SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8383 (Tunic)

Viewed 1907 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/05 9:58 AM
Last Updated:7/24/06 5:02 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great Irene. Thanks for the info on Burda plus size patterns. I'm more like a D or DD so - with this type of pattern and looser fit - I might not do a FBA either. This looks like a fun pattern.
7/11/05 11:36 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Irene, this tunic/caftan looks great on you! Burda Plus is drafted for a C cup. The back shoulder darts are actually standard flat patternmaking, but most pattern companies usually rotate them to the back armhole (blech). I don't have a rounded back but I really like sewn shoulder darts too. Tops just hang/fit better when the darts are at the shoulders and not in your armpit. :)
7/11/05 11:40 AM
jlg said...
Looks great on you Irene. I really like this.
7/11/05 11:56 AM
Amelie said...
This looks great on you. Love the fabric and the sleeve cutout detail.
7/11/05 2:02 PM
umjudis said...
When someone says caftan, I immediately think the '70's. But this is a very updated, very fresh look. Looks cool & comfortable. Great job!
7/11/05 2:49 PM
Tailypo said...
Caftan, tunic -- whatever you call it, it looks great. The fabric suits the project beautifully. I'm scared of Burda for some reason, but your useful, detailed review is tempting me to check them out.
7/11/05 5:01 PM
Rebecca D said...
Irene, this looks just great on you. I love the fabric choice and the styling on you. We are pushing 90+ degrees here today, I'm thinking you look mighty cool in it and how much more stylish than the awful pair of shorts I'm wearing right now.
7/11/05 6:11 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wonderful Irene :))) Very stylish. Love those Burda's.
7/11/05 6:49 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for a very helpful review, and welcome to the wonderful world of Burda Plus. The patterns and styles are great, and they fit! Now you need to try one of their pants patterns- bet you will like those too:).
7/11/05 7:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the combination of style and fabric. Looks cool!
7/11/05 11:07 PM
sherri2sew said...
This just went on my patterns to buy list because it looks so very nice on you. Good fabric choice, looks cool and comfortable. Definitely make more by this.
7/11/05 11:54 PM
mamamaia said...
This looks great on you Irene!!
7/12/05 2:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks very flattering on you. Glad you had such success.
7/12/05 5:50 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice looking, Irene. Thanks for the Burda Plus review.
7/12/05 6:14 AM
CatherineN said...
You write helpful and informative reviews. This caftan looks nice on you. Your matching of patterns, many of which are lurking in my sewing room, with good fabrics is skillful.
7/12/05 6:43 AM
Linda E. said...
Great review love the tunic dress It would be cute with pants under it to get the ethnic look. I may have to add this to my list of pattern as if I need another pattern. It is really cute and fits you very well.
7/12/05 7:01 AM
AnneM said...
That looks very nice. I have been seriously thinking about making myself a caftan-style dress to wear in the summer heat. Your's looks perfect.
7/12/05 7:42 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a cool, but beautiful look for summer. It looks like it's a perfect fit.
7/24/06 5:20 PM
bunz said...
They're all pretty. You really refined the fit on this -- the silk is gorgeous!
7/24/06 5:56 PM
Rebecca D said...
You look amazing in this outfit, so fresh and pulled together.
7/24/06 8:11 PM
Amber in Norfolk said...
Looks great on you! Thanks for posting the multiple versions!
7/25/06 10:23 AM
Elemenopeo said...
The new versions are lovely.
7/25/06 12:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This tunic works for you so well. Glad to see it's one of your wardrobe staples. I like the fit your new alterations got for you. Pretty silk crepe.
7/25/06 5:59 PM
artist1lisa said...
You are looking very pretty in all 3 versions.You are going to make me try a caftan type pattern. Your fabric choices are awsome.
7/27/06 1:51 AM
Mufffet said...
All the versions of this pattern are so lovely. I love the one pictures oroginally best. Lovely fabrics and fit.
9/11/06 10:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now