SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8383 (Tunic)

Viewed 1908 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/05 9:58 AM
Last Updated:7/24/06 5:02 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
All the versions of this pattern are so lovely. I love the one pictures oroginally best. Lovely fabrics and fit.
9/11/06 10:07 AM
artist1lisa said...
You are looking very pretty in all 3 versions.You are going to make me try a caftan type pattern. Your fabric choices are awsome.
7/27/06 1:51 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This tunic works for you so well. Glad to see it's one of your wardrobe staples. I like the fit your new alterations got for you. Pretty silk crepe.
7/25/06 5:59 PM
Elemenopeo said...
The new versions are lovely.
7/25/06 12:17 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Looks great on you! Thanks for posting the multiple versions!
7/25/06 10:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
You look amazing in this outfit, so fresh and pulled together.
7/24/06 8:11 PM
bunz said...
They're all pretty. You really refined the fit on this -- the silk is gorgeous!
7/24/06 5:56 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a cool, but beautiful look for summer. It looks like it's a perfect fit.
7/24/06 5:20 PM
AnneM said...
That looks very nice. I have been seriously thinking about making myself a caftan-style dress to wear in the summer heat. Your's looks perfect.
7/12/05 7:42 AM
Linda E. said...
Great review love the tunic dress It would be cute with pants under it to get the ethnic look. I may have to add this to my list of pattern as if I need another pattern. It is really cute and fits you very well.
7/12/05 7:01 AM
CatherineN said...
You write helpful and informative reviews. This caftan looks nice on you. Your matching of patterns, many of which are lurking in my sewing room, with good fabrics is skillful.
7/12/05 6:43 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice looking, Irene. Thanks for the Burda Plus review.
7/12/05 6:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very flattering on you. Glad you had such success.
7/12/05 5:50 AM
mamamaia said...
This looks great on you Irene!!
7/12/05 2:13 AM
sherri2sew said...
This just went on my patterns to buy list because it looks so very nice on you. Good fabric choice, looks cool and comfortable. Definitely make more by this.
7/11/05 11:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the combination of style and fabric. Looks cool!
7/11/05 11:07 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for a very helpful review, and welcome to the wonderful world of Burda Plus. The patterns and styles are great, and they fit! Now you need to try one of their pants patterns- bet you will like those too:).
7/11/05 7:32 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful Irene :))) Very stylish. Love those Burda's.
7/11/05 6:49 PM
Rebecca D said...
Irene, this looks just great on you. I love the fabric choice and the styling on you. We are pushing 90+ degrees here today, I'm thinking you look mighty cool in it and how much more stylish than the awful pair of shorts I'm wearing right now.
7/11/05 6:11 PM
Tailypo said...
Caftan, tunic -- whatever you call it, it looks great. The fabric suits the project beautifully. I'm scared of Burda for some reason, but your useful, detailed review is tempting me to check them out.
7/11/05 5:01 PM
umjudis said...
When someone says caftan, I immediately think the '70's. But this is a very updated, very fresh look. Looks cool & comfortable. Great job!
7/11/05 2:49 PM
Amelie said...
This looks great on you. Love the fabric and the sleeve cutout detail.
7/11/05 2:02 PM
jlg said...
Looks great on you Irene. I really like this.
7/11/05 11:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Irene, this tunic/caftan looks great on you! Burda Plus is drafted for a C cup. The back shoulder darts are actually standard flat patternmaking, but most pattern companies usually rotate them to the back armhole (blech). I don't have a rounded back but I really like sewn shoulder darts too. Tops just hang/fit better when the darts are at the shoulders and not in your armpit. :)
7/11/05 11:40 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great Irene. Thanks for the info on Burda plus size patterns. I'm more like a D or DD so - with this type of pattern and looser fit - I might not do a FBA either. This looks like a fun pattern.
7/11/05 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

No Pattern Used One Yard Wonders Flouncy

photo
by: lvs2sew

Review
Simplicity 2358

photo
by: shalloon

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now