SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 6911 (Dresses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/14 9:08 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 6911 by Jstarr4250

Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Burda 6911
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Sophisticated, entwined front parts give both the shirt and the dress a special look. The bi-elastic jersey provides shape retention and a perfect fit. The dress has a flared skirt with nicely draped panels.

Pattern Sizing:Eur 34-48. US 8-20. This seems to run on the small side, most notably in the side seams. The waist shaping is quite defined so if you're using a thin knit it wants to pull across the tummy. I will straighten the sides a bit when cutting it out next time. This also runs very long.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes - I made the long sleeved top.

Were the instructions easy to follow?They could have been clearer, but I expected that from Burda. The illustrations were more helpful than the text.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I'm a big fan of twist front tops and dresses and what I particularly like about this one are the wide front neckline facings that fold to the inside and are sewn into the armscye seams. This really helps to eliminate roll out and keeps them firmly in place. The width of the front panels that create the twist are quite generous, which results in good coverage and nice folds in the bust area.

Fabric Used:From my stash...thin cotton jersey t shirt knit with a brushed feel to it. I can't recall where it's from.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:None

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes to both. I like the way it looks in a stripe fabric, too.

Conclusion: A stand out amongst twist front styles. Fast and fun - give it a try!
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mnitts said...
Great review I have this pattern so will refer back to it. Your version looks just perfect.
8/28/14 5:19 PM
cleverkitty said...
Me too twist tops are my favorite and I realize when you said you made this long sleeve I don't have one in long sleeve, I need one for every season :)
8/8/14 8:02 AM
Jozigirl said...
I just love that twist top. I have one in a New Look pattern, and I must have made about 15 of them. Really flattering.
8/6/14 10:51 AM
maryfrana said...
Nicest twist top pattern I have seen. Beautiful sewing.
8/5/14 9:59 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Thank you everyone :)). HRigg, I think a medium weight fabric would work equally well. Maybe just leave the opening for the twist a smidge larger.
8/4/14 10:33 PM
Wianno Girl said...
This version you made rocks.. you look amazing in it. Keep up these fabulous styles!
8/4/14 9:33 PM
marjenann said...
Stunning top!
8/4/14 7:06 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, just beautiful!
8/4/14 6:40 PM
chenille said...
That twist looks amazing! Great looking top on you.
8/4/14 3:20 PM
CraftAddict said...
Love this!
8/4/14 11:06 AM
HRigg said...
This looks lovely and I like the idea of the pattern and the front facings. There seems to be quite a lot of fabric in the twist, do you think it would need to be fairly thin fabric?
8/4/14 7:57 AM
CissieW said...
ooh-la-la! What a fabulous sophisticated and sexy dress. It looks great on you and I love the white!
8/4/14 7:24 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty! I may need to add this to my list!
8/4/14 7:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
Perfect for you! I love the concept of the deep fold over facings to eliminate constant fiddling. Looks super cute on you!
8/4/14 6:54 AM
Annette1 said...
This is PERFECT in every respect: quality construction, not so low you feel like you have to constantly check that your bra isn't showing, and a beautiful fit. :o)
8/4/14 0:55 AM
beanchor said...
This is spectacular! I think this is my new favorite twist front garment. You look wonderful in it.
8/4/14 0:04 AM
carolynw said...
WOWSA! You look stunning - got to have the figure to carry this off and you sure do!
8/3/14 11:31 PM
SewWil said...
That is one flattering top! Love this twist-top. Must add this pattern to my wish list.
8/3/14 10:40 PM
BlossomKyle said...
hawt!!!
8/3/14 10:16 PM
atymonw said...
Really nice top, very flattering!
8/3/14 10:10 PM
Mufffet said...
Just beautiful....that looks so very svelte and trim.
8/3/14 9:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2945

photo
by: Jrhee

Review
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 9062

photo
by: Jasst282

Review