SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5824 (Misses Coat)

5 more reviews
Viewed 328 times 
Reviewed by:JayG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JayGstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 11/20/12
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/14 10:33 PM
Last Updated:8/14/14 7:58 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5824 by JayG

Butterick: 5824 by JayG  Butterick: 5824 by JayG  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5824
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by JayG

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Womens' coat, shawl collar, full skirt. semifitted and lined, side pockets.

Pattern Sizing: 14-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Somewhat, I made a contrast collar similar to one suggested in Gerties Blog http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/search/label/Butterick%205824?max-results=20

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy, and there is a lot of online help for this coat.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the fall of the skirt and the lining but the amount of fabric and the fact that finishing the collar is not done to the very end makes this a trial and error project.

Fabric Used: a loose weave boucle wool blend, browns with gold metallic fleck. interfaced with black knit tricot fusible interfacing to stabilize it. Llining 150cm wide Italian anti-static polyester in black. Contrast scrap of crepe.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the Skirt for my very tall daughter by 10 cm which meant that the centre back skirt has a seam. The skirt facings had to be pieced together as I ran out of fabric. It was a scary moment as I bought a end roll of fabric and could get no more. I had over 5.5 meters. I interfaced the whole length before cutting as this was a very helpful. I used an overlocker/serger and did a three thread rolled hem for the lining and eased in the excess fullness of the skirt hem by tightening the differential feed to slight gather edging with a 4 thread overlock. . I steamed the hem in and it went well. The buttonholes are bound.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? you need a lot of fabric. I prefer completing collars first. This was a simple process but I had to steam the fit in for a while. If you like the design there are no problems and it was quick to make.

Conclusion: A good experiment and a coat that will last a lifetime.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
judypin said... (8/15/14 12:46 PM) Reply
Totally beautiful!!
STARG said... (8/14/14 7:29 PM) Reply
Very stylish coat and I love the contrast on the collar. Great job.
sewfie65 said... (8/14/14 11:03 AM) Reply
This is lovely. I like the contrast detail on the collar. Great job!
nicegirl said... (8/14/14 10:00 AM) Reply
Great-looking coat! Thank goodness you were able to get it out of your fabric.
Graca said... (8/14/14 7:26 AM) Reply
Your fabric is beautiful an so is the coat. Lucky daughter!
KathleenS said... (8/14/14 6:57 AM) Reply
How scary that you nearly ran out of fabric. This is a nice style but it does use a lot of fabric. Last time I was contemplating a coat project I did some snoop shopping and it was very evident that RTW manufacturers find it more cost-effective to make the straighter styles of coat. Which makes yours more special and harder to get. It looks great. Any chance of a full front view?
sugarduck said... (8/14/14 6:29 AM) Reply
This looks like a really nice coat. I love the fullness of the skirt and you did a great job with the contrasting trim on the collar.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Other MonsterTooth Fairy Pillow

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Ottobre Design 03-2006

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Pattern Details