SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3559 (Dress and Top)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:Melwyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Melwyk
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/14 0:08 AM
Last Updated:7/8/14 0:13 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3559 by Melwyk

Kwik Sew: 3559 by Melwyk  
Pattern Photo: Kwik Sew 3559
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' pull-over dresses have scoop neckline finished with facing and gathers on front at yoke seam. View A has full length dolman sleeves. View B has extended shoulders forming cap sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:
XS-XL (I made M)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except for length.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Great KwikSew instructions, very clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the yoke and gathers with the short sleeve -- almost exactly like one of my favourite shirts that I wore to death a few years back.

Fabric Used:
A very thin, soft knit, not sure of content -- it doesn't like the iron very much...

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I cut it to tunic length because 1. I had limited stash fabric and 2. wanted to copy that old shirt. Also, I didn't use facings on the neckline -- didn't think this fabric would look very good with facings.

I did find that the neckline was a little more "scoop" than I'd expected -- I like it but it's lower on me than on the pattern envelope model -- while it fits well, I might pinch an inch out of centre front if I was making it again out of a light fabric like this one.
Only have to think about this at work...

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will definitely sew this again. It fits great and is so easy to put together.

Conclusion:
This gave me exactly what I was looking for, and the fit is wonderful -- love it. More blog talk here.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Melwyk said...
Just an extra note: I've already worn this at least 10 times this month. It's a workhorse! Great design.
7/31/14 5:41 PM
Keyboard Carol said...
Very nice top and review. I'm looking for pattern/ideas to make for my daughter that are tried and true. Thanks for the good review!
7/28/14 11:26 PM
slvrsage said...
I like your top better than the dress! The neckline looks just the right scoop, to me.
7/25/14 10:11 AM
caroljeancarmichael said...
The neckline is really flattering for you. You could use it on other tops or dresses as well.
7/16/14 11:08 PM
jjhallum said...
Cute top - I really like the neckline. Great job!
7/14/14 9:43 AM
marec said...
Another great pattern find! Love this neckline also.
7/13/14 8:22 AM
sewin said...
Really cute as a top. Good job.
7/10/14 2:08 PM
petro said...
Great little tunic top, destined to be a wardrobe staple I think.
7/9/14 2:23 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice!
7/8/14 11:21 AM
Melwyk said...
Thanks everyone -- this is a really nice pattern. Dakotasews, you should make it up!
7/8/14 9:33 AM
crazygrad said...
Nice!
7/8/14 8:54 AM
catwoman7 said...
nice job! I can see it would be comfy too.
7/8/14 5:51 AM
supizoo said...
Oh, I had a top similar to yours which I wore to death as well! Lovely top, soft and drapey and, well, just lovely.
7/8/14 5:48 AM
AZGreyGirl said...
I think your version is much cuter than the dress. Well done!
7/8/14 1:22 AM
dakotasews said...
This is perfect timing! I was just looking up this pattern last night to see if there were any reviews.
7/8/14 1:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

New Look 6516

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info