SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6696 (Misses' Dresses and Slip)

15 more reviews
Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/14 6:39 AM
Last Updated:7/1/14 6:42 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6696 by mnitts

McCall's: 6696 by mnitts  McCall's: 6696 by mnitts  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6696
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by mnitts

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Dresses have collar, collar band, self-lined yoke back, close-fitting bodice, and band. A: carriers, purchased belt. A,B: pleated skirt, side pockets. A,C: purchased bias tape finishes armholes. D: sleeve bands. C,D: semi-fitted through hips, side front pockets, stitched hems. Bias, close-fitting slip has shoulder straps and very narrow hem. A/B, C, D cup sizes.

I made view B.
Pattern Sizing:
8 - 24
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the finished shape, with the pleated, full skirt and the waistband. Great for my figure. There is a fair amount of hand sewing involved in this dress: normally I would have topstitched everything, but with the linen it just didn't look right, so hand sewing it was. I wish I had added the belt loops.
Fabric Used:
100% washed linen with a great weight to it.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Minimal, although next time round I don't know if I would do a very slight FBA or just cut the next cup size up. The only changes I made were to add an inch to the length (though probably not necessary), and do a 1 inch sway back adjustment. Oh, and I removed 1.5 inches from the centre back pattern piece, which was then cut on the fold, thereby effectively eliminating 3 inches in total. I had to get creative again with the cutting layout, just squeezing this dress out of 3 metres of 137cm/ 55 inch wide fabric. I ended up cutting my waistband in 2, so it has a join in the centre back. I used the burrito method to attach the yoke, but did do all the other hand stitching as required.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I would consider sewing this again; maybe the straight skirt view (view D).
Conclusion:
I have made the slip, now I have made the dress...and I am still not done with this pattern. Highly recommend, especially for curvy ladies.
More details and pics on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TJSEWS said...
Truly a gorgeous dress. I love it and you look fabulous!
7/2/14 11:36 AM
eirenep said...
The dress is one of the most flattering garments on you! Nice work!
7/2/14 7:49 AM
degnancy said...
This is gorgeous and suits you perfectly. The color, the style and the fit are all spot on.
7/2/14 0:58 AM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful fit.
7/2/14 0:17 AM
UglyCute said...
Very flattering.
7/2/14 0:00 AM
Huntwoman said...
Your dress fits you beautifully. Lovely dress in a gorgeous color.
7/1/14 6:20 PM
nicegirl said...
This is so flattering! You definitely need to make it again. I like the yoke and back pleat detail in the back, very RTW.
7/1/14 2:08 PM
almost said...

7/1/14 1:28 PM
almost said...
What a great dress! You have inspired me to give this pattern a try! Looks very smart on you....good work!
7/1/14 1:23 PM
bananaoil said...
I tried a pattern like this once but without the gathered skirt, it looked nursey and I thought this style wasn't for me. The gathers make all the difference, your dress looks smart and feminine. Thanks for the review, I'm going to give this style another go.
7/1/14 11:37 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
It's so classic and crisp looking. I'm sure the hand sewing resulted in a beautifully finished dress! Love it.
7/1/14 11:11 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
7/1/14 9:37 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is perfect on you!
7/1/14 9:15 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very nice dress! You look great it in!
7/1/14 9:13 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations! I like your dress a lot. You look attractive in this well-fitting classic style - dressed for anything. I hope you enjoy wearing it.
7/1/14 7:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

StyleArc Debra Zebra Top

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
New Look 6933

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

More Info