SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> Vintage 9561 

Viewed 164 times 
Reviewed by:TresBienMichell
photo

 
 
About TresBienMichellstar
Member since: 4/17/13
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/14 1:13 PM
Last Updated:7/14/14 1:16 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: Vintage 9561 by TresBienMichell

Butterick: Vintage 9561 by TresBienMichell  Butterick: Vintage 9561 by TresBienMichell  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by TresBienMichell

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Fabric:Lace  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
This is a vintage party dress pattern with a pleated faux wrap bodice, midriff and full skirt.

Pattern Sizing: Vintage sizing

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The dress I sewed looked exactly like the dress pictured on the envelope.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Surprisingly, the instructions were very easy to follow. It's worth noting that I have a fair amount of experience with vintage patterns and techniques. Compared to the instructions of modern patterns, the instructions are more vague and less detailed.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was immediately drawn to the pleated wrap bodice of this dress.

Fabric Used:
My fabric is a double layer-it's lace attached to a more stable opaque fabric. I got the fabric at an estate sale and would guess it's from the 80s.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did remove width from the side seams through the bust and re-contoured the amscye to adjust for that change. Also, I pleated my skirt instead of gathering it into the waistband. I omitted the facings and self-faced the bodice with Georgette.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would sew this dress again. I sewed it in a formal fabric to wear in a friend's wedding; however, I think that it would look as lovely and be more versatile in a cotton. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a vintage party dress pattern!

Conclusion:
I sewed this dress to wear in a friend's wedding. I got lucky and pulled both the fabric and pattern from my stash(es). The pattern is beautiful. I easily see making several more versions and look forward to experimenting with fabric and view in the future!

More information and photos are posted on my BLOG
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
supizoo said...
Oh you should just wear it for the love of it! It's just so pretty!
7/16/14 4:59 AM
TresBienMichell said...
Thank you, ladies! I am very happy with it. The best part is, I know I'll be able to wear it again at some point. I just need more reasons to get dressed up. :-D
7/15/14 10:21 AM
UglyCute said...
Really pretty dress.
7/14/14 10:21 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Very pretty. It fits you beautifully. What a lovely story.
7/14/14 8:37 PM
Rpolston said...
Beautiful!
7/14/14 3:36 PM
jjhallum said...
Beautiful dress! What a great idea to have bridesmaids select their own attire. Great job.
7/14/14 1:56 PM
wilson81 said...
Beautiful job! I think you made a great choice with pleating instead of gathering. Lovely dress!
7/14/14 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 3566

photo
by: Annette1

Review
Vogue Patterns 8637

photo
by: Graca

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

More Info
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info