SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6696 (Misses' Dresses and Slip)

14 more reviews
Viewed 318 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/14 6:39 AM
Last Updated:7/1/14 6:42 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6696 by mnitts

McCall's: 6696 by mnitts  McCall's: 6696 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6696
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Dresses have collar, collar band, self-lined yoke back, close-fitting bodice, and band. A: carriers, purchased belt. A,B: pleated skirt, side pockets. A,C: purchased bias tape finishes armholes. D: sleeve bands. C,D: semi-fitted through hips, side front pockets, stitched hems. Bias, close-fitting slip has shoulder straps and very narrow hem. A/B, C, D cup sizes.

I made view B.
Pattern Sizing:
8 - 24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the finished shape, with the pleated, full skirt and the waistband. Great for my figure. There is a fair amount of hand sewing involved in this dress: normally I would have topstitched everything, but with the linen it just didn't look right, so hand sewing it was. I wish I had added the belt loops.
Fabric Used:
100% washed linen with a great weight to it.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Minimal, although next time round I don't know if I would do a very slight FBA or just cut the next cup size up. The only changes I made were to add an inch to the length (though probably not necessary), and do a 1 inch sway back adjustment. Oh, and I removed 1.5 inches from the centre back pattern piece, which was then cut on the fold, thereby effectively eliminating 3 inches in total. I had to get creative again with the cutting layout, just squeezing this dress out of 3 metres of 137cm/ 55 inch wide fabric. I ended up cutting my waistband in 2, so it has a join in the centre back. I used the burrito method to attach the yoke, but did do all the other hand stitching as required.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would consider sewing this again; maybe the straight skirt view (view D).
Conclusion:
I have made the slip, now I have made the dress...and I am still not done with this pattern. Highly recommend, especially for curvy ladies.
More details and pics on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Congratulations! I like your dress a lot. You look attractive in this well-fitting classic style - dressed for anything. I hope you enjoy wearing it.
7/1/14 7:28 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very nice dress! You look great it in!
7/1/14 9:13 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is perfect on you!
7/1/14 9:15 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
7/1/14 9:37 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
It's so classic and crisp looking. I'm sure the hand sewing resulted in a beautifully finished dress! Love it.
7/1/14 11:11 AM
bananaoil said...
I tried a pattern like this once but without the gathered skirt, it looked nursey and I thought this style wasn't for me. The gathers make all the difference, your dress looks smart and feminine. Thanks for the review, I'm going to give this style another go.
7/1/14 11:37 AM
almost said...
What a great dress! You have inspired me to give this pattern a try! Looks very smart on you....good work!
7/1/14 1:23 PM
almost said...

7/1/14 1:28 PM
nicegirl said...
This is so flattering! You definitely need to make it again. I like the yoke and back pleat detail in the back, very RTW.
7/1/14 2:08 PM
Huntwoman said...
Your dress fits you beautifully. Lovely dress in a gorgeous color.
7/1/14 6:20 PM
UglyCute said...
Very flattering.
7/2/14 0:00 AM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful fit.
7/2/14 0:17 AM
degnancy said...
This is gorgeous and suits you perfectly. The color, the style and the fit are all spot on.
7/2/14 0:58 AM
eirenep said...
The dress is one of the most flattering garments on you! Nice work!
7/2/14 7:49 AM
TJSEWS said...
Truly a gorgeous dress. I love it and you look fabulous!
7/2/14 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2012-16

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now