SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Viewed 127 times 
Reviewed by:ashleyjewelry
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ashleyjewelry
TX USA
Member since: 11/9/09
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/4/14 12:28 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2443 by ashleyjewelry

Simplicity: 2443 by ashleyjewelry  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2443
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by ashleyjewelry

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' dress sewing pattern with knit bodice and jacket or vest by Cynthia Rowley. See video tab for Cynthia Rowley fashion show footage!

Pattern Sizing:
6-8-10-12-14
I cut a size 12. It was hard to determine finished garment measurements because of all the bodice patten pieces, but the fit was pretty good for me.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, I love this design!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I changed up the construction and used my own methods in places. I left out the zipper and interfacing. I used a zig zag stitch around the curves on the bodice, which was the only tricky part of this pattern. It isn't perfect but I'm happy with the outcome. I used my serger everywhere that I could.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the design. I love that It is great for mixing patterns. I can see mixing a stripe and floral or a solid with a print. It is a great summer dress!

Fabric Used:
The floral is from Joann and was part of one of their Project Runway collections. I purchased it over a year ago from the clearance section. The gray is another knit that I found to contrast with the floral.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Left out zipper and interfacing. Took up about 1" at shoulder seam. Took out about 3" at waist, tapering out to nothing under arms. I should have shortened the back bodice, which I typically do.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I would use this again and I recommend it to anyone with some experience sewing knits.

Conclusion:
I love this dress! Glad I finally got around to making it. More pictures on my blog here.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ashleyjewelry said...
Thanks everyone! Popo you should make it! It's is really cute and fun to wear.
7/8/14 1:06 AM
popo said...
Love it! I've had this pattern for such a long time and never got around to making it.
7/5/14 11:04 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty dress!
7/5/14 5:43 AM
AuntieShel said...
So cute!!!
7/4/14 10:40 PM
TJSEWS said...
Love your dress. It fits you beautifully! Great job!
7/4/14 9:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 1617

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now