SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3830 (Misses' straight skirts)

80 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 140 times 
Reviewed by:jjhallum
photo

 
 
About jjhallum
MO USA
Member since: 10/30/09
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 66
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/14/14 9:06 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 3830 by jjhallum

McCall's: 3830 by jjhallum  McCall's: 3830 by jjhallum  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 3830
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.21 $14.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES’ SKIRT IN FIVE LENGTHS: Skirt in five lengths have front and back darts, back zipper, faced waist and optional carriers; skirt A, B and C have back vent.

I made view D.

Pattern Sizing: AA(6-8-10-12) DD(12-14-16-18) FF(16-18-20-22) I cut a size 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The garment looks like the envelope drawing, with modifications.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like all of the length options being included in one envelope, and also the option of having a back vent or not.

Fabric Used: I used a dark gray stretch woven fabric with white and pink pin stripes. I purchased it at the Vogue Fabrics booth at the Sewing Expo 4 years ago. It was less than 1 yard remnant, so I've had a hard time finding anything to use it for. This skirt was the perfect garment.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The only design change I made was to stitch the zipper on the outside for an exposed zipper application.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I will sew this pattern again, as this skirt has good length options and a good figure flattering fit.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I recommend this pattern to anyone wanting to make fitted a-line skirts.

Conclusion: This was an easy pattern to construct, and has a great fit. The waist darts make it super easy to get a perfect fit. For less than a yard of fabric, you can make a knee length skirt - great way to use those smaller remnants.
Available for sale on PR: $11.21 $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
Nice classic, great use of a yard of fabric.
7/21/14 2:52 AM
crazygrad said...
Gorgeous! Usually, I hate exposed zippers, but this version adds a really interesting design feature!
7/18/14 11:02 AM
LoriMinnesota said...
I love this. Pretty fabric!
7/16/14 1:05 AM
Speech girl said...
Great skirt--the zipper is a nice touch
7/14/14 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1294

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
McCall's 9172

photo
by: ThreadsofF...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

More Info