SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Baby Lock> Ellisimo

15 more reviews
Viewed 1753 time(s)
Reviewed by:erinsluck
photo
Friend of PR
About erinsluckstar
WV USA
Member since: 11/22/11
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
sewing machines reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/14 7:18 PM
Approx price paid:$8000
Had this machine for:7 mos
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Baby Lock EllisimoFeatures
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • Adjustable Needle Position
  • Embroidery Machine
  • Auto Threading
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
I have the Ellisimo Gold II though I didn't see the option in the drop down box. This machine is intuitive. Things make sense. The camera function allows you to place your embroidery by putting a marker on your fabric to center your design or by scanning with the camera to show you exactly where your design is going to go. There were several things sales ladies told me I couldn't do related to the camera and when I tried them I could. My first attempt at centering designs on webbing for a key chain and dog leash were spot on even though I had two of them on the same hoop to do. That never happened with my Bernina. Always a hassle with that machine. This machine is pure joy. If you forget something it beeps at you. There are onboard tutorials and the thing you have to buy if your vision isn't the greatest is the "inspiration guide". I found it hard to grasp concepts in the manual due to the smaller print and smaller illustrations. I rarely look at the manual but look at the inspiration guide. Sewing is a dream. Everything I have tried from piecing to buttonholes is perfection. Again, things are set up in a way that not only makes them easy to find i.e. quilting stitches, but encourage you to look at other stitches you haven't tried and have even more fun. The screen makes it easy to see the stitch you are going to use, the foot to use and it changes as you make adjustment. This machine even scanned and adjusted the presser foot for height. I don't remember being told it would do that, but it did and it worked flawlessly. This is another machine that should be given a 12 out of 10. It sews over intersections with no problem, embroidery is easy and so far has had no problem with designs from a number of companies -- something again that the 830 gave me fits over. The needle threader works first time every time. I can recommend this machine without hesitation with one caveat -- it will spoil you so much you will find it hard to find anything to take to class that you enjoy. I actually am working out so I can take this machine when I am in an embroidery class. Nothing else comes close. I have compared this with a Bernina 830LE which does beautiful quilt in the hoop but otherwise I find frustrating because it doesn't think like I do. In my opinion, there is no comparison for functionality, ease of use and just plain enjoyment. In addition, the lighting makes it easy to see -- again something that really helps. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

Troubleshooting:
This is a BIG machine. Sure wish I could have all this functionality in a smaller package but I have a feeling this machine will be like the cell phone, eventually it could be lighter. I have compared this with a Bernina 830LE. In my opinion, there is no comparison for functionality, ease of use and just plain enjoyment.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Zenith72 said...
Hi Erinsluck. Great review. I have the Quattro 3, the Brother equivalent and totally agree.....it will spoil you, it definitely has me!!
2/3/14 7:27 PM
Julkane said...
Thanks for the review
2/3/14 7:34 PM
Maia B said...
Sounds super for embroidery, how is it for sewing?
2/3/14 7:40 PM
AtiyaAfi said...
The more I read reviews on the Ellisimo Gold II and compare it to the Bernina 830 reviews/threads, The EG II stays at the top of my list (besides an industrial Juki to go with my EG II). Thanks for the honest review. But, like Maria B, I would like to know how it is for sewing (garments). Enjoy your sewing and thanks for another Ellisimo Gold review Ė we donít have enough of them (nor threads) for this sm.
2/3/14 8:54 PM
RynV said...
I have the Brother Dreamweaver, which is a cousin to your machine and the twin of the Babylock Crescendo ( I have a separate embroidery machine so didn't need a combo). It has spoilt me too. I use it mainly for garment sewing and it feeds and sews perfect, pucker free seams on very sheer to ultra thick fabric. These machines rock.
2/3/14 10:02 PM
Mufffet said...
This looks lovely as well, and having heard so much about babylock.....congrats to you on this machine!
2/3/14 10:02 PM
Sharon48 said...
I also own this machine and agree with everything you say and more. It sews as beautiful as it embroiders. Congratulations and may you have many wonderful years with this machine!
2/4/14 1:01 AM
erinsluck said...
Update. This machine is wonderful for sewing. I have done bags, sewed with knits, and done quilt piecing. It does all those things well. In addition it comes standard with a very large box of feet and accessories. I forgot to mention a lighted needle drop which shows u exactly where the needle will drop. The machine has very well set defaults. It allows you to readily adjust settings should your project require. It came with a tablet to allow u to draw and tweak your own designs. This machine also has a foot control which allows additional functions to be programmed. Ergonomics work for me as the lighting etc fits my eyesight etc. There is also a gizmo that will keep the machine doing a precise seam width via the camera. Afraid to do that lest I get dependent, but I tried it and it is amazing. I have the upgrade 3 border frame. As an aside, I purchased two of the monster snap hoops for this machine. They are THE BOMB!!!!! Wonderful. Much easier to use than the hoops that come with the machine. Fast, easy and fun. Wish all our machines came standard with these hoops. Taking a continuous embroidery class this weekend. While I'm waxing lyrical, the other accessory besides the machine I really like is the steady betty stilleto. It can be used for a stiletto and with the foam can also be used as a stylus -- great addition to your accessories.
2/4/14 4:42 AM
SandiMacD said...
I'm also a former Bernina, now BL. The user friendliness is a show stopper- it's unbelievable how easy it is to figure out how to do something. And it always works! My ElliMo makes me smile every time I see her. Congrats on your new addition.
2/4/14 5:11 AM
lgrande said...
I'm glad you were able to find a machine this time that fits you.
2/4/14 9:56 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
sounds like a sensational machine!!! Other than a basic Babylock, I haven't used an advanced one yet but I've heard so many good things about them, especially the embroidery. I'm already a Babylock serger fan but now I'm even more intrigued about the advanced sewing machines they offer!
2/6/14 1:23 AM
Artsewer said...
A really nice reveiw, you are very excited about this machine and it makes me want to take a close look at it. Thanks
2/9/14 4:04 PM
erinsluck said...
I love my babylock EGII, but have found a smaller machine I use for classes and when my EGII is busy embroidering. It is the Janome MC9900. This little machine does incredibly beautiful embroidery and for piecing and sewing is also a dream machine. For some reason, it too thinks like I do and I can jump back and forth between the EGII and this machine and thoroughly enjoy both. If you are looking for a smaller machine that does beautiful embroidery and sews beautifully as well this machine is INCREDIBLE at the price point. I have heard that other than hoop size it rivals the TOL machines in everything else. I LOVE this machine. See my recent review for more details.
2/14/14 12:02 PM
scarlet67 said...
I have a Baby Lock Evolve serger and am very pleased with it. Wish I had checked for BL embroidery machines before purchasing the Brother SE400. I am a beginner at machine embroidery so I think it will suffice for now, but when I get better at it, I think I will purchase the BL Ellisimo Gold.
3/7/14 12:01 PM
dalebarnes said...
I am drooling over this machine. Somewhere, in one of the posts, someone posted that they had a source for this machine for much less money. Does anyone know who posted that so i can contact them? Thanks.
3/18/14 1:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BabyLock BL22 Design Pro

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
BabyLock BLE8 Evolve

photo
by: sew4fn

Review
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.