SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6023 (Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo

 
 
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/14 0:14 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6023 by CraftAddict

New Look: 6023 by CraftAddict  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6023
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by CraftAddict

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look sewing pattern
Pattern Sizing:
I cut size 12 for the bodice grading out to size 14 in the waist and hips. I probably could have cut a 10 and graded out to 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I really didn't use the instructions so I can't say. But the pattern went together very easily.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked the overall simplicity of the dress. I needed a pattern with a waist seam to use with my border print.

Fabric Used:
Michael Miller cotton border print.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added two inches to the length of the skirt and omitted the embellishments on the waistband. I fully lined the dress but also used the front facing piece.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might use this pattern again. I really like View D.

More details on my blog

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
Oh so pretty! I love the colors and so flattering on you.
7/8/14 0:30 AM
Judy Kski said...
I love the way this dress turned out with your beautiful border print. You look great in your new dress.
7/8/14 0:48 AM
ladybegood said...
Perfect meeting of pattern and fabric! Well done!
7/8/14 0:53 AM
SewWil said...
Great pattern to showcase your beautiful border print.
7/8/14 1:20 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful dress and it shows your gorgeous border print to full effect!
7/8/14 1:32 AM
supizoo said...
Absolutely beautiful. Fabric, fit (shoes!) everything!
7/8/14 4:48 AM
msschiel said...
Very nice! Love the colors and the border print!
7/8/14 7:08 AM
mm said...
What lovely fabric. A very nice dress.
7/8/14 7:25 AM
crazygrad said...
That is so gorgeous!
7/8/14 8:11 AM
Pattipurls said...
Very flattering, and I loooove the border print!
7/8/14 9:08 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks everyone!
7/8/14 9:47 AM
popo said...
That fabric!!!! I'm a sucker for border prints! Gorgeous dress!
7/8/14 10:36 AM
carolynw said...
Really eye catching in the best way. Great use of the border print!
7/8/14 11:20 AM
TresBienMichell said...
This is fantastic use of a border print! And, the fabric is really gorgeous! The dress looks really beutiful on you.
7/8/14 11:42 AM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/8/14 12:19 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress. Love the print of the border.
7/8/14 7:14 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks!
7/8/14 9:42 PM
DianeLL said...
Beautiful!
7/8/14 10:56 PM
jdk said...
Beautiful with the border print
7/9/14 0:09 AM
petro said...
Lovely!
7/9/14 2:53 AM
jjhallum said...
Beautiful fabric choice! Great job!
7/9/14 6:56 AM
Andee said...
What everyone else said! I didn't even know Michael Moore made border prints. Where did you find this!?
7/9/14 7:03 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks! Andee the print is called Tropical Madness. I purchased it from Etsy vendor "Fabrics and Trimmings". It's also found on fabric.com
7/9/14 8:16 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice work with this border print, great way to show it off!
7/9/14 9:16 AM
Sethskid said...
Beautiful!
7/9/14 9:51 AM
butterflyfly said...
Love the border print, this fabric and the pattern go so well together!
7/9/14 6:34 PM
Sew Good said...
Love the fabric! Looks great
7/10/14 0:34 AM
Sew Good said...
Love the fabric! Looks great
7/10/14 0:34 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
My fellow Ohioan...I know one vote won't win you the contest but if it could...you'd have mine! LOVE THIS!!!
7/16/14 11:45 AM
born2bead said...
Really gorgeous dress with this border printer!
7/22/14 6:20 PM
chisgran said...
Wow! Stunning!!!
7/29/14 9:18 PM
beanchor said...
Beautiful! Just lovely!
7/31/14 10:43 PM
Catkim said...
Dress looks fantastic, I also have this pattern - do you think it would work with stretch crepe de chine?
9/6/14 6:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6568

photo
by: Bendy

Review
StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now