SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Sewing Machine Reviews> Singer> 403

5 more reviews
Viewed 643 time(s)
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
sewing machines reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/14 9:55 PM
(Updated: 7/31/14 2:39 PM)
Approx price paid:$40
Had this machine for:about 6 mos
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Singer :403 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A

Singer :403 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  Singer :403 (Sewing Machine) by Terri A  
Features
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
My first impression was, (in comparison to other vintage machines that I have worked with) how delicate everything was from the needle and throat plate to the small presser foot, to the narrowing front design so that you have a more direct line of sight to the needle.
Next the smooth and unique whirring sound it makes when it runs.
The stitches were neat, the tension a little fiddly as many singers are. I thought there was an overall delicate impression that implied dressmaking and would deter me from sewing really heavy material or denim with it.

Was the machine manual sufficient?
I have the detailed original manual.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
Yes, I had collected a thrift set of cams and accessories, plus quite a few items came with it, so it's a nicely complete set.
Along with that over the years I had collected a monogrammer, and buttonholer ($3-$5) as well. Everything tested out well.

Is this your primary machine?
No - it would have to get in line. ;) So many machines, so little time.

Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?
Yes. Thrift store auction.
It required cleaning and oiling and a replacement part before I was ready to sew with it.

How often do you use it?
I haven't had it long, but I have sewn a project with it and it sewed beautifully.

Would you recommend this machine to others?
Yes, it has a fine reputation. However I would say that to sell this machine is an industrial or even semi industrial is deceptive. It's clearly a domestic machine, perfect for the home sewer making lightweight garments and the occasional heavier duty item.

I am not sure I am sold on the slant needle and am still doing test and comparison stitching and will make further updates. ;)

It doesn't do reverse stitch designs or stretch cams - which for me is a huge drawback for sewing certain fabrics. This is because as a machine reverses to create many of the reverse or stretch designs there is built in *give* with the stitching making it useful with knits or stretch wovens. Think "triple stretch" stitching on modern computerized machines. It goes back and forth and in the end gives a strong and stretchy result. Really not fun to have to pick out though... -_-

For clarity: The machine has the expected reverse lever which you lift to go in reverse to say lock your seam. It does not utilize reverse cams or reverse stitches in its decorative designs. Any stitch other than straight stitch, including zigzag can only be had with cams you snap into the top of the machine. The cams are the C type, so called Top Hat cams and are single layer, therefore limited to simpler forward only designs. If you want more complex designs you may prefer a machine that takes double layer cams. The zigzag cam is required to do zigzag stitching, so peek in the top and check if it is there if you happen upon one of these in a thrift store or estate sale. If not, they are easy to find online and inexpensive.

I have read many people's posts that they had no reverse on their machine at all (they were looking for a button) when indeed the machine has that subtle lever you raise up. All of my vintage Singers have this lever. My Bernina has one that is spring loaded and you have to keep holding it up to keep reversing. These wonderful machines have endless variety and it's really part of the fun (for me anyway) to never run out of stuff to figure out about them!

Light Beige/Oyster White (I think it's very pretty and prefer to think of it as latte colored or macchiato maybe...)
Class 66 bobbins (vintage is best as the new ones have a raised ring on the inner edge that can hang everything up)
Size 15X1 needles sizes 9-18
Elevator type throat plate that lifts up above the feed dogs rather than lowering the feed dogs themselves.
I also like that you don't have to buy twin or double needles, but can place two individual needles side by side in the needle clamp instead.
It's also gear driven, and very lightweight with a cast aluminum body and seems somewhat scratch resistant.

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
No not really. I have cleaned, oiled and adjusted the machine and it all runs smoothly.

My only reserve is that it seems to have a very slight *finickiness* to it. It jams unexpectedly now and then, which I am completely unused to in my other vintages so honestly it's a bit off-putting for that reason.

I am not done working with it by any means (I've only had it a short time and plan to road test it on various projects) and feel this is a very fine piece of machinery with a great reputation whether or not it ends up being MY absolute favorite machine. I like it a lot and writing this review has reminded me of why I wanted this machine in the first place. ;)


Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?

Yes, everything...

Sweet refined little machine. Compared to others, I would call it a dressmaker not a workhorse.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Plays with Fire said...
Nice find. This one looks to be in very good condition. This machine does reverse stitches. The little knob on the right of the machine for the stitch length needs to be slid all the way up. When you are done reversing put it back down to go forward again. I have been using a tiny zig zag for all my knits. It looks just like the stretch stitch on other machines I have used and works quite well on my machine. Good luck and have fun!
7/31/14 1:52 AM
Terri A said...
Hi and thanks so much. Actually, I was referring to the reverse cam stitching that utilizes a secondary cam follower to make more complicated designs. It activates the machines natural reverse function coordinated with the main cam follower arm, and you can see your fabric moving forward and back as the seam is sewn. The 403 cams only move forward as the design is produced and does not have a second follower. The machine itself as you said has the reverse lever for normal manual reverse during sewing. I hope that makes more sense... Thx again - I'm always on a quest to find the loveliest length and width zz or other stretchy stitch for my knit projects!!! ;) Best!
7/31/14 2:27 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a nice review! :) Glad for the detail. It's all in the details, and you included a nice bunch!
7/31/14 11:34 AM
Plays with Fire said...
Thanks for the clarification.
7/31/14 12:39 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Excellent review. I've always assumed Singer discontinued the slant machines for a reason...
7/31/14 8:09 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you!!! :) I'm definitely trying to be very open about how it strikes me to sew with it. I had read a lot of raves before I found it and *want* to like it, but the proof is in the stitching love. I'm not convinced just yet. I've read conflicting opinions that slants do or do not have better piercing power. Time and projects will tell! ;) Thx again.
7/31/14 9:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Singer Fashion Mate 7256

photo
by: ichliebeco...

Review
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.