SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B5051 (Lifestyle Wardrobe)

Viewed 302 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/14 5:38 PM
Last Updated:7/1/14 5:55 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: B5051 by Kellie R.

Butterick: B5051 by Kellie R.  
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Fabric:Rayon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress, Skirt and Pants. I made the dress.

Pattern Sizing: Misses 6-20. I made a 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but I'm not the same shape as svelt illustrated models!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that it was an easy pattern. The instructions were generally good and it was quick. The bias cut is drapey and feminine, but you need to pick fabric pattern carefully for that.

I didn't like that this is drafted for a person with much more of a stick figure.

Fabric Used: 100% Rayon

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I am curvy, sort of hour glass with a little pear thrown in for good measure. The pattern fit in the hips, was a bit big in the waist and HUGE in the center back. I'm narrow in my back measurement, I'll give it that. BUT, even with that taken into account, the back swam on me.

Therefore, I had to remove/cut the excess in center back. This was a simple fix with a center back zipper.

The other thing I did was UNDERSTITCH the front neckline and bodice side to prevent the facing from rolling. I hate rolling and I am surprised that more patterns don't include this step. My second picture shows a close up of the understitching....


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I probably won't sew the dress again. I'd recommend it if you have a svelt, straight figure. If you are pear shaped this is definitely NOT for you and I'd recommend a pattern drafted for that shape rather than alter this one.

Conclusion: I wanted to make a dress for my upcoming vacation to Spain. I specifically sought out a pattern that was quick and fun for the summer exotic or pool side setting.

Therefore, I KNEW the neckline was low and plunging. I *could* have added to the bust to cover a bit more (though keep the deep V plunge). I did a "twist and bendover" test and the despite showing a lot of boob, the fabric does not gape open to show anything. It stays in place! I was in an edgy, sexy mood and threw caution to wind anticipating vacation.

I will wear this on vacation. It's Andalucia, Spain in summer afterall. I will wear it on future beach vacations in a resort setting... I may wear it around the house for a pool party with close friends... I will NOT wear it around town.

I wanted something quick and fun. It's both, but not for the feint hearted and I certainly need to be in the right mood/setting to wear it.

AND, notice the drink in hand, toasting the new PR website!! ‪#ŭiheartpr‬

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Great way to describe dealing with the plunging neckline - edgy and sexy yes but also very wearable in the situations you describe. Enjoy Spain and cheers!
7/2/14 10:08 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you ladies! I'm glad it's not a wadder!
7/2/14 10:02 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I like it and especially for beach side wear!
7/2/14 9:07 AM
Deepika said...
Kellie you look beautiful in this dress. Despite the problems you had, it looks great.
7/2/14 0:14 AM
Re Becca said...
Uhm, wow. That is one plunging neckline. You are so sweet and tactful, I love the way you describe it! Thank you for the informative review. You have an adorable figure, don't feel bad because you got a poorly drafted pattern. I would love to vacation in places where this dress is appropriate, Have a wonderful time in Spain!
7/1/14 6:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Other 0000: Threads Mag Online

photo
by: ryan's mom

Review
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now