SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 6911 (Dresses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 451 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/14 9:08 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 6911 by Jstarr4250

Pattern Photo:Burda 6911
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Sophisticated, entwined front parts give both the shirt and the dress a special look. The bi-elastic jersey provides shape retention and a perfect fit. The dress has a flared skirt with nicely draped panels.

Pattern Sizing:Eur 34-48. US 8-20. This seems to run on the small side, most notably in the side seams. The waist shaping is quite defined so if you're using a thin knit it wants to pull across the tummy. I will straighten the sides a bit when cutting it out next time. This also runs very long.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes - I made the long sleeved top.

Were the instructions easy to follow?They could have been clearer, but I expected that from Burda. The illustrations were more helpful than the text.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I'm a big fan of twist front tops and dresses and what I particularly like about this one are the wide front neckline facings that fold to the inside and are sewn into the armscye seams. This really helps to eliminate roll out and keeps them firmly in place. The width of the front panels that create the twist are quite generous, which results in good coverage and nice folds in the bust area.

Fabric Used:From my stash...thin cotton jersey t shirt knit with a brushed feel to it. I can't recall where it's from.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:None

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes to both. I like the way it looks in a stripe fabric, too.

Conclusion: A stand out amongst twist front styles. Fast and fun - give it a try!
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Just beautiful....that looks so very svelte and trim.
8/3/14 9:28 PM
atymonw said...
Really nice top, very flattering!
8/3/14 10:10 PM
BlossomKyle said...
hawt!!!
8/3/14 10:16 PM
SewWil said...
That is one flattering top! Love this twist-top. Must add this pattern to my wish list.
8/3/14 10:40 PM
carolynw said...
WOWSA! You look stunning - got to have the figure to carry this off and you sure do!
8/3/14 11:31 PM
beanchor said...
This is spectacular! I think this is my new favorite twist front garment. You look wonderful in it.
8/4/14 0:04 AM
Annette1 said...
This is PERFECT in every respect: quality construction, not so low you feel like you have to constantly check that your bra isn't showing, and a beautiful fit. :o)
8/4/14 0:55 AM
ArtAttack said...
Perfect for you! I love the concept of the deep fold over facings to eliminate constant fiddling. Looks super cute on you!
8/4/14 6:54 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty! I may need to add this to my list!
8/4/14 7:08 AM
CissieW said...
ooh-la-la! What a fabulous sophisticated and sexy dress. It looks great on you and I love the white!
8/4/14 7:24 AM
HRigg said...
This looks lovely and I like the idea of the pattern and the front facings. There seems to be quite a lot of fabric in the twist, do you think it would need to be fairly thin fabric?
8/4/14 7:57 AM
CraftAddict said...
Love this!
8/4/14 11:06 AM
chenille said...
That twist looks amazing! Great looking top on you.
8/4/14 3:20 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, just beautiful!
8/4/14 6:40 PM
marjenann said...
Stunning top!
8/4/14 7:06 PM
Wianno Girl said...
This version you made rocks.. you look amazing in it. Keep up these fabulous styles!
8/4/14 9:33 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you everyone :)). HRigg, I think a medium weight fabric would work equally well. Maybe just leave the opening for the twist a smidge larger.
8/4/14 10:33 PM
maryfrana said...
Nicest twist top pattern I have seen. Beautiful sewing.
8/5/14 9:59 AM
Jozigirl said...
I just love that twist top. I have one in a New Look pattern, and I must have made about 15 of them. Really flattering.
8/6/14 10:51 AM
cleverkitty said...
Me too twist tops are my favorite and I realize when you said you made this long sleeve I don't have one in long sleeve, I need one for every season :)
8/8/14 8:02 AM
mnitts said...
Great review I have this pattern so will refer back to it. Your version looks just perfect.
8/28/14 5:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
brerrabbit.com Blackbird Designs

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now