SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Viewed 122 times 
Reviewed by:ashleyjewelry
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ashleyjewelry
TX USA
Member since: 11/9/09
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/4/14 12:28 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2443 by ashleyjewelry

Simplicity: 2443 by ashleyjewelry  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2443
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by ashleyjewelry

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' dress sewing pattern with knit bodice and jacket or vest by Cynthia Rowley. See video tab for Cynthia Rowley fashion show footage!

Pattern Sizing:
6-8-10-12-14
I cut a size 12. It was hard to determine finished garment measurements because of all the bodice patten pieces, but the fit was pretty good for me.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, I love this design!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I changed up the construction and used my own methods in places. I left out the zipper and interfacing. I used a zig zag stitch around the curves on the bodice, which was the only tricky part of this pattern. It isn't perfect but I'm happy with the outcome. I used my serger everywhere that I could.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the design. I love that It is great for mixing patterns. I can see mixing a stripe and floral or a solid with a print. It is a great summer dress!

Fabric Used:
The floral is from Joann and was part of one of their Project Runway collections. I purchased it over a year ago from the clearance section. The gray is another knit that I found to contrast with the floral.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Left out zipper and interfacing. Took up about 1" at shoulder seam. Took out about 3" at waist, tapering out to nothing under arms. I should have shortened the back bodice, which I typically do.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I would use this again and I recommend it to anyone with some experience sewing knits.

Conclusion:
I love this dress! Glad I finally got around to making it. More pictures on my blog here.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TJSEWS said...
Love your dress. It fits you beautifully! Great job!
7/4/14 9:47 PM
AuntieShel said...
So cute!!!
7/4/14 10:40 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty dress!
7/5/14 5:43 AM
popo said...
Love it! I've had this pattern for such a long time and never got around to making it.
7/5/14 11:04 AM
ashleyjewelry said...
Thanks everyone! Popo you should make it! It's is really cute and fun to wear.
7/8/14 1:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6024

photo
by: Sewlful

Review