SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Weekender Dress Kit (Weekender Dress Kit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 203 times 
Reviewed by:MissMarnie
photo

 
 
About MissMarniestarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/9/11
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/14 4:07 PM
Last Updated:7/7/14 4:58 PM
Project Photo:Other: Weekender Dress Kit by MissMarnie

Other: Weekender Dress Kit by MissMarnie  Other: Weekender Dress Kit by MissMarnie  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by MissMarnie

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: "With three-quarter length sleeves and a mock wrap front, the Weekender Knit Dress is the perfect transitional dress for any season. Made in cotton jersey, the dress sews up in no time and features a contrasting hem and neck band for a fun color block look. The dress slips over your head (no zippers!) and has a relaxed fit that is flattering to every figure. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced sewist, this sewing kit includes the pattern and all of the fabric needed make this stylish dress in only a few hours!"

Pattern Sizing: Bust sizes 28-40".

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?This is not a hard pattern but, despite the description, I probably wouldn't try this pattern as a beginner. The instructions have no layout guide for cutting the pieces and no pictures at all, just text. But it really does come together quickly and the fabric in the kit is very nice. As far as I can tell this pattern is only available with the kit, right now, and it's too bad that it only goes up to a size 40" bust since I think this would look great on woman of all sizes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This is a very cute take on the wrap dress and I love the empire waist. The bands around the neck, waist and sleeve are slightly shorter than their corresponding bodice pieces to help them snug in nicely.

The pattern doesn't list waist measurements, which I would have found helpful. I ended up having to take out 1" of fabric on each side, starting just above the waistband and tapering out to the hips and I had to take another 1.5" out at the lower back. Before I did that, the dress just formed a straight line from the upper back to the fullest part of my butt and it wasn't at all flattering for my figure. Your mileage, of course, my vary. I think if you look at the pattern photo you'll see some rippling at the waistband. That's fixed if you take out the extra ease in the waist.

This is a brand new kit/pattern and I should mention that I found a couple of minor problems with the pattern. I've contacted Craftsy and will try to remember to come back here and edit my review, if they update the pattern, but if you plan to sew this pattern, make note that you should cut 2 sleeve bands and only 1 waistband. The numbers are reversed on the pattern pieces. The bigger issue is the back hem band. The pattern piece is 1.75" (3.5" total when the piece is cut out on the fold) too long to match up to the back dress. You can simply cut the 1.75" off from the side that is not on the fold and it will be correct. The front hem band is correctly drafted, so it's just that one piece. You'll also want to move the notches on the back dress hem, over 3/8" so it will align with the notches on the hem band. The band is cut on the fold and the dress back is seamed, and the seam allowance difference hasn't been accounted for in the notch placement.

Fabric Used: Cotton/spandex blend provided in the kit.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The only change I made is to take out the ease in the waist.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I definitely would sew it again and definitely would recommend it. The minor errata I mentioned shouldn't be show stoppers even for relative beginners. At worst, you might have to cut down a piece a little to fit correctly. No special drafting skills are needed.

Conclusion: I think this is cute cute cute. If I make it again, I'll probably shorten it a little and I might shorten the bodice just slightly so the band is a little higher, but I think it's a fun, day dress and I'm glad I gave it try. The current instructions have no visuals so it might be a bit of a challenge for a total beginner but if you take your time, it's comes together really quickly and looks great.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FromHeadToFoot said...
Nice dress. Don't know if I'll sew it, but your review has the heads' up I appreciate seeing in a review. Thanks
7/7/14 6:09 PM
Baja Susana said...
Love this dress, it looks wonderful on you. Nice review.
7/8/14 0:44 AM
Darlenesews said...
Lovely
7/8/14 10:50 PM
Darlenesews said...
Lovely
7/8/14 10:52 PM
MissMarnie said...
Thank you all.
7/9/14 7:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now