SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Papercut Patterns> 1024 (Anima Pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 160 times 
Reviewed by:elmere
photo

 
 
About elmere
Member since: 10/11/13
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/14 4:04 PM
Last Updated:7/26/14 4:11 PM
Project Photo:Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere

Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere  Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by elmere

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: From the site- Slim leg pant with elasticated waist, drawstring, faux fly front and side pockets. Can be made full, knee length with or without cuffs or as shorts.

Pattern Sizing: XS; I made a size small and later trashed them (there were many other problems with them). For reference, I am 5'3"; wear a size 2 in ready to wear skirts and shorts and a size 8-12 at the waist in Big 4 sewing pattern language.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, ma'am.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, blissfully so.

Fabric Used: At first, lace-look ITY knit. And then, aqua sequins. Love.

Here's some more useful pattern info. A more detailed version is on the blog Wasted Weekends:
1. I shortened by an inch at the front and back crotch. [Trendy high waist designed for the 5'4"-5'7" lady looks like 'I can't find my pants so I put on some grown-up's' on the short people.] I didn't know what I was doing, and was scared of effing up the pocket slant/pocket bag seam alignment. I took my inch from the front crotch out below where the bottom of the pocket bag is stitched in. On the back, I just lopped one inch off the top.
2. I left the cuffs off the bottom because that super-taper is not a good look for me.
3. I saved myself a lot of heartache once I started using the three-step zig zag stitch instead of the, um, one step?
4. I eliminated the faux fly front, which I thought seemed troublesome for sequins.
5. I underlined the sequins with jersey knit, which makes them fairly heavy and fleece-y feeling on the inside. I did not follow the internet's advice and pick every sequin out of the seam allowance prior to assembly, because I am not a crazy person.
6. The waist band on the sequin pair are in heavier ponte knit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! I mean, I've sewn it twice already, but I'd definitely recommend it.
A few more things on Wasted Weekends.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clotheshorse said...
I need a pair of those sequin pants!!! Great job :)
7/27/14 8:23 AM
tlc246 said...
Awesome sequined pants.
7/27/14 4:24 AM
detroy said...
Those are some awesome pants!
7/26/14 8:28 PM
Smonks said...
Looks amazing!
7/26/14 8:27 PM
elmere said...
@miausiau Do it! It was pretty easy!
7/26/14 6:59 PM
miausiau said...
I want those sequin pants!!
7/26/14 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8659

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info