SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3225 (Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2089 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/05 1:52 PM
Last Updated:7/24/05 1:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deb Thompson said...
What a sweet dress! I love the fabric! Great combination of pattern & fabric.
7/24/05 2:00 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you, Deb. I'm sorry about the incorrect pattern photo link. I have tried several times to change it and I can't seem to make the change now.
7/24/05 2:13 PM
BjP said...
Very cute, but I am a bit confused. This pattern says it is a "dress" but your picture of the back looks more like a skirt and top. ??? Thanks for a good review and it looks great, whatever it is!
7/24/05 2:26 PM
drsue said...
Very pretty. the pattern link isn't right though. Interesting about the dart, KS has intereresting bust shaping details.
7/24/05 2:45 PM
Sew it seams said...
BjP, It is a dress in the front, but the back, attached at the shoulders is free from the skirt and has ties that wrap around to the front. When I was writing the review, I though the pattern photo would be correct and the line drawing shows this. I have tried and tried to correct the pattern, but I'm still doing something wrong. Can anyone help?? Thanks!
7/24/05 2:53 PM
Hilary said...
I don't know how to fix your pattern link problem, but I think your dress is *really* pretty! I have this and have been wanting to try it for ages-i have the fabric prewashed and ready, I just need to do it! Thanks for the tips!
7/24/05 4:15 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Here is a link to the real pattern pic: Click Here
7/24/05 4:27 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very pretty! Thank you so much for the review. I fell in love with this pattern last year and purchased it. I have yet to make it up and now your've inspired me to do so. Your dress turned out lovely.
7/24/05 5:07 PM
QuickFade said...
Very cute dress! Do you think a lightweight embroidered cotton pique would work for this pattern? It's not exactly stiff, but it's not as drapey as a lightweight rayon would be. I have some white with cherries embroidered on it and would like to make the long version for church/luncheons/summer parties. I was thinking I'd line it so a slip wouldn't be necessary.
7/24/05 5:46 PM
jlg said...
What a cute, unusual dress. Thanks for reviewing this.
7/24/05 6:07 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you all for your nice comments. Popo Agie, I think the fabric you described would be beautiful. In fact, I was thinking of using a lightweight cotton or rayon next and I'll just line it. Keep in mind, the edges are folded over twice and sewn in 1/4" hem, so if you line, use a light wt lining and you should be fine. That would eliminate the neck facing which would be nice. The lining of the ties would still be cut from the fashion fabric.
7/24/05 6:13 PM
CatherineN said...
This dress is similar to my mother-made wedding dress in 1957. Different fabric and length of course, but same styling. It was a pretty style then just as it is now. You did a wonderful job making it fit you.
7/24/05 6:29 PM
PVA said...
Wonderful summer dress -- I love it! Your "Kwik Fix" looks very effective & the back view doesn't give even a hint of a problem. Good work, & thanks for this review!
7/24/05 7:13 PM
Patti-Jo said...
Nice! I've done my share of quick fixes myself, and I think you did a great job. Pretty fabric!
7/24/05 7:25 PM
2BSewing said...
You've done a great job with your dress. The fabric is wonderful. I have also made this in a longer version. Thanks for the tip about adding darts to the upper back part of the skirt. That will solve my problem as it gaps quite a bit in the back. FYI. I used a rayon fabric and it drapes very nicely. I agree with you...it's very comfortable to wear and very stylish. Thanks for your review...very helpful! Quick question: Did you have any difficulty sewing the edges of the dress?
7/24/05 7:34 PM
2BSewing said...
You've done a great job with your dress. The fabric is wonderful. I have also made this in a longer version. Thanks for the tip about adding darts to the upper back part of the skirt. That will solve my problem as it gaps quite a bit in the back. I agree with you...it's very comfortable to wear and very stylish. Thanks for your review...very helpful!
7/24/05 7:39 PM
Sew it seams said...
2BSewing, The edge hemming was very easy and quick. Much faster (IMO) thand making and applying facings would be on a regular dress. The pattern instructions have you turn up and press 5/8", clip along the curved edge, and turn under again and topstitch. I did not clip because I felt it would help to keep the fabric from distorting on the bias cut somewhat like a bias binding might. It worked very well.
7/24/05 7:52 PM
Levone said...
Wow, your dress looks much better than the pattern photo. It's very pretty. I think I may have to purchase this one.
7/24/05 8:56 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress. I recently had my eye on this pattern and wondered if it would sew up well. Very timely review for me.
7/25/05 12:41 PM
Modiste Madness said...
What an adorable dress! It definately has a retro feel to it. Great job of construction.
7/25/05 8:08 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I saw a dress last weekend in the window of Coldwater Creek--I don't think it had the cute back detail, just sort of wings sewn into bodice side seams and tied--but it was in an abstract pattern of fall leaves in deep fall colors--looked like a knit--so this pattern may work well in fall/winter colors as well. Thanks for the review! Love your dress.
7/26/05 6:34 PM
Daydreamer said...
Thanks for explanation and photos of the adjustments you made. I was also thinking of using a knit fabric.
5/7/07 9:45 AM
beerbabe said...
Adorably cute dress! I agree that it is a wonderful combination of pattern and fabric .. Great work!
10/15/07 10:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6035

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review

Pattern

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now