SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Kenmore> 158.523

Viewed 589 time(s)
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
sewing machines reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/14 1:29 AM
(Updated: 7/28/14 1:30 PM)
Approx price paid:$25
Had this machine for:6 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A

Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  Kenmore :158.523 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  
Features
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
I loved the gorgeous color (marketed as "Iris" back in the day), and the sturdy nature of this tank. It can sew very heavy layers effortlessly, and can do embroidery stitches with E style flat cams. Each cam has two sides and you place it in the machine with the design you want facing up.

They were made by Jaguar/Maruzen, who had a long term contract with Sears Roebuck & Co.,(U.S.A.)

http://www.jaguar-net.co.jp/english/company/history.html

Was the machine manual sufficient?
Yes, the original manual tells you everything you need to know.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
I was able to find the matching lavender box in the thrift store. It had become separated from the machine, but had everything with it and in perfect condition.
Later, I purchased a grey green set with even more designs and the number 4 cam which has the three point ZZ.

I also bought a monogrammer for it.


Is this your primary machine?
No, but I keep it handy. It uses class 15 needles and short shank and is perfect for heavy projects.

Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?
Thrift Store. I serviced it myself and replaced the belt and bobbin winder tire.

How often do you use it?
Every few weeks.

Would you recommend this machine to others?

Yes! It's lovely to use.
Recently, I compared the stitches with some of my other collectible more famous machines and guess what... This one has better stitches than some of the others with same needle, thread, fine silk voile, and of course setting each tension as best as I could...
I was impressed. Simple but mighty!

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
No, it runs perfectly.
Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?
Yes. I do all cleaning, oiling and parts replacements myself. So far so good!

I absolutely love and ADORE it. I haven't found anything it won't sew through yet. This is one I will not get rid of or give away.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Such a pretty machine and such a good one. Good for you! :) How nice the case and cams were there as well. BONUS and lucky!
7/28/14 10:20 AM
homewerk said...
A beauty! She reminds me of some Necchies. I wonder which sm company manufactured it for Kenmore. A great find. Enjoy.
7/28/14 1:12 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you! ;) They were made by Jaguar/Maruzen. http://www.jaguar-net.co.jp/english/company/history.html
7/28/14 1:26 PM
canei said...
nice!!!!
7/28/14 8:50 PM
Plays with Fire said...
That one is just so pretty. Glad to hear it performs so well.
7/31/14 2:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kenmore Mini Ultra 3/4 sewing machine

photo
by: hestiah

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.