SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8932 (Misses' Jacket and Vest)

5 more reviews
Viewed 282 times 
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo

 
 
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/14 11:33 PM
Last Updated:7/8/14 9:51 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict

Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict  Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8932
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by CraftAddict

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
MISSES' JACKET AND VEST: Semi-fitted, unlined jacket or vest has raised neckline, seam detail and shaped hemline. A: front-button closing. A and B: two-piece sleeves. B and C: raw edge finish, seams stitched on right side of fabric, and front snap closing. I made View A

Pattern Sizing:
I cut size 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes I thought the instructions were pretty clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the lines in the jacket and the neckline and hemlines

Fabric Used:
duchess satin
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 1 inch to the length of the sleeves. I also fully lined the jacket. I mistakenly removed my button placement markings before I sewed the buttons on. So I just kinda fudged it. I overlapped the jacket and pinned it in place. So the jacket is not as fitted as it's intended to be.
EDIT 8-JUL-14: I forgot that I added 1.5 inches to the length of the jacket. Because the back hem was so high, I wanted to make sure that it at least covered the top of my skirt.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I wouldn't mind having this in a less dressy fabric. Yes I would recommend it. This is a stunning jacket.

Conclusion:
I needed this ensemble for a special occasion. I really felt like I "settled" on my fabric because I couldn't find what I really wanted. But in the end I got a boatload of compliments when I wore it.

More details on my blog Inez's Craft Room
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbusy888 said...
I am not surprised about the compliments you definitely deserved them. the back detail is enough incentive for me to try this
7/8/14 0:59 AM
supizoo said...
This is a gorgeous outfit.
7/8/14 4:57 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Very flattering on you!
7/8/14 9:06 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks!
7/8/14 9:52 AM
hopflower said...
Very nice jacket and it fits you well.
7/8/14 9:57 AM
Delia Wilson said...
Great outfit. Absolutely gorgeous
7/8/14 10:59 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Looking good, lady. I have this pattern too and plan to try it some day.
7/8/14 1:38 PM
JTink said...
Very pretty outfit :-)
7/8/14 4:28 PM
Arted said...
Very nice color and I like the fit. Great job.
7/8/14 5:22 PM
style inspired said...
Fantastic looking jacket and you in the outfit!
7/8/14 8:37 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks everyone!
7/8/14 9:41 PM
butterflyfly said...
Great job!
7/9/14 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review