SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Brother> 2340CV

20 more reviews
Viewed 1011 time(s)
Reviewed by:ditchstitcher
photo
Friend of PR
About ditchstitcher
MN United States
Member since: 8/29/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/14 8:50 AM
Approx price paid:$360
Had this machine for:3 weeks
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Brother :2340CV (Coverstitch Machine) by ditchstitcher

Features
  • Computerized
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • 3 Thread Serger
  • 4 Thread Serger
  • Differential Feed
  • Coverstitch
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
I own a small alterations business and have always wanted a coverstitch machine. When I started my business it was just too expensive to find a serger that had coverhem capabilities. So I waited. Using a twin needle was sufficient. In the last couple of years I have seen such an increase in softer rayon knits in skirts and tops and maxi dresses and the twin needle just wasn't working as well as it had. I decided it was time to make the leap. I had always assumed I would buy the janome 900, but, after reading some of the reviews on this site I realized that it does not have a narrow stitch option. Half of my work would require the narrow coverhem option! Reviewers said the Brother 2340cv had both. I found the best price and ordered it. The manual took about 5 minutes to read through, It was easy to thread. I couldn't get it to form a stitch at first, but, within an hour I was hemming customers garments and changing threads. Pulled a few of the scraps out of the trash that had been such a headache with the twin needle a few days earlier and they zipped right through! Beautiful!! Love this machine!

Troubleshooting:
The hardest thing about this machine is that sewing with it is different than any other machine. You can't just pull the fabric away after you hem a circular hem (like a t-shirt). I found the directions that came with the machine to be good. They just take some practice. You just have to figure this one out, expect a little frustration the first few times.

Another difficulty the first few tries was not getting any stitch to form. I found that if I turned the wheel by hand once or twice it picked right up. I think it has to do with where the thread ends are arranged after going thru the threading sequence, which isn't really addressed in the manual.

All that said, it was earning its keep in less than an hour. That's a keeper in my book.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Keyboard Carol said...
Thank you for your review. It was very helpful. I've also been planning to buy a coverstitch machine but was undecided which one to buy. You made it easy by pointing out it also has a narrow double stitch. The only reluctance I have is removing the fabric away from a hem after hemming it. If you have any other tips on that one, please include.
8/2/14 8:58 AM
LPGA said...
Thanks for this very helpful review. I wasn't aware about the narrow stitch option being missing on some models of coverstitch machines. I will keep that in mind if I ever decide to buy one !
8/2/14 9:38 AM
rieski said...
Keyboard Carol -- I have a BL CS so it may be a little different but when I've finished a circular hem I raise the pressure foot and move the fabric out of the way that the needles don't penetrate it. Then I move the hand wheel up and down u til I can feel the threads release. At that point I take a good grip on the threads nearest the hem and pull it away from the stitch area and clip them. Then I pull the threads through to the wrong side and knot them -- overkill I know but I can't help myself. Some people set the machine to its longest stitch and then remove the threads but that may be a confusing recitation given how confusing the rest of my post may be. LOL and HTH. PS A standalone coverstitch machine has made me happier than any other sewing-related machine I've ever bought (except maybe my Imagine serger). I sew mostly knits and use it all the time. It's also makes sewing bathing suits really easy and more RTW looking.
8/2/14 10:00 AM
lgrande said...
rieski, Thanks for those instructions. I'd read them somewhere else but could never find them when needed. Now I know where to look. ditchstitcher, thanks for the nice review, it seems as if you find a machine that really suits your needs.
8/2/14 10:52 AM
Keyboard Carol said...
Rieski, thank you for the tips. I'm saving them!
8/2/14 1:22 PM
MartiP said...
I just raise the needles, release the needle tensions, slide the little allen wrench behind those threads and pull them forward about 3". Clip them and then pull fabric back. they will pull toward the back, clip the looper thread and that's it!. Ready to stitch some more.
8/2/14 5:07 PM
Judy Kski said...
The Janome 1000CPX does both the narrow and wide coverstitch as well as a chainstitch.
8/2/14 8:44 PM
Tommy1969 said...
This is on my wish list!!!
8/3/14 12:49 PM
ditchstitcher said...
Judy Kski---I guessed that the Janome 1000 CPX had the narrow stitch, but, my budget was more for the Janome 900 or the Brother! MartiP---Your direction for removing the circular hem sounds a little more clean cut than I have been doing, I'm going to revise my technique a little. Thanks!
8/3/14 10:44 PM
KPM said...
Thanks, Judy for that finishing sequence. I always end up with too many threads when I coverstitch on my Ovation. I was missing that final step of cutting the looper. Now if I can just figure out which thread that is... :)
8/4/14 1:55 PM
anniem404 said...
I too am grateful for the awesome post! I have been going between machines wondering which one to buy. Serger/coverstitch in one or individual. Well I believe I will go with the Brother 2340CV ! Sounds perfect for me. Thank you again ditch stitcher for your time and review of the Brother coverstitch serger
9/3/14 1:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Brother PE780D

photo
by: RJFoote

Review
Brother PC-8500D

photo
by: Eva in GA

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.