SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Sewing Machine Reviews> Brother> SE 400

4 more reviews
Viewed 666 time(s)
Reviewed by:Delectable Decadence
photo
About Delectable Decadence
NM United States
Member since: 3/5/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/14 3:47 AM
(Updated: 8/4/14 5:54 PM)
Approx price paid:$300
Had this machine for:3 years
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Brother SE 400Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Embroidery Machine
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Review:
I bought this machine 3 years ago at walmart, where it had been red tagged at just $300. It took a lot of stubbornness to keep the staff from contesting the price it had been stickered. There were no signs that it had been previously opened or tampered with... so they ultimately had no choice but to sell it at the stated price.

Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
This was my first computerized machine, I didn't know what to expect. I barely needed to do anything to it, and it was sewing the most beautiful line of stitching I have ever seen on a home sewing machine.


Was the machine manual sufficient?
The manual(s) are extensive, if it isn't in there somewhere then it's not something you might be licensed to do yourself, heh.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
I am constantly buying accessories for this machine-- a seam guide (from babylock) that screws into the plate, a mess of presser feet including a no-name brand walking foot I bought on ebay that works magnificently.

Is this your primary machine?
Yes, this is my go-to machine for now.

Did you take any classes specifically for this machine?
A good sit down with all the CD's and manuals it comes should be enough for anyone-- a class seems like overkill to me. It's easy to set up and use.

How often do you use it?
I use it quite frequently. On average, I would say I use it once every 4 days.

Would you recommend this machine to others?
Definitely, this is a great machine for beginners or intermediates.

A word of caution, though:
Brother's customer service is not the best. They will give you the run around if they think they can get away with it. When I got home, my pristine unopened box contained only the machine and none of the accessories that were supposed to be with it. I called Brother requesting replacements, and it took 2 days of chasing down people, and being transferred to different departments and still nothing was close to being solved. Well I got so angry I just wanted to give up and return the machine, but then my husband called in and caused a scene-- well, after that they finally requested proof of purchase. 3 days later I got a package containing all the missing parts. I just hate the fact that it took these measures just to have the opportunity to prove we weren't cons.

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
The only trouble I have ever had with this machine is when I attempt to sew through several layers of heavyweight material. I can hem jeans fairly easily, but when the layers start piling up it starts stitch sputtering. Of course, you'll have to use your judgement on this one-- typically, no currently made household will easily sew through a seam of 4 layers of denim or similar; the exceptions are the ones made before all the plastic made its way into machines.

Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?
I'm a HUGE advocate for preventative maintenance, I clean my machines after every project I finish on any of my machines. With the SE400 this is easily done, because it doesn't need oiling-- a dusting with some canned air and microfiber cloth, and it's good. I switched the stylus it came with for a rubber tipped one to prevent wear and tear on the touch screen. This cuts down on the amount of scuffing these types of screen suffer from constant use.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lottie2 said...
Thanks for a thoughtful review. Do you ever use the embroidery function on this machine? I bought this machine only a few weeks ago for a backup and to start dabbling in embroidery a bit, and so far I like it, but due to a previous negative experience with a low-end Brother, I was skeptical about how it would hold up in the long run, so it's nice to hear that yours has held up well for 3 years.
8/9/14 11:39 PM
textilehappy said...
Great deal! Just asking, but when you tried the heavy layers did you put in a 90/14 or 100/16 SHARP or Microtex needle? I found Universals have to work harder to do this type of sewing.
8/4/14 6:43 PM
Delectable Decadence said...
Igrande: I guess I should've been more specific, hehe. I also hear the same thing-- I don't shoot the air into the machine, I grab whatever detachable piece and dust it outside the machine. I use the microfiber cloth to go into the machine.
8/4/14 6:01 PM
Delectable Decadence said...
Zanylady: it's not often I sew more than 4 layers of heavyweight, so I don't quite feel the frustration of not being able to do it with some relative ease, yet. I'm hoping my next machine purchase will be an older model singer, as I'm quite fond of the aesthetics, and get more and more excited per review lol.
8/4/14 6:00 PM
lgrande said...
A word of caution. Most techs and experts will tell you never to use canned air as it can push the debris and lint father into the 'innards' of your machine.
8/4/14 4:03 PM
Mufffet said...
Excellent review! Obviously this machine meets your needs! I have heard other Brother owners say they love their machines! :)
8/4/14 10:11 AM
zanylady said...
I would not be happy if my machine could not sew through 4 layers of denim. My old White sews through 8 layers with ease, straight & zig zag; as does my singer 401a. Most vintage machines will do a creditable job up to about 6 layers.
8/4/14 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Brother PE-770

photo
by: roostergir...

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

More Info
Brother Innov-is 6000D

photo
by: Sewsirius

Review
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.