SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Notion Reviews > Irons / Steamers > Reliable Digital Velocity V100 Iron

Viewed 692 times
Reviewed by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
notions reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/26/14 4:57 PM
Last Updated: 5/23/14 11:32 AM
Rating : starstarstar
Approx. Price : $139
Bought from: Online Store
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Category:Irons / Steamers [ Reviews]
Update April 2014
I am editing my review to give this iron 3 stars. And because customer service resolved the issue. They gave me the option of sending the iron back at a discounted rate of $16 which I took. 2 Weeks later the iron was back at my house, all fixed. Apparently the digital control was broken, they fixed it. I love my iron and do recommend this to everyone.

My Father in law is visiting my India and he loves my iron too. He just bought one to take with him! That says something about it.

Update 3/3/2014

Well I jinxed it. A few days later I noticed that the iron was not getting hot enough and also the ready-steam feature stopped working. So I contacted the company and after being on hold for more than half hour, they told me to send it back for repair to Canada! Now I know that reviews had said that but I gave them the benefit of the doubt. It is going to cost me more than $30 to ship this iron to them and now I am believing all the horror stories I have heard that even after you send it there are no guarantees that your iron will come back fixed.

They are not going to pay for shipping and this whole thing now leaves a bad taste in my mouth. :( I really wanted to love this iron. But Sadly I don't recommend it.

Previous review
What is this notion used for?Ironing, pressing.

Did you get your money's worth after the purchase? I think I did. I was in the market for a new iron. I was getting tired of the el-cheapo irons I had been using for the past few years. I look at gravity feed but after reading glowing reviews here I decided to get it. I've had it for about 6 months and I do like it.

Is this notion easily available? I don't know about brick and mortar stores but it is widely available online. I bought mine from Amazon.

Would you recommend it to others? I do recommend it.

Here are some of the things I like about it.

1. Steam on even low temps.
2. Very Heavy which is nice but not so nice when you're pressing for long time. To overcome that, I don't fill it all the way with water and I feel that helps a lot.
3. Vertical steam - nice option to have but I don't use it much.
4. Steam Ready feature - this allows continuous steam.
5. Large water tank - can be good or bad.

The only thing I don't like is where the buttons are located. Its very easy to press them while ironing. Other than that, its a good iron for the money. If my budget allows maybe in the distant future, I would love to have their professional line of gravity feed steamers but for now, this is good for me.

4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Brine said...
Thank you, Deepika. This was just the type of information I need if I decide to take the plunge and replace my aging Rowenta.
2/27/14 2:42 PM
Lizz said...
I have the older V95 which needs to be replaced. I will be ordering a V100 very soon.
2/27/14 4:18 PM
nitsel said...
I've had this iron for over a year and love it! The only thing I don't like is that it's hard to see how much water is in the iron (or where the water has come to when refilling it). Great steam, never leaks, and the vertical steaming works very well.
2/28/14 11:47 PM
Sewcoastal said...
Love mine too; it never spits and supplies impressive amounts of pressurized steam at even low temps. The ability to override the auto shut off is nice too ;)
3/2/14 8:37 PM

Add a Notion Review    Read All Notion Reviews

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.