to get to where you want (you have to go all the way from 1 to 15, or back from 30. You can't just punch in "#15" and be done with it. And when you turn off the machine, as I do to pin or iron, you lose all your settings.
7. The buttonholer is pretty persnickety. Doesn't work well on thick fabric.
8. Difficult to get into the machine to clean. You have to pry off a plastic cover, then unscrew a tiny screw that is set in deep. My old machine just hinges open.
9. Loud and plastic. I have a hard time believing it will last decades. I worry the thread spindle will break off within a couple of years.

The reason I'm not sure if I would recommend it or not is because I don't feel it is a significant improvement over my entry model Riccar that I bought in 1983. My Riccar is much more solid, and does about 95% of what the Janome does. And it does some things better, like multiple thicknesses, sewing very thin fabric (the Janome usually tugs fine fabric into the feed dogs), and it feels like I can make more precise adjustments. I probably sound like an old fart!

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
*Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bestgrammy said...
No...you do NOT sound like an old fart! LOL You just know what you like and don't like about this sewing machine...which was very helpful to me. Thanks.
11/4/13 8:18 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
Thank you for an informative review
11/4/13 9:05 PM
Mufffet said...
I am glad you reviewed your machine, but I wonder what in the world broke a built in thread cutter? You mean the one little cutter thing on the back or side?! And what do you pry off to clean it? Do you mean the easily popped off bobbin cover and then you unscrew the needle plate? I have several Janomes and there is no "prying" off of plastic covers.
11/4/13 9:32 PM
Franksdottir said...
I am sorry that this machine disappointed you. I have the same machine (although I am about to give it to my darling daughter who finally agreed to have a sewing machine) and I have always loved it. It makes such a satisfying sound when it sews, and is so pretty, as well as making nice stitches. My father used to say, "that's what makes horse races!" when people had a difference of opinion.
11/4/13 11:38 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for another perspective
11/5/13 6:12 AM
KPM said...
Your observations reflect what many others are saying...the vintage machines were better made and made to last. I wonder if any of the manufacturers will take that to heart? I think they'd rather crank out cosmetically attractive machines with lots of new features to attract new buyers rather than go for high quality and enduring operation.
11/5/13 2:25 PM
Ksaunm said...
Bestgrammy :) Muffet: I wish I knew what broke off the cutter! I was minding my own business and just cutting a thread when it snapped off. The plastic was very thin where it was connected to the machine. The part where you can remove it to be cleaned is officially called the faceplate (which I'd never heard of until I looked it up to describe it better). This is not the clear plastic cover over the bobbin on the machine bed(I agree with you, that is easy to pop off). It's the part of the machine on the left hand side as you are facing it, above the machine bed, that holds the thread take up lever. If you look at the left side of that, you can see a 1/2" plastic disc that covers a screw, which needs to be removed in order to open it up and either dust it or repair it.
11/5/13 6:59 PM
Mufffet said...
HHmm...I don't think you are supposed to open that faceplate to clean! You could use small vac attachments - the mini ones and suck it out as best you can, but if it is screwed in then it is not meant to be taken apart! Your machine should be user cleaned in the bobbin area and under the bobbin holder and not oiled except for one small drop now and again in the wick under that bobbin holder - and this isn't needed often. Otherwise these machines are made for tech servicing and lubrication. I checked your manual, and it does NOT tell you in your manual to take off the actual cover. If it does not say so, then it isn't meant to come off unless changing the light bulb which comes up once in twenty years or more - perhaps longer. If it is meant to come apart, it will be a snap that holds it shut - as I had on one of my recent Janome Kenmore machines. Otherwise no.
11/6/13 3:50 PM
bestgrammy said...
I've had mechanicals...not computerized though...that I took off the face plate to get to the oiling points...and of course I cleaned in there before oiling...that's how I found a piece of Scotch tape in one with fabric fuzz stuck all over the sticky side...and it required unscrewing the screws to take off the face plate. For instance...Janome 2222 on page 52 of the PDF manual shows unscrewing the face plate to get in there to oil...with that said...the Magnolia 7330 PDF manual doesn't show that...yet would it be so bad to take off the face plate to clean in there (not to oil since it's computerized and not stated to oil in there).
11/10/13 7:53 PM
sammyowner said...
I would probably not venture inside the machine especially if is not listed in your owner's manual. you may void your warranty.
11/11/13 6:05 PM
hopflower said...
I have the same machine. But I must say that your Janome 7330 is not all plastic: inside it is metal. Although so many machines today are all plastic, this is what helps makes the machine so wonderful because it is still built the old way. I have a nice hum on my machine when I sew as well. Your machine only needs to be cleaned about every two years, and it should be professionally serviced. The tension on a Janome 7330 should not be adjusted; there is no need to if it was set up right the first time. Thanks for your opinion; no matter which company, there could have been a manufacturing error, say, on the thread cutter.
11/13/13 11:17 AM
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Pfaff 7570
photo
Review by Rennie Ash... on 3/18/02
Read Review

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Singer Quantum Futura
photo
Review by acraftylad... on 11/3/05
Read Review

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us