SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8944 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 306 times 
Reviewed by:popo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About popo
CA United States
Member since: 1/21/06
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/14 10:56 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo

Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8944
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, lined dress has yoke front, back zipper and narrow hem. Topstitching.
Pattern Sizing:
A5(6-8-10-12-14) I cut a size 12 but will probably cut a 10 next time.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Kind of. I added a V neck in the back.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't really look at them. I did my own thing since I was trying to copy an RTW dress. I mostly used my serger and my coverstitch.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It's a great pattern. I like the skirt and the bodice is nicely drafted.
Fabric Used:
I used a rayon knit fabric from Hancock. I found it on the clearance table for $3.98/yard.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut the bodice differently to make the chevron. I cut the back bodice in a V shape and added an exposed zipper. I added 3 inches to the skirt since it was it little too short for my taste. I used the Pattern Runway method
to sew the exposed zipper. Great method! The dress is fully lined with a 2 way stretch lining. I decided to give this Colette Pattern method a try and loved it. It is faster than my own method.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew it again. I like the colorblock version. I highly recommend it.
Conclusion:
I love the "bullseye dress" as my friends named it. I have a weakness for stripes. The original dress I got my inspiration from is from Dolce Vita and cost $242. Mine cost merely $15. More on my blog
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Texahoma said...
Wow! Your sewing skills are impeccable, great stripe matching! I like your dress better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:18 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice! Far better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:54 PM
Sharon48 said...
Wonderful! You did an amazing job!
6/30/14 0:29 AM
jenleeC said...
You did a great job recreating your inspiration dress! I have been eye-ing this pattern for a while now thinking it would be a flattering shape for a petite pear (that's me!).
6/30/14 3:34 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful work!
6/30/14 4:22 AM
Dilliander said...
Very clever!
6/30/14 5:01 AM
Baja Susana said...
Like you, stripes speak to me. And your Bull's Eye dress is smashing. You did a wonderful job. Your version is much prettier than the inspiration piece.
6/30/14 6:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress and very much like the RTW version, only better!
6/30/14 6:48 AM
Fran G said...
Very impressive! Such a great interpretation!
6/30/14 7:11 AM
VivianZ said...
Great job! You nailed it, and it looks good on.
6/30/14 7:18 AM
AnneM said...
Great job! And much more wearable than the too short RTW inspiration. You are making me think that I need to make a striped dress. :)
6/30/14 7:57 AM
Molliefran said...
Wow! I couldn't tell you from the model. Great job!
6/30/14 8:15 AM
mending maven said...
Like yours much better than the models version! Looks wonderful on you!
6/30/14 8:46 AM
Mary Bz. said...
Stellar stripe matching!!
6/30/14 9:15 AM
redside said...
Such amazing work! I love stripes and chevrons--this takes the cake.
6/30/14 9:15 AM
DorothyK said...
You nailed it. Better on you than the model. Thanks for the links.
6/30/14 11:07 AM
tlc246 said...
Bam, you did that! Really great dress.
6/30/14 1:47 PM
ntpolite said...
You nailed it! I love it. Good Job
6/30/14 2:26 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is adorable! Well done!
6/30/14 10:12 PM
popo said...
Thanks so much ladies!!! I am loving my new dress. JenleeC: the pattern will definitely work for a petite pear shape. Can't wait to see what you make!
7/1/14 8:53 AM
CraftAddict said...
Very nice!
7/1/14 9:39 AM
Brwnskngurl56 said...
Nice job!
7/1/14 11:00 AM
McCallPatternCo said...
Fantastic! You really worked our pattern here. Good job!
7/1/14 3:42 PM
beanchor said...
Wow!Wow! Wow!
7/1/14 10:53 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! This is PURE PERFECTION. :o) And I'll GUARANTEE you, yours is constructed better than the Dolce Vita dress, too. :o) The lining makes it extra special. Perfect length, too.
7/2/14 0:11 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Super cute!!!
7/2/14 12:29 PM
sew2little said...
Awesome dress!
7/2/14 2:45 PM
ashleyjewelry said...
You're so clever! Great job.
7/8/14 1:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 7012 vintage

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
You Can Make This Carla C Portrait Peasant

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now