SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Kenmore> 158.523

Viewed 823 time(s)
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
sewing machines reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/14 1:29 AM
(Updated: 7/28/14 1:30 PM)
Approx price paid:$25
Had this machine for:6 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A

Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  
Features
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
I loved the gorgeous color (marketed as "Iris" back in the day), and the sturdy nature of this tank. It can sew very heavy layers effortlessly, and can do embroidery stitches with E style flat cams. Each cam has two sides and you place it in the machine with the design you want facing up.

They were made by Jaguar/Maruzen, who had a long term contract with Sears Roebuck & Co.,(U.S.A.)

http://www.jaguar-net.co.jp/english/company/history.html

Was the machine manual sufficient?
Yes, the original manual tells you everything you need to know.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
I was able to find the matching lavender box in the thrift store. It had become separated from the machine, but had everything with it and in perfect condition.
Later, I purchased a grey green set with even more designs and the number 4 cam which has the three point ZZ.

I also bought a monogrammer for it.


Is this your primary machine?
No, but I keep it handy. It uses class 15 needles and short shank and is perfect for heavy projects.

Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?
Thrift Store. I serviced it myself and replaced the belt and bobbin winder tire.

How often do you use it?
Every few weeks.

Would you recommend this machine to others?

Yes! It's lovely to use.
Recently, I compared the stitches with some of my other collectible more famous machines and guess what... This one has better stitches than some of the others with same needle, thread, fine silk voile, and of course setting each tension as best as I could...
I was impressed. Simple but mighty!

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
No, it runs perfectly.
Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?
Yes. I do all cleaning, oiling and parts replacements myself. So far so good!

I absolutely love and ADORE it. I haven't found anything it won't sew through yet. This is one I will not get rid of or give away.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Plays with Fire said...
That one is just so pretty. Glad to hear it performs so well.
7/31/14 2:13 AM
canei said...
nice!!!!
7/28/14 8:50 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you! ;) They were made by Jaguar/Maruzen. http://www.jaguar-net.co.jp/english/company/history.html
7/28/14 1:26 PM
homewerk said...
A beauty! She reminds me of some Necchies. I wonder which sm company manufactured it for Kenmore. A great find. Enjoy.
7/28/14 1:12 PM
Mufffet said...
Such a pretty machine and such a good one. Good for you! :) How nice the case and cams were there as well. BONUS and lucky!
7/28/14 10:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Kenmore 19233

photo
by: Lilannakiy...

Review
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.