SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5890 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Top and Tunic)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/14 9:29 PM
Last Updated:7/8/14 0:58 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5890 by HDWen

Butterick: 5890 by HDWen  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5890
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses Petite Top and Tunic (loose-fitting through bust) has tuck variations, and back zipper.

Pattern Sizing: Sizes included 6 - 14 -- I made a size 14, and Version B

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Almost all the instructions are very clear, except when it came to the peter pan collar! Professor Pincushion has a video tutorial on THIS exact pattern that helped with the placement but missed showing how to do the attachment to the garment.

After pinning several times, it is easier than I thought to get this right. Baste it, take pins out and you'll see less "pinches" and tucks than the attachment feels like it will sew up like. Be sure to put the "blouse" section down against the pressure feet so that helps take up the bit of extra fabric against the smaller collar stand.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This pattern gave me hope that in general they are becoming easier to read and have better details. In this pattern I really liked how clear most of the instructions were, and this even walked you through double seams (or overcasting). The sleeve construction of View B, which I did are finished inside and many other construction techniques helped make this top sew up like a high quality garment.
The zipper instructions in this pattern are worth the price alone!! It made putting in a regular (not invisible) zipper EASY. How many patterns do more than say insert zipper per the Zipper instructions? This one walked you through to the BEST results I've done in a long time.

Fabric Used: 100% Cotton - Quilting cotton on both the top and the contrast colored collar

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Being an older woman I wanted the longer sleeves of version C (about a 2" difference).

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I want to make at least 2 more in the various styles. It was fun to sew and the details make the top look stylish and nicely finished inside and out. I would highly recommend this.

Conclusion: I can't say enough about how detailed the instructions were - Sans the peter pan collar. That said, it could just be me as I've not sewn many collars and I'm a visual learner. The instructions were there, but to be able to see someone attach the collar helped make it clear to me. I love my new top and think it came out great. The tucks help bring in the waist (or the illusion of a waist), without adding bust darts that can be fussy to get the right placement. If you've been wanting a peplum top THIS is the pattern!
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Great review! I think this top is super cute, and I hope you do make more. Nice job :-)
7/4/14 0:05 AM
jannw said...
Cute top and a pretty fabric!! Congrats on the collar..it looks as if it lays very well.
7/4/14 0:23 AM
Judy Kski said...
What a beautiful job you've done with this top. Your work on the collar is perfect.
7/4/14 1:45 AM
petro said...
Pretty fabric, the waist detail is a winner.Your collar is beautifully even - not the easiest thing to achieve!
7/4/14 2:34 AM
crazygrad said...
I like yours better than theirs! (And why does the model look like she has to use the bathroom??)
7/4/14 1:38 PM
HDWen said...
haha she does look like it's time to make a dash for the restroom! Thank you, very happy with this cute pattern and the collar
7/5/14 3:09 PM
Mother Thing said...
You did a great job on the review and the top - such a pretty fabric combo. I have this pattern and plan to try it sometime.
7/7/14 5:32 PM
Cherilynn said...
Very nice top, I just got this pattern & can't wait to start it.
7/9/14 10:55 AM
cerulean said...
It's a lovely blouse, HD!!! I love the print!
7/10/14 10:13 AM
Margaret said...
Cute top! Nice work on the collar and everything else!
7/13/14 8:20 PM
LadyoftheCloth said...
Your top is beautiful, deliciously feminine, and the collar perfectly made.
8/6/14 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Silhouette Patterns 500

photo
by: JEF

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now