SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1102 (MISSES' DRESS)

17 more reviews
Viewed 208 times 
Reviewed by:chrystalmckay
photo

 
 
About chrystalmckay
Member since: 10/22/13
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/14 10:30 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1102 by chrystalmckay

Vogue Patterns: 1102 by chrystalmckay  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1102
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Below mid-knee dress has close-fitting, self-lined, sleeveless bodice with back tie ends to hold bodice in place, flared skirt, raised waistline and back zipper.

Pattern Sizing: AA(6-8-10-12), EE(14-16-18-20) I cut a size 16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The bodice certainly does! I changed the skirt style.

Were the instructions easy to follow? No. Not at all. They are very confusing, especially because there are too many pattern pieces. They have both a full lining AND facings. Why? I omitted the facings and just used a full lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? LOVE this pattern. It is the first pattern I ever bought but it took me a full year to make it. The cutest summer dress, and this anchor fabric helps keep it playful with the open back. The ties in the back and the empire waist make me feel like a giant cupcake and I LOVE it!

Fabric Used: Blue 100% cotton with Anchors embroidered on.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1" Full bust adjustment
1/2" reduction to neckline twisted into dart
1/2" reduction to arm scythe twisted into dart
1" taken out of back middle seam
1/4" wedges removed from back pattern piece to reduce gaping
Used a gathered skirt instead of the suggested circle skirt.
Added in seam pockets.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I LOVE this pattern. It is so much fun to wear and makes me so happy. I received compliment after compliment on the style and the fabric. I am considering making this bodice using a floral chiffon and adding a maxi skirt with a thigh slit for a wedding I have mid-July. Can't decide if it would be too much though. hmmm....I'll certainly make it again soon though. The boat neck is so lovely!

Conclusion: Lovely!

More: http://seamslikechrystal.blogspot.ca/2014/06/ahoy-hoy-v1120.html
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
becca a said...
Great dress! I love how much you enjoy your photo shoots. It is fun to see you looking so happy with each new creation. Maybe I will finally get around to making this dress.
7/8/14 0:49 AM
Deepika said...
I can see why you received so many compliments. You look fabulous. The back is cute too.
7/3/14 1:18 PM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful--love the gathered skirt!! You are adorable twirling in your dress!!
7/1/14 9:52 PM
Darlenesews said...
Turn out nice. Like the pattern and back cut.
7/1/14 0:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-37

photo
by: 21wale

Review