SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1317 (Misses' Pullover Knit Top)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest
Viewed 510 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 163
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/14 10:18 PM
Last Updated:9/9/14 8:42 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1317 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 1317 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 1317 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1317
Simplicity Pattern Info
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 $17.95 Pattern Details
Pattern Description:

cropped or full length sweatshirts with long or 3/4 sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:

XXS-XXL, I cut an XS for my daughter

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Mostly. I made some design changes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I did not use them for this pattern. It's a pretty straight forward construction.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I made this for my daughter because she wanted a simple tee and with her broad shoulders I am always up for raglan sleeves!

Fabric Used:

Floral print: Unknown composition knit from the remnant bin at Hancock
Blue/lace: blue is tissue weight jersey from FabricMart. Lace is from Hancock remnant bin (both were $1/yd!!).
Cherry print: an AMAZING cotton jersey from SR Harris.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

She didn't want the sleeve or bottom bands so I left them off.

She's tall but has a really short torso compared to her height so it's actually a perfect length. Not quite cropped but not full length.

I used fusible in the hem and used my double needle. I did the same for the sleeves and double needle stitched the neckband.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes. She really likes it!

She now has THREE! the blue& lace she wore to school on her birthday.

Conclusion:

Quick and easy project and a definite TNT for her.
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!
9/10/14 9:33 AM
meadowclark said...
What a lucky girl she is! Great fun.
9/10/14 9:29 AM
Levone said...
Cute tops!
9/10/14 8:29 AM
canei said...
NICE!
9/10/14 7:57 AM
catalak said...
The blue knit and lace are striking. Your daughter looks lovely in it!
9/9/14 9:45 PM
Nessa09 said...
I love the blue and lace! It looks great!
9/9/14 8:47 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Adorable! She looks great and she is darling too!
8/16/14 10:21 PM
Sarah Liz said...
Good choice to leave the cuffs off - suits your daughters angular frame better. Such a great top, pretty but really wearable too.
8/15/14 11:18 PM
canei said...
Nice!
8/14/14 8:04 AM
HRigg said...
Yes nice sleeves and I do like that fabric. So interesting.
8/14/14 7:47 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you everyone!!
8/14/14 7:25 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very cute! Just like your daughter!
8/14/14 5:58 AM
JeanieR said...
That looks great on your daughter. Very cute.
8/14/14 5:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top and fits your daughter nicely!
8/14/14 5:14 AM
Elke said...
Very cute!
8/14/14 0:30 AM
Rairscat said...
Almost bought this pattern during the $.99 sale at HL. Now I wish I had! Cute, cute, cute!
8/13/14 10:56 PM
K_sew said...
Your daughter looks very nice in her new top. It looks more upscale than a sweatshirt, but maybe just as comfortable. I have non standard shoulders so you've given me an idea! Thanks for the review.
8/13/14 10:43 PM
TJSEWS said...
So cute!
8/13/14 10:38 PM
Re Becca said...
How cute! That perfectly describes me when I was that age, tall w/short torso. She is a beautiful young lady!
8/13/14 10:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118A

photo
by: Gecko

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

More Info