SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1224 (misses dress)

76 more reviews
Viewed 767 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:8/4/14 2:07 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1224 by Deepika

Vogue Patterns: 1224 by Deepika  Vogue Patterns: 1224 by Deepika  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1224
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Partially lined, pullover dress has short dolman sleeves, elasticized waistline and neckline with tie ends, stitched hems and above mid-knee length. Purchased stoppers for tie ends.

I've made this pattern before but because its a weird length, I don't get much use out of it. With this new altered length, I wear this all the time.

Were the instructions easy to follow? This is my second time making this pattern, so I didn't even look at the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love how quick and easy this pattern is, resulting in a striking dress. There is a reason this pattern was a Best of 2011

Fabric Used: Gorgeous black and white rayon jersey from Sawyer Brook Fabrics. This fabric is super soft and has a lovely drape. I lined it with silk weight power dry.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added 1" to the bodice and 3" to the skirt. With this added length, I am able to wear this as a dress instead of a tunic. This is what most reviewers ended up doing. In retrospect, I shouldn't have added length to the back (for my swayback).

Instead of sewing a separate casing which is totally unnecessary, I sandwiched the elastic between the skirt and the lining.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I am not sure if I will sew it again but now that I've added additional length, I may make a fall/winter version in a solid knit.

Conclusion: A stylish, easy to sew dress which is also comfortable, whats not to love?

Sadly this pattern is now discontinued but vogue patterns may still have some.

Faux Leather Obi Belt - The Limited
Shoes - Clarks
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TJSEWS said...
This dress is fantastic - wow - I absolutely LOVE it!
8/13/14 10:49 PM
petro said...
Wow! great dress.
8/7/14 4:23 PM
JOshiro said...
This is super cute! Great job!
8/6/14 1:17 PM
nitsel said...
Love this! The fabric is perfect for this pattern and it looks great on you!
8/6/14 0:08 AM
Carobo said...
Gorgeous ! Love your fabric choice !
8/5/14 3:46 PM
caper81 said...
What a fab print! This is definitely my favourite version of this dress yet! The obi belt is a great touch:)
8/5/14 1:16 PM
Elke said...
Looks fabulous on you. Great fabric choice!
8/5/14 12:50 PM
SewWil said...
Great looking dress! Love your fabric choice.
8/5/14 12:11 PM
slmstyle said...
What a great dress! I'm glad your pattern changes make it more comfortable to wear as a dress. Really nice!
8/5/14 12:02 PM
SewABQ said...
I love it!
8/5/14 11:01 AM
canei said...
SO NICE!
8/5/14 8:54 AM
VivianZ said...
Wow, your dress is so much cuter than mine when I made it. I love the belt with it.
8/5/14 6:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love that fabric! Adding length does make this look different and more wearable!
8/5/14 5:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic.
8/5/14 3:57 AM
Kabunta said...
Lovely dress.
8/5/14 3:47 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Ooh la la! Tres chic :)
8/5/14 3:12 AM
cmcarr said...
Cute.
8/5/14 2:05 AM
BlossomKyle said...
That is a really great dress, super cute!! And I love your long hair. I tried growing my out but it was getting tangled too often.
8/4/14 9:41 PM
carolynw said...
You look absolutely fabulous! Lovely fabric and really nice belt.
8/4/14 6:50 PM
jjhallum said...
Super cute dress! I really like your fabric choice - beautiful.
8/4/14 6:45 PM
missyyz said...
It's lovely ! Great print / great dress !
8/4/14 6:37 PM
missyyz said...
It's lovely ! Great print / great dress !
8/4/14 6:35 PM
supizoo said...
Gorgeous dress on you. The fabric is perfect!
8/4/14 6:07 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great dress and fabric choice. What is silk weight power dry? It sounds like a performance fabric
8/4/14 5:40 PM
Twinset said...
Great looking!
8/4/14 5:19 PM
diart said...
Looks great!
8/4/14 3:47 PM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! I love your fabric choice. I have this in my stash, but haven't yet made it. After seeing yours, I definitely need to try it with the added length.
8/4/14 3:20 PM
chenille said...
Looks so good on you!
8/4/14 3:16 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Looks great! As do you! ;) Love the obi belt too, it's a nice finish.
8/4/14 3:05 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!
8/4/14 2:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

HotPatterns Fringe Festival Knit Top

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
New Look 6110

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review