SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Sewing Machine Reviews> Bernina> 750QE

8 more reviews
Viewed 1778 time(s)
Reviewed by:mollycoomer
photo
Friend of PR
About mollycoomerstar
Member since: 8/26/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/14/14 11:53 AM
(Updated: 5/20/14 1:11 PM)
Approx price paid:$2800
Had this machine for:6 weeks
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Bernina 750QEFind the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
This is the first time I've reviewed a sewing machine. I was going to wait until I had the machine longer, but because it has had mixed reviews decided to do initial review now, and update in six months. I've had several sewing machines and brands, but always found something lacking or didn't like. I love Pfaff's IDT, but hate it's menu system. I found myself reading manuals and going to one menu after another instead of sewing. I felt I also owned too many machines, and was looking for one that could do everything I needed for the type of sewing I do. I also wanted a machine that six months from I wouldn't be back looking at machines for some feature I hadn't thought of. I finally sat down and listed everything I felt I had to have, and another list with things I would like but could live without. Because I had bought a Bernina 550QE within the last year my dealer took it in as a trade-in, and gave me every penny I had paid for it. I was seriously looking at the 600 series, but really wanted a new machine with a full warranty. When I discovered the 750 I was elated. It had every thing on both my lists, and more. I didn't think I would like the way the presser foot hoovers, but after trying it now love it. I had a knee lift with several of my prior machines, but never used them as I didn't see any benefit from doing so. I now routinely use my knee lift in conjunction with the hovering, and realize the reason I didn't like them before was because I didn't have them in the right position. This one slipped right in like a glove. I like being able to see how the stitches will form. I've had no problems putting in or taking my bobbin out after the first time. I read the instructions in the manual along with watching it on the screen tutorial. I find the online tutorials helpful and easy to navigate. As a quilter I love that the bobbins hold more thread, and how easy it is to wind a bobbin. Which you can do while still sewing because of the separate motor. I find both the instruction manual and online tutorials user-friendly. I love sewing on it as it runs so smooth. I just pieced a quilt in two days with every corner precisely matched up. The reason I even considered Pfaffs was because I loved their IDT feature. Now Bernina has installed the same system in the 750 so my fabric feeds evenly. I haven't had a problem with it, but because I do so much piecing I did order a stitch plate with just the single hole. I've had no problems with tension or quality of stitches. Although I mainly quilt, I've decided to do more garment sewing now that I have a machine that makes several different styles of buttonholes and the insertion of zippers so much easier. You can actually "tell" the button hole size you need by holding the button on the screen. I can't possibly name all the wonderful things this machine can do. I was contemplating getting the embroidery module right away, but have decided to wait until I get to know my machine, and all the things it can do .
* I should have added the price I paid was 2800.00 plus a trade-in
( Bernina 550QE) The retail was 4499.00. Sorry for the confusion.

