SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8944 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:popo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About popo
CA United States
Member since: 1/21/06
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/14 10:56 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo

Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  Vogue Patterns: 8944 by popo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8944
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, lined dress has yoke front, back zipper and narrow hem. Topstitching.
Pattern Sizing:
A5(6-8-10-12-14) I cut a size 12 but will probably cut a 10 next time.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Kind of. I added a V neck in the back.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't really look at them. I did my own thing since I was trying to copy an RTW dress. I mostly used my serger and my coverstitch.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It's a great pattern. I like the skirt and the bodice is nicely drafted.
Fabric Used:
I used a rayon knit fabric from Hancock. I found it on the clearance table for $3.98/yard.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut the bodice differently to make the chevron. I cut the back bodice in a V shape and added an exposed zipper. I added 3 inches to the skirt since it was it little too short for my taste. I used the Pattern Runway method
to sew the exposed zipper. Great method! The dress is fully lined with a 2 way stretch lining. I decided to give this Colette Pattern method a try and loved it. It is faster than my own method.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will sew it again. I like the colorblock version. I highly recommend it.
Conclusion:
I love the "bullseye dress" as my friends named it. I have a weakness for stripes. The original dress I got my inspiration from is from Dolce Vita and cost $242. Mine cost merely $15. More on my blog
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dmd4106 said...
That is Haute!
9/8/14 6:25 PM
ashleyjewelry said...
You're so clever! Great job.
7/8/14 1:07 AM
sew2little said...
Awesome dress!
7/2/14 2:45 PM
Lauri Jean said...
Super cute!!!
7/2/14 12:29 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! This is PURE PERFECTION. :o) And I'll GUARANTEE you, yours is constructed better than the Dolce Vita dress, too. :o) The lining makes it extra special. Perfect length, too.
7/2/14 0:11 AM
beanchor said...
Wow!Wow! Wow!
7/1/14 10:53 PM
McCallPatternCo said...
Fantastic! You really worked our pattern here. Good job!
7/1/14 3:42 PM
Brwnskngurl56 said...
Nice job!
7/1/14 11:00 AM
CraftAddict said...
Very nice!
7/1/14 9:39 AM
popo said...
Thanks so much ladies!!! I am loving my new dress. JenleeC: the pattern will definitely work for a petite pear shape. Can't wait to see what you make!
7/1/14 8:53 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, this is adorable! Well done!
6/30/14 10:12 PM
ntpolite said...
You nailed it! I love it. Good Job
6/30/14 2:26 PM
tlc246 said...
Bam, you did that! Really great dress.
6/30/14 1:47 PM
DorothyK said...
You nailed it. Better on you than the model. Thanks for the links.
6/30/14 11:07 AM
redside said...
Such amazing work! I love stripes and chevrons--this takes the cake.
6/30/14 9:15 AM
Mary Bz. said...
Stellar stripe matching!!
6/30/14 9:15 AM
mending maven said...
Like yours much better than the models version! Looks wonderful on you!
6/30/14 8:46 AM
Molliefran said...
Wow! I couldn't tell you from the model. Great job!
6/30/14 8:15 AM
AnneM said...
Great job! And much more wearable than the too short RTW inspiration. You are making me think that I need to make a striped dress. :)
6/30/14 7:57 AM
VivianZ said...
Great job! You nailed it, and it looks good on.
6/30/14 7:18 AM
Fran G said...
Very impressive! Such a great interpretation!
6/30/14 7:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress and very much like the RTW version, only better!
6/30/14 6:48 AM
Baja Susana said...
Like you, stripes speak to me. And your Bull's Eye dress is smashing. You did a wonderful job. Your version is much prettier than the inspiration piece.
6/30/14 6:41 AM
Dilliander said...
Very clever!
6/30/14 5:01 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful work!
6/30/14 4:22 AM
jenleeC said...
You did a great job recreating your inspiration dress! I have been eye-ing this pattern for a while now thinking it would be a flattering shape for a petite pear (that's me!).
6/30/14 3:34 AM
Sharon48 said...
Wonderful! You did an amazing job!
6/30/14 0:29 AM
Sew Good said...
Nice! Far better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:54 PM
Texahoma said...
Wow! Your sewing skills are impeccable, great stripe matching! I like your dress better than the inspiration.
6/29/14 11:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9843 OOP

photo
by: SheBear032...

Review