SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8095 (Bathing suit, pants, skirt, et)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1187 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/05 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
The suit and wrap look great together! Well done!
7/17/05 5:14 PM
donna wicks said...
The bathing suit looks great. Really nice fabric....even though the thoughts of sewing a bathing suit can be intimidating at first they are actually easy to make and much easier than the ordeal of trying on bathing suits in the stores. A much better price too. You did a great job on sewing this one. Don't forget to take pictures of the next one you make. Love that "cheese" wrap!!!
7/17/05 5:37 PM
BjP said...
Very nice suit! I really like the fabric you used and I bet it looks great on you.
7/17/05 5:40 PM
SewingSkater said...
smvite - Your suit looks great! Just a word of caution: The powernet, while great at "holding you in", doesn't have the same amount of stretch as the regular fabric. Make sure you take this into account if you use it for a lining, otherwise the suit will be too short. (I have only had this problem with 1-piece suits, they are fine in the width, but never have enough length!) PM me if you need more info. :)
7/17/05 6:28 PM
tellme said...
Beautiful suit! Yesterday I just got one on sale at JCPenney - the sale price was $57! I never seriously thought of sewing a swim suit before, but the pattern you chose not only looks attractive but also I'll bet it supports just as well as the new RTW model with the built-in bra. Great inspiration!
7/17/05 6:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo! Pretty suit! Let me know how it wears in the pool, would you? I have the same fabric in slightly different colors, and I've been looking at it with an eye to making a swimsuit, too, but wasn't sure how it would handle the chlorine and saltwater.
7/17/05 6:42 PM
Teri said...
I like it!
7/17/05 7:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Beautiful job on the suit. I love the fabric!
7/17/05 9:14 PM
ryan's mom said...
You did a nice job on this bathing suit! Gotta love that term "cheese wraps". I'm making a cheese wrap today or tomorrow for my RTW bathing suit.
7/18/05 6:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your design choices with this fabric are great--the bias cut on the front is just terrific. (Would like to see the chevron stripes on the back, too, if possible. :-)) Like Leslie, I wonder if the fabric will withstand chemicals and saltwater. Also, for others new to sewing bathing suits, as Sewingskater mentioned, you really have to be careful to get enough stretch (both directions) in a full length bathing suit, in both the fashion fabric and the lining. I recommend a high quality source (not JoAnn's or Hancock's) for swimsuit fabric.
7/18/05 9:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Other 4654

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now