SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8932 (Misses' Jacket and Vest)

6 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo

 
 
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/14 11:33 PM
Last Updated:7/8/14 9:51 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict

Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict  Vogue Patterns: 8932 by CraftAddict  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8932
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by CraftAddict

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
Pattern Description:
MISSES' JACKET AND VEST: Semi-fitted, unlined jacket or vest has raised neckline, seam detail and shaped hemline. A: front-button closing. A and B: two-piece sleeves. B and C: raw edge finish, seams stitched on right side of fabric, and front snap closing. I made View A

Pattern Sizing:
I cut size 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes I thought the instructions were pretty clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the lines in the jacket and the neckline and hemlines

Fabric Used:
duchess satin
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 1 inch to the length of the sleeves. I also fully lined the jacket. I mistakenly removed my button placement markings before I sewed the buttons on. So I just kinda fudged it. I overlapped the jacket and pinned it in place. So the jacket is not as fitted as it's intended to be.
EDIT 8-JUL-14: I forgot that I added 1.5 inches to the length of the jacket. Because the back hem was so high, I wanted to make sure that it at least covered the top of my skirt.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I wouldn't mind having this in a less dressy fabric. Yes I would recommend it. This is a stunning jacket.

Conclusion:
I needed this ensemble for a special occasion. I really felt like I "settled" on my fabric because I couldn't find what I really wanted. But in the end I got a boatload of compliments when I wore it.

More details on my blog Inez's Craft Room
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
butterflyfly said...
Great job!
7/9/14 6:32 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks everyone!
7/8/14 9:41 PM
style inspired said...
Fantastic looking jacket and you in the outfit!
7/8/14 8:37 PM
Arted said...
Very nice color and I like the fit. Great job.
7/8/14 5:22 PM
JTink said...
Very pretty outfit :-)
7/8/14 4:28 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Looking good, lady. I have this pattern too and plan to try it some day.
7/8/14 1:38 PM
Delia Wilson said...
Great outfit. Absolutely gorgeous
7/8/14 10:59 AM
hopflower said...
Very nice jacket and it fits you well.
7/8/14 9:57 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks!
7/8/14 9:52 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Very flattering on you!
7/8/14 9:06 AM
supizoo said...
This is a gorgeous outfit.
7/8/14 4:57 AM
sewbusy888 said...
I am not surprised about the compliments you definitely deserved them. the back detail is enough incentive for me to try this
7/8/14 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Butterick 5889

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now