SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3559 (Dress and Top)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 328 times 
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/14 0:08 AM
Last Updated:7/8/14 0:13 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3559 by Melwyk

Kwik Sew: 3559 by Melwyk  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3559
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' pull-over dresses have scoop neckline finished with facing and gathers on front at yoke seam. View A has full length dolman sleeves. View B has extended shoulders forming cap sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-XL (I made M)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except for length.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Great KwikSew instructions, very clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the yoke and gathers with the short sleeve -- almost exactly like one of my favourite shirts that I wore to death a few years back.

Fabric Used:
A very thin, soft knit, not sure of content -- it doesn't like the iron very much...

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut it to tunic length because 1. I had limited stash fabric and 2. wanted to copy that old shirt. Also, I didn't use facings on the neckline -- didn't think this fabric would look very good with facings.

I did find that the neckline was a little more "scoop" than I'd expected -- I like it but it's lower on me than on the pattern envelope model -- while it fits well, I might pinch an inch out of centre front if I was making it again out of a light fabric like this one.
Only have to think about this at work...

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will definitely sew this again. It fits great and is so easy to put together.

Conclusion:
This gave me exactly what I was looking for, and the fit is wonderful -- love it. More blog talk here.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dakotasews said...
This is perfect timing! I was just looking up this pattern last night to see if there were any reviews.
7/8/14 1:02 AM
AZGreyGirl said...
I think your version is much cuter than the dress. Well done!
7/8/14 1:22 AM
supizoo said...
Oh, I had a top similar to yours which I wore to death as well! Lovely top, soft and drapey and, well, just lovely.
7/8/14 5:48 AM
catwoman7 said...
nice job! I can see it would be comfy too.
7/8/14 5:51 AM
crazygrad said...
Nice!
7/8/14 8:54 AM
Melwyk said...
Thanks everyone -- this is a really nice pattern. Dakotasews, you should make it up!
7/8/14 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice!
7/8/14 11:21 AM
petro said...
Great little tunic top, destined to be a wardrobe staple I think.
7/9/14 2:23 AM
sewin said...
Really cute as a top. Good job.
7/10/14 2:08 PM
marec said...
Another great pattern find! Love this neckline also.
7/13/14 8:22 AM
jjhallum said...
Cute top - I really like the neckline. Great job!
7/14/14 9:43 AM
caroljeancarmichael said...
The neckline is really flattering for you. You could use it on other tops or dresses as well.
7/16/14 11:08 PM
slvrsage said...
I like your top better than the dress! The neckline looks just the right scoop, to me.
7/25/14 10:11 AM
Keyboard Carol said...
Very nice top and review. I'm looking for pattern/ideas to make for my daughter that are tried and true. Thanks for the good review!
7/28/14 11:26 PM
Melwyk said...
Just an extra note: I've already worn this at least 10 times this month. It's a workhorse! Great design.
7/31/14 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Other 07072008

photo
by: julliams

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6353

photo
by: beanchor

Review