SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8998 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 112 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/14 9:47 AM
Last Updated:8/14/14 3:07 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8998 by CissieW

Vogue Patterns: 8998 by CissieW  Vogue Patterns: 8998 by CissieW  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8998
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Updated to include picture of skirt!

Pattern Description: Lined dress has close-fitting, interfaced bodice with princess seams, inset band, skirt variations (horse hair finish on hemline) and back zipper. A: cap sleeves. A, B and C: skirt seam detail. D: collar. D, E and F: gathered skirt with princess seams, and side pockets. F: band and skirt overlays. Separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes A, B, C, D.

Pattern Sizing:6-14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?I made view D, which you hardly notice in the envelope picture.

Were the instructions easy to follow?Very good. Pattern is well-marked and goes together easily.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like the custom fit sizing with ABCD cup sizes. I like the princess seams and the collar. I also love the V in the back.

Fabric Used:A beautiful silk from Mendel-Goldberg which was an absolute dream to work with. From the start, this fabric kept saying "Keep it simple, stupid!" But I had something other than a simple sheath dress in mind so I didn't listen to the fabric talking, despite having only a scant 2 yards to work with. I knew there would be no chance of matching anything (especially since the repeat is huge) so I just held my breath and hoped that it wouldn't look like some sort of crazy quilt! The first thing I had to do was place the large collar piece on the bias and everything else would just have to fall where it fit, making sure I left enough fabric for some sort of skirt. There seems to be a phenomenon with beautifully milled and designed fabric -- it always looks good and the design elements flow nicely.

I underlined the dress with silk organza and lined it with silk charmeuse. click here


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I had to add 1/4" to the side seams of the waistband. Other than that, the fit was great. Initially, I thought I'd just take my remaining piece of fabric. a rectangle, and gather it to the bands. Wouldn't that have been easy?? But I was wrong. The result was so dumpy and dowdy looking. So I tried pleating it. Wrong again. Apparently you cannot just gather up a rectangle and end up with a decent skirt! So I found a pattern with a full skirt and eked that out of my fabric. Much better.

I used the requisite couture techniques throughout -- catch stitching all the seam allowances, hand picked zipper, fell stitching and pin stitching the understitches. I also added a 3 " strip of flannel cut on the bias to the hem so that it would have a nice soft edge.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I love this basic style so might make it again in a lesser fabric. I do recommend it.

Conclusion: I can't wait to wear this to a garden wedding on Saturday. Despite my misgivings at the start, I'm so happy with this dress!

Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sheenagh said...
Very elegant - love the neckline!
9/4/14 6:41 PM
supizoo said...
Stunning fabric and I love the collar.
8/16/14 9:11 PM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress! You will wear this for a long time, it is a classic style.
8/16/14 10:02 AM
Sarah Liz said...
It's a very beautiful dress, just right for the occasion, and looks classic and traditional, but still elegant and feminine - very much your style I think. The collar makes this dress.
8/15/14 11:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress!
8/15/14 6:50 AM
Renata said...
I have a garden wedding next Friday, as MOG. I think I will come and borrow your dress. Lovely and elegant dress
8/15/14 3:59 AM
liliv said...
Fabulous dress, I wish I could see the skirt
8/14/14 8:15 PM
jlg said...
So pretty! I love your fabric.
8/14/14 7:11 PM
annie11 said...
Gorgeous dress! Beautiful job.
8/14/14 5:11 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful!
8/14/14 3:24 PM
JamieB said...
Great job! How 'bout a few photos from the wedding so we can see the skirt too?
8/14/14 2:13 PM
LlanoGirl said...
Really pretty on you, wish we could see the skirt, too! Love the fabric.
8/14/14 2:03 PM
grays08 said...
Perfect for a garden wedding - lovely dress.
8/14/14 12:57 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Perfect fabric for this style. Great job!
8/14/14 12:46 PM
maryfrana said...
Such fabric! You picked the perfect style for the fabric and you look lovely.
8/14/14 11:34 AM
cleverkitty said...
Wow so elegant love the collar too :)
8/14/14 10:31 AM
atymonw said...
Really pretty! I love the collar, and you are right -- I never noticed that version on the pattern envelope.
8/14/14 10:27 AM
Stitchmaker said...
Cissie, it's just lovely! Would love to see the skirt though.
8/14/14 10:26 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous dress! It reminds me of a Barbara Tfank--classic and always in style.
8/14/14 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now