SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8944 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 340 times 
Reviewed by:popo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About popo
CA United States
Member since: 1/21/06
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/14 10:56 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo

Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8944
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, lined dress has yoke front, back zipper and narrow hem. Topstitching.
Pattern Sizing:
A5(6-8-10-12-14) I cut a size 12 but will probably cut a 10 next time.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Kind of. I added a V neck in the back.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't really look at them. I did my own thing since I was trying to copy an RTW dress. I mostly used my serger and my coverstitch.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It's a great pattern. I like the skirt and the bodice is nicely drafted.
Fabric Used:
I used a rayon knit fabric from Hancock. I found it on the clearance table for $3.98/yard.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut the bodice differently to make the chevron. I cut the back bodice in a V shape and added an exposed zipper. I added 3 inches to the skirt since it was it little too short for my taste. I used the Pattern Runway method
to sew the exposed zipper. Great method! The dress is fully lined with a 2 way stretch lining. I decided to give this Colette Pattern method a try and loved it. It is faster than my own method.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew it again. I like the colorblock version. I highly recommend it.
Conclusion:
I love the "bullseye dress" as my friends named it. I have a weakness for stripes. The original dress I got my inspiration from is from Dolce Vita and cost $242. Mine cost merely $15. More on my blog
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Texahoma said...
Wow! Your sewing skills are impeccable, great stripe matching! I like your dress better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:18 PM
Sew Good said...
Nice! Far better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:54 PM
Sharon48 said...
Wonderful! You did an amazing job!
6/30/14 0:29 AM
jenleeC said...
You did a great job recreating your inspiration dress! I have been eye-ing this pattern for a while now thinking it would be a flattering shape for a petite pear (that's me!).
6/30/14 3:34 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful work!
6/30/14 4:22 AM
Dilliander said...
Very clever!
6/30/14 5:01 AM
Baja Susana said...
Like you, stripes speak to me. And your Bull's Eye dress is smashing. You did a wonderful job. Your version is much prettier than the inspiration piece.
6/30/14 6:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress and very much like the RTW version, only better!
6/30/14 6:48 AM
Fran G said...
Very impressive! Such a great interpretation!
6/30/14 7:11 AM
VivianZ said...
Great job! You nailed it, and it looks good on.
6/30/14 7:18 AM
AnneM said...
Great job! And much more wearable than the too short RTW inspiration. You are making me think that I need to make a striped dress. :)
6/30/14 7:57 AM
Molliefran said...
Wow! I couldn't tell you from the model. Great job!
6/30/14 8:15 AM
mending maven said...
Like yours much better than the models version! Looks wonderful on you!
6/30/14 8:46 AM
Mary Bz. said...
Stellar stripe matching!!
6/30/14 9:15 AM
redside said...
Such amazing work! I love stripes and chevrons--this takes the cake.
6/30/14 9:15 AM
DorothyK said...
You nailed it. Better on you than the model. Thanks for the links.
6/30/14 11:07 AM
tlc246 said...
Bam, you did that! Really great dress.
6/30/14 1:47 PM
ntpolite said...
You nailed it! I love it. Good Job
6/30/14 2:26 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is adorable! Well done!
6/30/14 10:12 PM
popo said...
Thanks so much ladies!!! I am loving my new dress. JenleeC: the pattern will definitely work for a petite pear shape. Can't wait to see what you make!
7/1/14 8:53 AM
CraftAddict said...
Very nice!
7/1/14 9:39 AM
Brwnskngurl56 said...
Nice job!
7/1/14 11:00 AM
McCallPatternCo said...
Fantastic! You really worked our pattern here. Good job!
7/1/14 3:42 PM
beanchor said...
Wow!Wow! Wow!
7/1/14 10:53 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! This is PURE PERFECTION. :o) And I'll GUARANTEE you, yours is constructed better than the Dolce Vita dress, too. :o) The lining makes it extra special. Perfect length, too.
7/2/14 0:11 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Super cute!!!
7/2/14 12:29 PM
sew2little said...
Awesome dress!
7/2/14 2:45 PM
ashleyjewelry said...
You're so clever! Great job.
7/8/14 1:07 AM
Dmd4106 said...
That is Haute!
9/8/14 6:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5975

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: sewingsill...

Review