SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Papercut Patterns> 1024 (Anima Pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 155 times 
Reviewed by:elmere
photo

 
 
About elmere
Member since: 10/11/13
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/14 4:04 PM
Last Updated:7/26/14 4:11 PM
Project Photo:Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere

Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere  Papercut Patterns: 1024 by elmere  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by elmere

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: From the site- Slim leg pant with elasticated waist, drawstring, faux fly front and side pockets. Can be made full, knee length with or without cuffs or as shorts.

Pattern Sizing: XS; I made a size small and later trashed them (there were many other problems with them). For reference, I am 5'3"; wear a size 2 in ready to wear skirts and shorts and a size 8-12 at the waist in Big 4 sewing pattern language.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, ma'am.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, blissfully so.

Fabric Used: At first, lace-look ITY knit. And then, aqua sequins. Love.

Here's some more useful pattern info. A more detailed version is on the blog Wasted Weekends:
1. I shortened by an inch at the front and back crotch. [Trendy high waist designed for the 5'4"-5'7" lady looks like 'I can't find my pants so I put on some grown-up's' on the short people.] I didn't know what I was doing, and was scared of effing up the pocket slant/pocket bag seam alignment. I took my inch from the front crotch out below where the bottom of the pocket bag is stitched in. On the back, I just lopped one inch off the top.
2. I left the cuffs off the bottom because that super-taper is not a good look for me.
3. I saved myself a lot of heartache once I started using the three-step zig zag stitch instead of the, um, one step?
4. I eliminated the faux fly front, which I thought seemed troublesome for sequins.
5. I underlined the sequins with jersey knit, which makes them fairly heavy and fleece-y feeling on the inside. I did not follow the internet's advice and pick every sequin out of the seam allowance prior to assembly, because I am not a crazy person.
6. The waist band on the sequin pair are in heavier ponte knit.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes! I mean, I've sewn it twice already, but I'd definitely recommend it.
A few more things on Wasted Weekends.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clotheshorse said...
I need a pair of those sequin pants!!! Great job :)
7/27/14 8:23 AM
tlc246 said...
Awesome sequined pants.
7/27/14 4:24 AM
detroy said...
Those are some awesome pants!
7/26/14 8:28 PM
Smonks said...
Looks amazing!
7/26/14 8:27 PM
elmere said...
@miausiau Do it! It was pretty easy!
7/26/14 6:59 PM
miausiau said...
I want those sequin pants!!
7/26/14 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: JEH

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 249743-1000

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now