SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 246956-1003 

Viewed 82 times 
Reviewed by:AngelaSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AngelaSewsstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/11
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/14 4:29 PM
Last Updated:7/26/14 4:54 PM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 246956-1003 by AngelaSews

Self Drafted Pattern: 246956-1003 by AngelaSews  Self Drafted Pattern: 246956-1003 by AngelaSews  
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Tank top with princess seams, gathered center front panel.

Success/failure of design ideas:

Princess seams for design interest and shaping. Seem quite ok.
Gathered front panel for design interest and to reduce transparency of the quite sheer jersey. Didn't quite nail this. I may post a question later asking for advice on how to draft this better.

Fabric Used:

Very lightweight rayon jersey.

Would you sew it again?
Yes, but with a plain front next time. I also think a firmer fabric would be more flattering.

Sewing notes

Then neckline is not as drafted. I don't like the shape very much, but it was a successful save of the original neckline, which stretched and flopped. I tried a turned over edge for the first version and it seems to have been a poor choice. The finished version is a band.

I'm quite comfortable sewing jersey, but this very lightweight one was not very easy to sew. My sewing was less than accurate, but I found the top quite forgiving of my errors (trained eyes may beg to differ!).

Changes for future:
In a future gathered version, I would like to modify so the drape starts from the shoulder seam and includes a bit of a cowl at the neckline. I wasn't willing to spend the time to develop that this time around.

Conclusion:
I'm undecided. I'm wavering between being quite happy with the top, as long as I don't focus on the details, and judging it a failure. It does feel nice to wear though.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I hope it grows on you, its quite interesting. I'm sure it will lead you to many more drafting successes.
7/26/14 5:10 PM
PriorPatterns said...
I quite like it. :)
7/26/14 10:33 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
I like it. I wish I could get my tee shirt to fit like yours in the back or shoulders. I have a long way to go.
7/26/14 10:54 PM
paulakiss said...
Very pretty top. And you are great at fitting! I think you nailed the neckline with the band. I've seen lots of tops with the gathered front panel in the stores near me and I think yours is just as if not more beautiful! And you drafted the pattern yourself? Wow. Your tank is all kinds of awesome!
7/27/14 4:22 AM
sacjeanie said...
I think a patterned fabric would enhance the finer points of the garment construction.
7/28/14 9:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now