SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5956 (Misses' Top and Belt)

Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 191 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/14 11:21 PM
Last Updated:7/30/14 11:42 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5956 by marec

Butterick: 5956 by marec  Butterick: 5956 by marec  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5956
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Dupioni  [See other projects in this fabric]
This is my last submission to the Pattern Stash contest, giving me a total of 6. I thoroughly enjoyed participating and want to give a big thanks to the contest manager, crazygrad, for her wonderful leadership during the month! Finally, I had a root canal today so excuse any odd sentence construction or funny expressions in photographs.

Pattern Description:
Loose fitting, pullover, mock wrap top. Raised waist, front pleats in place of darts, shaped hemline. (2013 pattern)

Pattern Sizing:
True to Butterick sizing-please see alteration section for the changes I made.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, though I lengthened the top in order to use it as a dress as well as a top.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they are pretty good. The order of construction is logical and steps are easily found.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the wrap top and the pleating for a loose fit. I like the raised waist seam. The ties looked as though they would add a casual vibe to the top. I am sewing clothing for 100+F and am looking to stay cool but somewhat stylish.

After sewing this pattern, I have a major dislike=the neckline is far too low for a casual top. I added width to the neckline but if I make this again, I'll need to do a major re-draft of the bodice.

Fabric Used:
Silk dupioni from Stonemountain and Daughter (2012); midnight blue
color
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1. Decreased length of bodice by 1 inch
2. Trued seam and added a bit more tissue to neckline.
3. Added 5 inches in skirt portion and 2 inches at hem.
4. Removed 4 inches when hemming giving me a total of 3 inches addition to length. But, I also removed 1 inch from the bodice so I added a total of 2 inches. I am 5'1" so YMMV
5. All seams sewed as french seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Honestly? no, but only because there are so many patterns to try. It is a fun, easy project and I'll enjoy wearing the dress/top but the neckline is a dealbreaker for bringing this pattern into TNT status.

Conclusion:
I like it for its comfort level and subtle sexy vibe. Despite the neckline plunge, I think this will be a great dinner dress for summer and could also be paired with a cami, sweater and leggings for cooler temps.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Melwyk said...
Lovely! So glad you finished it; feel better soon!
7/31/14 0:08 AM
Judy Kski said...
You look beautiful in your new dress. See, you were able to get it done before the deadline.
7/31/14 0:33 AM
craft keeper said...
So cute turned into a dress. I love this pattern but your right about the low neckline, I have to wear a cami under mine. your fabric really dresses it up.
7/31/14 2:38 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear the neckline turned out so low. Very cute dress, though!
7/31/14 2:40 AM
HRigg said...
I agree a super summer dinner dress. Classy but sexy.
7/31/14 6:19 AM
annie11 said...
Very pretty dress! Great idea to lengthen this into a dress.
7/31/14 2:01 PM
crazygrad said...
You look great! Good luck with your teeth, and thanks! It was a pleasure!
7/31/14 4:05 PM
petro said...
Great looking dress. Perfect for duppioni.
7/31/14 6:29 PM
petro said...
Great looking dress. Perfect for duppioni.
7/31/14 6:29 PM
beanchor said...
You look lovely!
8/1/14 8:56 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Lovely dress. Nice haircut. You look good in this color.
8/3/14 9:07 PM
missyyz said...
I love what you did with this pattern. Gorgeous on you. It's in my stash and I will adjust the neckline when I make it - thanks for that tip.
8/7/14 8:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8844

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now