SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Sewing Machine Reviews> Other> Reliable MSK 588

Viewed 491 time(s)
Reviewed by:Nonette
photo
About Nonettestar
Member since: 3/11/09
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
sewing machines reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/14 4:06 PM
(Updated: 8/17/14 4:35 PM)
Approx price paid:$399
Had this machine for:2 weeks
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Other :Reliable MSK 588 (Blind Hemmer) by Nonette

Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: Blindhemmer  
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
When I first got it out of the box, my first impression was "boy, this is heavy"
Then " it's so cute!" It was super easy to set up and got it sewing in no time. I had 20 dresses ready for hemming. So after a few minutes of testing for tension and stitch quality, I began hemming the dresses. It went pretty quickly. All dresses hemmed in less than an hour. This machine is fast- 1750 spm.
I think this is the same machine as the tacsew and consew machines. They cost less but shipping to Hawaii was going to cost almost as much as the machine and delivery is by slow boat.😊 I was told it'll take 2-3 weeks. I bought mine at a higher price at amazon because it was free shipping and I got it in 2 days.

Was the machine manual sufficient?
Yes. Instructions were written very well. Easy to understand and follow.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
No. The machine only does one thing - no need for any type of accessories. I did order more of different sizes of needles. Only 3 were included - all same size. It also came with all the tools it needs to set up. And a generous size bottle of oil.

Is this your primary machine?
No.

Did you take any classes specifically for this machine?
No
Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?Yes. A gift to myself

How often do you use it?I am planning on using this
at least once a week for hemming several dresses

Would you recommend this machine to others?Yes.
It doesn't take up much space, it does only one thing and it does it it very well. It's purely mechanical and easy to use and maintain. I used Tex 16 Gutermann Terra 180 thread which is really thin. It makes a real blindstitch. This thread is not readily available. I just had it on hand - I use it on my sergers. However, Gutermann Skala is almost the same and is available from Wawak.

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
It's not really troubleshooting for machine problems, but I had to adjust tension and needle penetration for different type/ weights of fabric.
Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?
The only maintenance needed is regular oiling. This machine loves to be oiled before and after use. I need to wipe all around machine after oiling to make sure I don't get oil on my fabric.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Batik said...
Very interesting! thanks for helpful and informative review.
8/14/14 11:53 PM
sewbusy888 said...
so glad it worked out for you. Sounds like a great performing machine. Thank you for doing the review
8/15/14 0:10 AM
Dawnabbey said...
A worthwhile investment. I have been thinking of getting one myself recently. I have been thinking too much about machines sigh
8/15/14 1:17 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I have the consew. Being a tad over 5 feet tall, I use mine for everything I buy plus I do alterations for people on the side. I have never regretted buying it, worth it's weight in$$$
8/15/14 7:58 AM
LPGA said...
Hemming 20 dresses in an hour, now thatīs very impressive. Thanks for this interesting review, I thought those specialized machines were much more expensive...
8/15/14 8:31 AM
Molliefran said...
Is this a blind hemming machine?
8/15/14 9:00 AM
Dawnabbey said...
Molliefran: yes it is a blind hemming machine.
8/23/14 10:33 PM
PeppermintPam said...
I have this exact machine purchased in Dec. '06, (I paid $399 too) and I also love it. I don't use it as often as you do, but it's so nice to be able to hem any fabric perfectly and FAST (especially fine silks and microfibers)! I've used several different brands of threads that are labeled 120/2 weight (very fine) and they all work great. So glad you're enjoying yours - seems like it's built to last a lifetime.
8/26/14 12:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.