SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2867 (donna karan skirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1750 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/05 12:26 PM
Last Updated:7/24/05 12:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dimples said...
The skirt looks wonderful, but was hoping she had made the shrug and tank also. I have made the tank and shrug and was debating on making this skirt or another style with a standard narrow finished waisband as the tank comes down over the skirt, and am concerned that the tank of the knit fabric will grab the knit fabric of the skirt; also that the gathers created by the elastic casing will cause bulk under the tank.
10/6/05 2:21 PM
AnneM said...
Very pretty skirt. And thanks for the fabric handling tips. I should really dig out my walking foot.
7/25/05 11:23 AM
Teri said...
Your skirt is so pretty. I love the color!
7/25/05 11:12 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Lovely skirt in your trademark color!
7/25/05 9:03 AM
MickeyFan said...
Your skirt is beautiful. Perfect fabric choice!
7/25/05 8:08 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful skirt. You look taller than usual.
7/24/05 9:39 PM
SewTabby said...
Oh. My. God. I just made this skirt out of the exact same fabric from EOS! I'm making the shrug too, so won't post until it's done as well. Regardless, yours is gorgeous!
7/24/05 7:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
As always-absolutely gorgeous!
7/24/05 5:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I saw this pattern recently in Vogue Pattern magazine and it definitely caught my eye. Your skirt looks nice, sorry you had such difficult fabric.
7/24/05 5:38 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh JLG, I think you should make the shrug! It looks divine. I think it would look good on you, as long as you kept it well fitted (tight). Of course the skirt is great!
7/24/05 5:20 PM
Sew it seams said...
Another beautiful outfit. I always enjoy going through your sewing photo album.
7/24/05 5:19 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the kind comments. I probably won't make the shrug, Ann. I just think it would be overwhelming on me, but maybe sometime I'll give it a try. Irina, I didn't lengthen it, but I didn't cut any off when I hemmed it so it's one inch longer than directed by the pattern.
7/24/05 3:58 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
The skirt drape is beautiful and so is your garden.
7/24/05 3:40 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Very pretty and very flattering.
7/24/05 3:24 PM
Allisonsews said...
It hangs beautifully! Great job!
7/24/05 3:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great! Thanks for the review and the leeetle push toward using this new pattern. :)
7/24/05 2:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous. I think I must dash up to hancock's while the Vogue sale is still on! Did you lengthen the skirt? It looks longer than the pictured skirts.
7/24/05 2:40 PM
BjP said...
Even though your fabric was difficult, your result was beautiful. Very nice!
7/24/05 2:29 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I just bought fabric for this pattern testerday. Now you have me very impatient to begin!
7/24/05 12:37 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty! Are you going to make the top and shrug? -Ann
7/24/05 12:32 PM
drsue said...
Wow, you made that up already!!! Looks great. I've been on the fence about getting this pattern, as I fear I will have to pay full price. Proably worth it though.
7/24/05 12:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 5584

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5147

photo
by: busybee cr...

Review