SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8292 (Coat)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1358 times 
Reviewed by:Laurieo
photo

 
 
About Laurieo
VA USA
Member since: 5/8/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/05 5:52 PM
Last Updated:7/12/05 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 $11.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
I think the coat looks wonderful. ...even if it is 90 degrees here today. :-( Regarding the lower shoulder: Keep it simple and use a thicker shoulder pad on the low side. You can do that with just about any garment and it might solve some fitting problems the easy way. When I make pants for my mother, I make the waist level on the left side 5/8" higher than the right, and hem the left leg 1/4" longer. It's easy and it eliminates the tell-tale drag lines that indicate a problem area. Please don't let a sleeve keep you from sewing more; thanks for the review.
9/16/05 9:53 PM
Dove P. said...
You should take a course with Cynthia Guffey or get her book "Cynthia's Precision Measuring & Pattern Alterations. She deals with shoulder slope. You have to lower the armhole after you lower the shoulder and then you won't have a problem with the arms, etc. that you are having. See www.cynthiaguffey.com. Maybe she is giving a course somewhere near you. If so, take it.
9/16/05 8:10 PM
annsew65 said...
Laurie, You sound like a true perfectionist at heart! I'm not sure why we become that way with our own sewing, but I find myself obsessing about things also! I have ongoing fit issues due to my back problems and just about the time I get it figured out, my shape changes a little more! Your coat really is very nice looking - you should be especially proud since it's been so long since you've sewn. Get yourself a gorgeous silk scarf to wear around your neck to prevent the scratchiness and wear that coat with pride!
7/14/05 1:58 AM
Laurieo said...
Thanks so much, everyone, for all your supportive comments and suggestions. It's so easy sometimes when sewing to get too emotionally invested in a garment. What I find unacceptable in my sewing projects, wouldn't faze my in the least when buying RTW. Thanks again for all your help!
7/13/05 8:06 PM
Jill Giard said...
I think your coat looks great! I too applaud your ambitious reentry into sewing. Welcome and I look forward to more reviews from you.
7/13/05 6:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
What an ambitious foray back into sewing! Your muslin coat looks very wearable to me. Perhaps a scarf could help with the scratchy neck. With your persistence and talent--and maybe a little help from your friends--your fitting issues are sure to be overcome.
7/13/05 5:56 AM
AnneM said...
That looks like such a great fit in the picture. So even if you don't think the fit is perfect, it looks great. Hopefully it is still comfortable. (I really like your buttons also.) I also like Debbie's suggestion on using two different size shoulder pads; that can often solve the problem. Ann Chafin is experienced also, and she had a bunch of good hints in her comment.
7/13/05 4:40 AM
tigger said...
Great coat - looks very RTW! thanks for the review!
7/13/05 4:25 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Welcome to PR. Coat looks great. As Debbie said, extra shoulder pad on the lower shoulder should fix the problem for outerwear.
7/12/05 11:30 PM
annsew65 said...
Laurieo, I think your coat turned out lovely, despite all your problems with the sleeve. I had a similar problem with a suit jacket I made recently. I have to do a rounded back adjustment (scoliosis) and had trouble with my sleeves not doing right and I finally ended up rotating the sleeves toward the back (shoulder dot on sleeve ended up about 3/4" toward the back). The next time you have a problem, you might try it. I had those sleeves in and out of that jacket so many times I just about gave up! I finally put the jacket on my dressform and sat and analyzed the wrinkles and decided that I'd give it 1 more try and it worked. About your pants, you probably have a high hip and this is causing your difference in pant leg length. You can adjust them from above the waist and it will keep the legs even without diagonal wrinkles anywhere. Been there - done that!! By the way, I use two different thickness shoulder pads to even out my shoulders. I think it makes the shoulder difference less noticeable. Some things you don't want to fit to - you try to camouflage.
7/12/05 10:54 PM
Melody said...
Laurie, I really appreciated reading this review. I have this pattern and it's always good to hear in advance about any challenges one may have had with a pattern. I think your coat looks really great and thank you for the review.
7/12/05 8:51 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this coat looks great on you. I see what you mean about the shoulder - but - pay attention to Debbie - she's right about starting a thread. You might get the info you need from some of the great sewers on this site.
7/12/05 7:25 PM
Debbie Cook said...
The coat is lovely, and thanks for taking the time to write your first review! I see what you mean about your shoulder, but I wouldn't have noticed if you hadn't mentioned it. I think I'd be inclined to just use a bigger shoulder pad on that side for coats/jackets/collared blouses. For pants, there are adjustments you can make for a "high hip." How about if you join us over on the Message Board and start a thread.
7/12/05 6:33 PM
Laurieo said...
I also posted a picture of the back.. maybe the problem will be clearer with the back view. Thanks for the compliments! I liked the color too, but it is way too scratchy.
7/12/05 6:23 PM
Lori V said...
I agree with Jennifer, your coat is lovely. The style is perfect.
7/12/05 6:16 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I really love your coat! The style and the color are very pretty on you. It is hard to see what needs to be adjusted in the picture. Could you post the other pictures, please?
7/12/05 6:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info
Japanese Pattern Books Akiko Mano: Pattern D

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review