SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1624 

1 more reviews
Viewed 129 times 
Reviewed by:Rairscat
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rairscatstar
Member since: 8/1/13
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/14 10:42 PM
Last Updated:8/13/14 10:49 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1624 by Rairscat

Simplicity: 1624 by Rairscat  Simplicity: 1624 by Rairscat  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1624
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Toddlers dress with ruffled tiers, puffed cap sleeves, bias bound neckline. Back neckline opening closed with button and self fabric bias loop.

Pattern Sizing:1/2-4. I sewed a 2 with no modifications.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?Ruffles! Puffed sleeves! More ruffles! The pattern itself is great. Notches line up, sleeve lining holds pouf just right, goes together quickly even with all the necessary gathering. The tiers are top stitched onto the skirt, which I think is more comfortable and less bulky than sandwiching the ruffles between stay tiers, like McCall's 6270.

Fabric Used:Corduroy from hobby lobby. I saw it in the new seasonal fabric section, thought the colors & coordinates were really pretty, but had no idea what I'd do with it...then I saw this sample dress and had to make it. I've never, ever been impressed with any of the sample garments at any fabric store, but I just had to make this.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes and yes. This was fun and easy. Would make a great party dress or gift from Auntie or Grandma, or could make in a stable knit like the tiered tunics they sell at Carter's with coordinating leggings.

Conclusion:So, yeah, I totally copied a hobby lobby sample garment. That's why they're there, right? After working with fiddly knits, tracing Ottobre patterns and fitting a new pattern for myself, I just wanted to crank out something fun and pretty. Can't wait to try it on my baby girl.

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
laranoelle said...
Holy cute! I love the corduroy and the prints. Lovely fall dress for your little one. Great job!
11/9/14 11:21 PM
Tudi66 said...
I have had this pattern forever. Saw the sample dress at Hobby Lobby and was convinced to try it with the same fabrics too. Yours turned out great!
8/17/14 0:09 AM
Pj3g said...
I love it! And your sewing looks fantastic!
8/16/14 2:36 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love what you did with the fabric! It is adorable....I can see a little one looking so cute in it, how fun!
8/14/14 10:33 AM
Cre8tv said...
Beautiful colors and fabric selections that brings the pattern to life and makes it truly unique!
8/14/14 9:52 AM
Kalisews said...
I love all those prints together. Great dress!
8/14/14 9:39 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Totally adorable!
8/14/14 9:19 AM
Graca said...
Oh my goodness, this is the cutest dress EVER! The colours and prints are so pretty, your little girl will look adorable in this dress.
8/14/14 7:31 AM
julsmalham said...
Very pretty and I love your fabrics.
8/14/14 6:29 AM
sugarduck said...
LOVE this! The fabric colors and patterns combine perfectly for this little dress. In my opinion, you didn't copy the sample...you were "inspired" by it. ;-)
8/14/14 6:22 AM
mm said...
She will love it!
8/14/14 2:07 AM
Aroura said...
This is a wonderful combination of fabrics to create an adorable dress! A very lucky girl indeed.
8/14/14 0:18 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty! Love the fabric combination!
8/13/14 11:56 PM
caren751 said...
I love your fabric choices. What a lucky girl.
8/13/14 10:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Other Pristine Swing Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

More Info
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
Simplicity 3987

photo
by: SusanStitc...

Review