SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2808 (Anne Klein suit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1155 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:7/19/05 7:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said... (7/19/05 11:25 PM) Reply
Thanks for the excellent review. I have this pattern and will use your review as reference if I decide to try it. That being said - the jacket looks very nice on you - but understandable not what you might have imagined. We are so tough on ourselves. The 6 foot rule should apply to the topstitching - if the imperfections aren't seen from 6 feet it's probably just fine!
AnneM said... (7/19/05 7:51 PM) Reply
Much cuter than the UPS man. It is always a tough decision on these: try again to take advantage of the work already done, or move on to a different pattern.
hongkongshopper said... (7/19/05 6:13 PM) Reply
Oh well, it still looks good. Perhaps with a crisper fabric and full interfacing it would look like how you envisaged. Perhaps another go (after a suitable rest period!). After all you have the fit done already!?
CarolynGM said... (7/19/05 5:54 PM) Reply
Thanks for the warnings, and I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with your jacket. I have this pattern and would like to make it. I will definitely study your review before I do.
jlg said... (7/19/05 12:21 PM) Reply
Thanks for the warnings about this jacket.
drsue said... (7/19/05 9:55 AM) Reply
Bummer! Thanks for the warning.
Frogstitcher said... (7/19/05 9:53 AM) Reply
Thank you for your review. Your outfit is very nice. I have this pattern and your review will be very helpful to me when I venture forth (sleeve length).
Anne Frances said... (7/19/05 9:24 AM) Reply
Your reviews are always helpful and often inspiring. If you weren't happy with this there is no hope for the rest of us. Thanks for the warning - this is one I shan't be looking at!
Lisette said... (7/19/05 9:07 AM) Reply
Your jacket does look nice. Gabardine is a tough fabric to work with as it does not ease easily and the stretch factor might have contribute to your problems.
Teri said... (7/19/05 8:56 AM) Reply
Thanks for the great review, and I don't think you look like the UPS guy.....well at least not mine:)
sashagsd said... (7/19/05 8:56 AM) Reply
I'm just venturing into more difficult patterns and this review tells me I don't want to go there! Thanks for saving me a world of frustration!
Lisa Laree said... (7/19/05 8:28 AM) Reply
Aren't we our harshest critics? It really doesn't look bad in the photo, but I can sympathize with the frustration factor! I appreciate the comments on the pattern and construction...lots of help (warning? ;) ) for the next person.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 3315

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
New Look 6828

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details