Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8095 (Bathing suit, pants, skirt, et) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1187 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/05 4:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
The suit and wrap look great together! Well done!
7/17/05 5:14 PM
donna wicks said...
The bathing suit looks great. Really nice fabric....even though the thoughts of sewing a bathing suit can be intimidating at first they are actually easy to make and much easier than the ordeal of trying on bathing suits in the stores. A much better price too. You did a great job on sewing this one. Don't forget to take pictures of the next one you make. Love that "cheese" wrap!!!
7/17/05 5:37 PM
BjP said...
Very nice suit! I really like the fabric you used and I bet it looks great on you.
7/17/05 5:40 PM
SewingSkater said...
smvite - Your suit looks great! Just a word of caution: The powernet, while great at "holding you in", doesn't have the same amount of stretch as the regular fabric. Make sure you take this into account if you use it for a lining, otherwise the suit will be too short. (I have only had this problem with 1-piece suits, they are fine in the width, but never have enough length!) PM me if you need more info. :)
7/17/05 6:28 PM
tellme said...
Beautiful suit! Yesterday I just got one on sale at JCPenney - the sale price was $57! I never seriously thought of sewing a swim suit before, but the pattern you chose not only looks attractive but also I'll bet it supports just as well as the new RTW model with the built-in bra. Great inspiration!
7/17/05 6:37 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ooo! Pretty suit! Let me know how it wears in the pool, would you? I have the same fabric in slightly different colors, and I've been looking at it with an eye to making a swimsuit, too, but wasn't sure how it would handle the chlorine and saltwater.
7/17/05 6:42 PM
Teri said...
I like it!
7/17/05 7:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Beautiful job on the suit. I love the fabric!
7/17/05 9:14 PM
ryan's mom said...
You did a nice job on this bathing suit! Gotta love that term "cheese wraps". I'm making a cheese wrap today or tomorrow for my RTW bathing suit.
7/18/05 6:21 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your design choices with this fabric are great--the bias cut on the front is just terrific. (Would like to see the chevron stripes on the back, too, if possible. :-)) Like Leslie, I wonder if the fabric will withstand chemicals and saltwater. Also, for others new to sewing bathing suits, as Sewingskater mentioned, you really have to be careful to get enough stretch (both directions) in a full length bathing suit, in both the fashion fabric and the lining. I recommend a high quality source (not JoAnn's or Hancock's) for swimsuit fabric.
7/18/05 9:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7517 DRESS
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 3/16/10
Read Review

Burda 9493 Pattern
Burda 9493 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-23 Bert Shorts
photo
Review by lara900 on 8/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us