SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6023 (Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:CraftAddict
photo

 
 
About CraftAddict
OH USA
Member since: 9/1/10
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/14 0:14 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6023 by CraftAddict

New Look: 6023 by CraftAddict  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6023
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by CraftAddict

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Misses' dress with neckline and sleeve variations. New Look sewing pattern
Pattern Sizing:
I cut size 12 for the bodice grading out to size 14 in the waist and hips. I probably could have cut a 10 and graded out to 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
I really didn't use the instructions so I can't say. But the pattern went together very easily.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked the overall simplicity of the dress. I needed a pattern with a waist seam to use with my border print.

Fabric Used:
Michael Miller cotton border print.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added two inches to the length of the skirt and omitted the embellishments on the waistband. I fully lined the dress but also used the front facing piece.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might use this pattern again. I really like View D.

More details on my blog

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catkim said...
Dress looks fantastic, I also have this pattern - do you think it would work with stretch crepe de chine?
9/6/14 6:02 AM
beanchor said...
Beautiful! Just lovely!
7/31/14 10:43 PM
chisgran said...
Wow! Stunning!!!
7/29/14 9:18 PM
born2bead said...
Really gorgeous dress with this border printer!
7/22/14 6:20 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
My fellow Ohioan...I know one vote won't win you the contest but if it could...you'd have mine! LOVE THIS!!!
7/16/14 11:45 AM
Sew Good said...
Love the fabric! Looks great
7/10/14 0:34 AM
Sew Good said...
Love the fabric! Looks great
7/10/14 0:34 AM
butterflyfly said...
Love the border print, this fabric and the pattern go so well together!
7/9/14 6:34 PM
Sethskid said...
Beautiful!
7/9/14 9:51 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice work with this border print, great way to show it off!
7/9/14 9:16 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks! Andee the print is called Tropical Madness. I purchased it from Etsy vendor "Fabrics and Trimmings". It's also found on fabric.com
7/9/14 8:16 AM
Andee said...
What everyone else said! I didn't even know Michael Moore made border prints. Where did you find this!?
7/9/14 7:03 AM
jjhallum said...
Beautiful fabric choice! Great job!
7/9/14 6:56 AM
petro said...
Lovely!
7/9/14 2:53 AM
jdk said...
Beautiful with the border print
7/9/14 0:09 AM
DianeLL said...
Beautiful!
7/8/14 10:56 PM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks!
7/8/14 9:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress. Love the print of the border.
7/8/14 7:14 PM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous dress!
7/8/14 12:19 PM
TresBienMichell said...
This is fantastic use of a border print! And, the fabric is really gorgeous! The dress looks really beutiful on you.
7/8/14 11:42 AM
carolynw said...
Really eye catching in the best way. Great use of the border print!
7/8/14 11:20 AM
popo said...
That fabric!!!! I'm a sucker for border prints! Gorgeous dress!
7/8/14 10:36 AM
CraftAddict said...
Thanks everyone!
7/8/14 9:47 AM
Pattipurls said...
Very flattering, and I loooove the border print!
7/8/14 9:08 AM
crazygrad said...
That is so gorgeous!
7/8/14 8:11 AM
mm said...
What lovely fabric. A very nice dress.
7/8/14 7:25 AM
msschiel said...
Very nice! Love the colors and the border print!
7/8/14 7:08 AM
supizoo said...
Absolutely beautiful. Fabric, fit (shoes!) everything!
7/8/14 4:48 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful dress and it shows your gorgeous border print to full effect!
7/8/14 1:32 AM
SewWil said...
Great pattern to showcase your beautiful border print.
7/8/14 1:20 AM
ladybegood said...
Perfect meeting of pattern and fabric! Well done!
7/8/14 0:53 AM
Judy Kski said...
I love the way this dress turned out with your beautiful border print. You look great in your new dress.
7/8/14 0:48 AM
SewLibra said...
Oh so pretty! I love the colors and so flattering on you.
7/8/14 0:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now