SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5824 (Misses Coat)

5 more reviews
Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:JayG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JayGstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/12
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/14 10:33 PM
Last Updated:8/14/14 7:58 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5824 by JayG

Butterick: 5824 by JayG  Butterick: 5824 by JayG  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Butterick 5824
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by JayG

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Womens' coat, shawl collar, full skirt. semifitted and lined, side pockets.

Pattern Sizing: 14-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Somewhat, I made a contrast collar similar to one suggested in Gerties Blog http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/search/label/Butterick%205824?max-results=20

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy, and there is a lot of online help for this coat.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the fall of the skirt and the lining but the amount of fabric and the fact that finishing the collar is not done to the very end makes this a trial and error project.

Fabric Used: a loose weave boucle wool blend, browns with gold metallic fleck. interfaced with black knit tricot fusible interfacing to stabilize it. Llining 150cm wide Italian anti-static polyester in black. Contrast scrap of crepe.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the Skirt for my very tall daughter by 10 cm which meant that the centre back skirt has a seam. The skirt facings had to be pieced together as I ran out of fabric. It was a scary moment as I bought a end roll of fabric and could get no more. I had over 5.5 meters. I interfaced the whole length before cutting as this was a very helpful. I used an overlocker/serger and did a three thread rolled hem for the lining and eased in the excess fullness of the skirt hem by tightening the differential feed to slight gather edging with a 4 thread overlock. . I steamed the hem in and it went well. The buttonholes are bound.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? you need a lot of fabric. I prefer completing collars first. This was a simple process but I had to steam the fit in for a while. If you like the design there are no problems and it was quick to make.

Conclusion: A good experiment and a coat that will last a lifetime.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
judypin said...
Totally beautiful!!
8/15/14 12:46 PM
STARG said...
Very stylish coat and I love the contrast on the collar. Great job.
8/14/14 7:29 PM
sewfie65 said...
This is lovely. I like the contrast detail on the collar. Great job!
8/14/14 11:03 AM
nicegirl said...
Great-looking coat! Thank goodness you were able to get it out of your fabric.
8/14/14 10:00 AM
Graca said...
Your fabric is beautiful an so is the coat. Lucky daughter!
8/14/14 7:26 AM
KathleenS said...
How scary that you nearly ran out of fabric. This is a nice style but it does use a lot of fabric. Last time I was contemplating a coat project I did some snoop shopping and it was very evident that RTW manufacturers find it more cost-effective to make the straighter styles of coat. Which makes yours more special and harder to get. It looks great. Any chance of a full front view?
8/14/14 6:57 AM
sugarduck said...
This looks like a really nice coat. I love the fullness of the skirt and you did a great job with the contrasting trim on the collar.
8/14/14 6:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
McCall's 6754

photo
by: Gina87

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now