SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4731 (Special Occaisions)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1128 times 
Reviewed by:jenka
photo

 
 
About jenka
NA GERMANY
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/05 7:27 AM
Last Updated:7/20/05 7:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This is quite gorgeous. Sorry you are having sad thoughts. Time heals all wounds.
7/20/05 8:17 AM
KimP said...
Excellent result! I'm really impressed. Obviously your former boyfriend is missing out and I'm glad you turned that disappointment into such a worthwhile project! Make more. . .
7/20/05 8:19 AM
Tiner W said...
It's so beautiful! Sorry about the breakup--great therapy, though!
7/20/05 8:20 AM
casken said...
Very beautiful dress! You will heal and you will find the right man who will love you for the beautiful person you are. Take care.
7/20/05 8:24 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Breakups are so unbelievably hard. I remember my dad telling me, after a 5 year relationship ended, that I would laugh about it later on. I thought my dad was being insensitive, but truly I do laugh now. Especially as I look at my husband, who is so much more compatiable and truly my best friend, not to mention an incredible daddy. I say this to you to encourage you as this verse encouraged me,Rom 8:28 "And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose."
7/20/05 8:34 AM
appleC said...
Wow, you look so elegant in that dress. How I hope this beautiful project would bring a smile on your face! Please try to wear it in some occasions if you could :)
7/20/05 8:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Would you LOOK at that! I never accomplished much--except to worry off extra pounds, which was nice--when various agonizing breakups occurred. (I've gotten over all of them but one, and I actually have morphed it into something positive as well over the years.) May peace of mind return to you very soon.
7/20/05 8:48 AM
Georgene said...
How beautiful! Time to book a flight to the USA to go to a RenFaire somewhere!(In the NY Garment Center there's a phrase: "When the going gets tough, the tough get professional")
7/20/05 8:58 AM
Mary Reed said...
Jenka - is there a web address where I can see all of your costumes? Thanks, Mary
7/20/05 10:39 AM
gabrielle said...
How beautiful, Jenka! I hope you get at least a few chances to wear it. It's too lovely to hide in a closet. :)
7/20/05 12:06 PM
Deb Thompson said...
Wow Wow Wow!! How positivly gorgeous!! Your choice of color and fabrics are great and you look stunning in this dress. Heck, I wish I could sew my sorrows away - chocolate seems like a much better alternative!
7/20/05 2:03 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, simply stunning. An amazing creation. Sorry for your sadness.
7/20/05 6:52 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is simply beautiful. Sometimes sadness brings out the greatest creativity in us all. -Ann
7/20/05 8:42 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yes, you have every right to be proud of that dress!!!!
7/20/05 10:41 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
What a beautiful dress. Isn't sewing the greatest therapy and solace. I hope you're feeling better, and I agree with the others, you really should find somewhere to wear it out! Or throw a period costume party and make everyone else dress similarly?
7/21/05 1:46 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful! I kept closing out your pic because I thought it was an additional cover picture for the envelope LOL! It looks that good to be on the pattern cover!
7/21/05 5:48 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely. You will have to wear it for a costume occasion. Keep your chin up. With your obvious talent, you will do great.
7/21/05 6:40 AM
Huldra said...
Your dress is absolutely beautiful! I hope you'll find an occasion to wear it.
2/3/07 6:00 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful dress!!! And I like the creative way you handled the breakup.
11/25/07 1:33 AM
neferset said...
This is one of my favorite formal dress patterns from the last 10 years, simply because you can do so much with it. (I've made everything from quick Ren-Garb for the not-too-picky to casual sundresses with it.) Your beautiful end result inspired me to find it again. I hope your sewing reasons have become happier in the meanwhile.
9/14/09 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Other Drape Drape #5

photo
by: tenlilelve...

Review
Burda 8281

photo
by: bimbleandp...

Review

Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now