Troubleshooting:
I got ahead of myself and put bobbins in the accessory case before reading a manual. The bobbins have to be inserted so the sensors are always facing one side. When I went to remove the one bobbin I inserted incorrectly I found that it was wedged in. The store technician was kind enough to remove it, and then insert it correctly. I know a lot of people complain about the price of Bernina feet, but you don't have to buy them all at once. I try to buy one new presser foot whenever I go to a class. It might be $30 or more, but I know people that spend that much on a new dress or lunch. When you look at their feet you can see that they are made to last.
I don't know if this is the right place to put this, but I learned the way, that for me, I'm better off buying machines (I have now bought the machines I want and plan to keep), and accessories from my dealer then e-bay. You can't believe everything you read on e-bay. Even if you end up returning the machine it' still costly as you have to pay return shipping costs. When I sell something on e-bay I will mention any imperfection, but have found that not everyone does so. In some cases I've found presser feet on e-bay costing more then at your dealer.
I also know that if I have a question or a problem concerning my machine I can call my dealer, and he will make it right.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
I appreciate your review - balanced and thorough. Not only that you have experience with so many machines that your review is that much more interesting to read. Next time use a few returns for paragraphing because it's hard to read all the content when it's all one paragraph. Someone told me that once when I reviewed something and by golly they were right on! :) I would very much like to read more reviews from you, as you have had so many machine. Please do write more, as we need more lengthy reviews here badly. Enjoy your new Bernina because it sounds like a wonderful machine!
5/14/14 2:03 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Good reveiw! Thanks for contributing. I have a 780 and love it too.
5/14/14 2:31 PM
KPM said...
I too appreciated reading this review. It sounds like you found your perfect match, and good job pointing out all the highlights of this model for those considering it. FYI, I don't know which Pfaff you refer to, but my CSPro has the little question mark icon that will explain every other icon so I rarely need the manual. With its IDT, the best "hover" and hand look stitches in the industry which are as beautiful on the back as on the front, it's my dream machine. I don't find much difference in ease of use between it and my 580 (another great Bernina). Just shows to each his/her own, and you sound pleased as punch with your choice. I have a feeling your sewing experiences will be expanding!
5/14/14 3:07 PM
KPM said...
Thanks, LPGA. I never knew that! It's fixed.
5/14/14 3:23 PM
JanyceR said...
Thanks for the great review. I love my 7 series machines too!
5/14/14 5:38 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I enjoyed your review! WOW what a great price you got! The cheapest my local dealer has been (show special) is $4,699 for the unit and to add embroidery it was $6,699! You should be very proud of yourself, that will pay for all those wonderful feet. Enjoy your new machine! Just realized you had the trade in.....still sounds great! Will enjoy seeing your update after a while!
5/14/14 6:20 PM
LPGA said...
KPM, yes you can correct your entry after your initial posting: there should be a little pencil at the bottom of your comment near the time and date. Just click on it and edit ! Mollycoomer, thanks for your well balanced review. Was $2,800 the net amount you paid taking into consideration your trade-in, as I find this pricing very low for this model ?
5/14/14 8:36 PM
pamyjo2001 said...
Glad you found a machine that suits you. I too don't like the Pfaff menu system. What I absolutely love about Bernina is their abundance of helpful videos and webinars. Imho no other machine manufacturer can touch Bernina in this area.
5/15/14 2:06 AM
SandiMacD said...
Well there used to be a pencil but its not showing up on my itouch- at least not today. Perhaps it will show up if I use my computer. Nice review- thanks for the details.
5/15/14 7:03 AM
SewBusy63 said...
Thanks for the detailed review! Enjoy your Bernina!
5/20/14 3:35 PM
SewPerfect said...
Great review, appreciate the extras as well. I have just purchased a vintage Bernina 930 Record and love it so much I'm considering selling a couple of other machines I own and going with a 750QE!! :D
6/8/14 1:55 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Nice review. I sounds like you really found your perfect machine.
7/10/14 7:05 PM
GabiP said...
I have just returned to the world of sewing after about a 26 years absence (except for Halloween costumes and the occasional needed home deco. I took a quilt class 4 years ago and am now addicted. I was sewing on my first machine, a 1975 Singer Stylist which does just the basics, so I went shopping! I purchased a Singer (sorry can't recall the name) for $199. at Wal-Mart and immediately was not impressed - all plastic; not heavy; didn't "sound" solid. Sewed on it for several months and just dissatisfied all around. Folks around me were buying expensive, embroidery machines and I had sticker shock - holy moly! And I didn't want to embroider, I want to piece and quilt. So I dedicated myself for 3 weeks going in and out of all the machine shops in a 70 mile radius of my home. I bought a Pfaff Expression 4.0 for $1700. - I LOVE the way it pieces! I love the IDT feature; I love the cutter; I love the way the foot hovers; I love the large foot pad (it has a knee lift but I just can't get the hang of it so I don't use it); it has auto thread which is a good thing. What I don't like is that I do not sew pretty FMQ with it. After trying for 6 weeks, I gave up. I went to the Bernina dealer and bought a 710Q - just for the BSR - which I love! I paid $5200. and it has all the features of my Pfaff plus a stop/start (which my Pfaff doesn't but they now have on the 4.2). As many feet as the Bernina has (and I have already purchased several) I still love the clear, 1/4" foot on my Pfaff the best - for me, it is perfection in piecing. So what do I do? I piece with the Pfaff and love it and I FMQ beautifully on my Bernina and am happy. I do not feel guilty about the price tags cause I never buy myself large ticket items - I thought after 34 years marriage and two kids, I was due!
8/15/14 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bernina 450

photo
by: chicagoche...

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.