SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8977 (Misses' Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 258 times 
Reviewed by:BirdyBooo
photo

 
 
About BirdyBooostar
VIC Australia
Member since: 6/14/14
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/14 9:29 PM
Last Updated:8/10/14 9:35 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8977 by BirdyBooo

Vogue Patterns: 8977 by BirdyBooo  Vogue Patterns: 8977 by BirdyBooo  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8977
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Georgette  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A very loose filling top that has front pleats, shaped hemline, wong side shows on back hemline and back button bands. I had the view C

Pattern Sizing:
xs-sml-m, I made this for a friend who is my size. According to the envelope we should be a size medium, but I made a size small and I reckon that is still a little large.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes it was, but I didn't follow it religiously because I made my own modification (mainly in construction)

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the back details, it's very fun and very flattering when made with a sheer fabric.I love the bell shape sleeve and the scoop neck.

Fabric Used:
I used a printed polyester georgette

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made modification to the facing found around the neckline. Instead of making those flimsy facing (where it flips, twist and you can see beneath it because it is only tacked in place) I turned the facing into a 3/8" band binding. I also used french seaming for all the edges as these type of delicate fabric do not look very nice being serge. I also took 4" off the length of the body and 3" off the sleeve length as I think it was design for a tall person. I love the tunic look so view B was too short and view C was a sight bit too long. I also interfaced the button band, facing and back band. The instructions only called for interfacing of the wrist band. If it was made with cotton I wouldn't have interfaced so many pieces but with such a light fabric it definitely gave it some structure.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I made this for a friend so YES! will have to make one for myself. I love it.

Conclusion:
Even though it is labelled as easy, with the fabric that I choose I end up spending way more time on making this top than I would a whole dress or jacket as it requires a lot of basting and hand sewing to get that perfect finish. But I think it is worth it, very beautiful design.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous top for your friend and love the additional work you did.
8/10/14 9:50 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty top! I love the back detail. Your fabric choice and sewing are so perfect.
8/10/14 10:50 PM
BirdyBooo said...
Wow thank you ladies for your very nice compliments! Christas you have made my day :) I am hoping to improve my skills with very project, I promised friends that I won't be making any garments as gift until my skills are half decent.
8/10/14 11:22 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful top and great sewing. Took more time but was worth it!
8/10/14 11:37 PM
blancation said...
Dang, I made (or rather, tried to make) this top and I totally bombed! Yours looks so great I'm gonna buy a new one and try it again!
8/11/14 9:21 PM
BirdyBooo said...
It's worth another go Blancation!
8/18/14 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
StyleArc Robin Top

photo
by: SueT

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now