SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5956 (Misses' Top and Belt)

Review submitted in 2014 PATTERN STASH CONTEST (July 1 - July 31) Contest
Viewed 207 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/14 11:21 PM
Last Updated:7/30/14 11:42 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5956 by marec

Butterick: 5956 by marec  Butterick: 5956 by marec  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Butterick 5956
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Silk Dupioni  [See other projects in this fabric]
This is my last submission to the Pattern Stash contest, giving me a total of 6. I thoroughly enjoyed participating and want to give a big thanks to the contest manager, crazygrad, for her wonderful leadership during the month! Finally, I had a root canal today so excuse any odd sentence construction or funny expressions in photographs.

Pattern Description:
Loose fitting, pullover, mock wrap top. Raised waist, front pleats in place of darts, shaped hemline. (2013 pattern)

Pattern Sizing:
True to Butterick sizing-please see alteration section for the changes I made.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, though I lengthened the top in order to use it as a dress as well as a top.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they are pretty good. The order of construction is logical and steps are easily found.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the wrap top and the pleating for a loose fit. I like the raised waist seam. The ties looked as though they would add a casual vibe to the top. I am sewing clothing for 100+F and am looking to stay cool but somewhat stylish.

After sewing this pattern, I have a major dislike=the neckline is far too low for a casual top. I added width to the neckline but if I make this again, I'll need to do a major re-draft of the bodice.

Fabric Used:
Silk dupioni from Stonemountain and Daughter (2012); midnight blue
color
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1. Decreased length of bodice by 1 inch
2. Trued seam and added a bit more tissue to neckline.
3. Added 5 inches in skirt portion and 2 inches at hem.
4. Removed 4 inches when hemming giving me a total of 3 inches addition to length. But, I also removed 1 inch from the bodice so I added a total of 2 inches. I am 5'1" so YMMV
5. All seams sewed as french seams.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Honestly? no, but only because there are so many patterns to try. It is a fun, easy project and I'll enjoy wearing the dress/top but the neckline is a dealbreaker for bringing this pattern into TNT status.

Conclusion:
I like it for its comfort level and subtle sexy vibe. Despite the neckline plunge, I think this will be a great dinner dress for summer and could also be paired with a cami, sweater and leggings for cooler temps.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
missyyz said...
I love what you did with this pattern. Gorgeous on you. It's in my stash and I will adjust the neckline when I make it - thanks for that tip.
8/7/14 8:07 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Lovely dress. Nice haircut. You look good in this color.
8/3/14 9:07 PM
beanchor said...
You look lovely!
8/1/14 8:56 AM
petro said...
Great looking dress. Perfect for duppioni.
7/31/14 6:29 PM
petro said...
Great looking dress. Perfect for duppioni.
7/31/14 6:29 PM
crazygrad said...
You look great! Good luck with your teeth, and thanks! It was a pleasure!
7/31/14 4:05 PM
annie11 said...
Very pretty dress! Great idea to lengthen this into a dress.
7/31/14 2:01 PM
HRigg said...
I agree a super summer dinner dress. Classy but sexy.
7/31/14 6:19 AM
Margaret said...
Sorry to hear the neckline turned out so low. Very cute dress, though!
7/31/14 2:40 AM
craft keeper said...
So cute turned into a dress. I love this pattern but your right about the low neckline, I have to wear a cami under mine. your fabric really dresses it up.
7/31/14 2:38 AM
Judy Kski said...
You look beautiful in your new dress. See, you were able to get it done before the deadline.
7/31/14 0:33 AM
Melwyk said...
Lovely! So glad you finished it; feel better soon!
7/31/14 0:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8248

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review